18 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vox Venus - EP Review: Rise & Shine

20 Apr 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Rise & Shine is from the first phase of Vox Venus.The four song EP was recorded with Heather Bolton 's brother Geoff 'Paddy' Bolton on drums.

The pair play vintage synths and organs, as well as ukuleles, shimmering chime bars and glockenspiels. The result is a richly textured all killer no filler EP.

Vox Venus remind me of some of my favourite Melbourne indie bands of the late 90's and early 2000's such as The Lucksmiths and The Foots.

This EP is too short, that’s my only complaint. Cheesy Song of Broken Hearts opens the EP strongly and is an up-tempo and fun indie pop number.

The second track Ctrl Alt Del is a nice shift towards more of a lo-fi alt electronica sound, including the vintage Acetone organ caressing the melody along. It’s the longest song on the EP with a lengthy organ solo. I love how abruptly the song ends on the last phrase of the chorus: "Gotta get the ghosts out of the machine…got to control, alt, delete".

Wish is the third song and it's based around a ukulele strum, again with beautiful keys helping the melody to soar and fly.

The EP’s title track Rise & Shine closes out the EP and brings the four-song release back around to indie pop beauty.

This is pretty much my favourite release of 2020 so far.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Vox Venus

Celestial synth duo Vox Venus make music from the inner realms of outer space. Inventive rhythms, magical hooks and mind-altering vintage synths come together to transport listeners to new dimensions of sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vox Venus

Releases

Rise & Shine
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem