26 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vox Venus - EP Review: Rise & Shine

20 Apr 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Rise & Shine is from the first phase of Vox Venus.The four song EP was recorded with Heather Bolton 's brother Geoff 'Paddy' Bolton on drums.

The pair play vintage synths and organs, as well as ukuleles, shimmering chime bars and glockenspiels. The result is a richly textured all killer no filler EP.

Vox Venus remind me of some of my favourite Melbourne indie bands of the late 90's and early 2000's such as The Lucksmiths and The Foots.

This EP is too short, that’s my only complaint. Cheesy Song of Broken Hearts opens the EP strongly and is an up-tempo and fun indie pop number.

The second track Ctrl Alt Del is a nice shift towards more of a lo-fi alt electronica sound, including the vintage Acetone organ caressing the melody along. It’s the longest song on the EP with a lengthy organ solo. I love how abruptly the song ends on the last phrase of the chorus: "Gotta get the ghosts out of the machine…got to control, alt, delete".

Wish is the third song and it's based around a ukulele strum, again with beautiful keys helping the melody to soar and fly.

The EP’s title track Rise & Shine closes out the EP and brings the four-song release back around to indie pop beauty.

This is pretty much my favourite release of 2020 so far.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Vox Venus

Celestial synth duo Vox Venus make music from the inner realms of outer space. Inventive rhythms, magical hooks and mind-altering vintage synths come together to transport listeners to new dimensions of sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vox Venus

Releases

Rise & Shine
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem