28 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vox Venus - EP Review: Rise & Shine

20 Apr 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Rise & Shine is from the first phase of Vox Venus.The four song EP was recorded with Heather Bolton 's brother Geoff 'Paddy' Bolton on drums.

The pair play vintage synths and organs, as well as ukuleles, shimmering chime bars and glockenspiels. The result is a richly textured all killer no filler EP.

Vox Venus remind me of some of my favourite Melbourne indie bands of the late 90's and early 2000's such as The Lucksmiths and The Foots.

This EP is too short, that’s my only complaint. Cheesy Song of Broken Hearts opens the EP strongly and is an up-tempo and fun indie pop number.

The second track Ctrl Alt Del is a nice shift towards more of a lo-fi alt electronica sound, including the vintage Acetone organ caressing the melody along. It’s the longest song on the EP with a lengthy organ solo. I love how abruptly the song ends on the last phrase of the chorus: "Gotta get the ghosts out of the machine…got to control, alt, delete".

Wish is the third song and it's based around a ukulele strum, again with beautiful keys helping the melody to soar and fly.

The EP’s title track Rise & Shine closes out the EP and brings the four-song release back around to indie pop beauty.

This is pretty much my favourite release of 2020 so far.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Vox Venus

Celestial synth duo Vox Venus make music from the inner realms of outer space. Inventive rhythms, magical hooks and mind-altering vintage synths come together to transport listeners to new dimensions of sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vox Venus

Releases

Rise & Shine
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: Torn Jeans
22 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Toe-tapping pop country at its best, with a good dose of sass. Jolandi Ford’s sound is unashamedly aimed at the commercial country music industry.
Read More...
Keeltys - Single review: Humans of Hanrahan
15 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Keeltys, a new five piece indie/garage rock band recently formed in Christchurch. The band members are all studying music in some way; front man Samuel Keelty is in his second year at ARA, Ben Townshend is also in his second year at ARA, Liam Makinson is in his second year studying jazz guitar, Ben Henderson is also in his second year studying bass, and Josh Derwahl is in his first year studying the noble art of jazz drumming.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: Jane’s The Name
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Jam Fish, AKA Sam Higham, takes a step back from his usual full band arrangements to bring you an emotional stripped back song titled Jane's the Name. Featuring just acoustic guitar and vocals, this song portrays 4 different aspects that could control one's life, represented by different names.
Read More...
Casey Evans - Single Review: Wild & Free
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Casey Evans is as contemporary pop country as they come - if that’s your jam, this is a track for you. Wild & Free was #1 on the NZ country Charts, and #7 on all genres on iTunes upon release, which is no mean trick for an independent artist from The Catlins coast, currently spending time in Dunedin.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS & Vikae @ Dive Bar, Dunedin - 26/09/2020
27 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
With most of New Zealand at Covid alert level 1, dancing is allowed at bars and clubs, and a good number of those who came along to see Auckland-based musicians PRINS and Vikae with local support from Molly Devine and Bryn Massey. Bryn Massey is the first of four women with amazing voices for the evening.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem