25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vox Venus - EP Review: Rise & Shine

20 Apr 2020 // A review by darryl baser

Rise & Shine is from the first phase of Vox Venus.The four song EP was recorded with Heather Bolton 's brother Geoff 'Paddy' Bolton on drums.

The pair play vintage synths and organs, as well as ukuleles, shimmering chime bars and glockenspiels. The result is a richly textured all killer no filler EP.

Vox Venus remind me of some of my favourite Melbourne indie bands of the late 90's and early 2000's such as The Lucksmiths and The Foots.

This EP is too short, that’s my only complaint. Cheesy Song of Broken Hearts opens the EP strongly and is an up-tempo and fun indie pop number.

The second track Ctrl Alt Del is a nice shift towards more of a lo-fi alt electronica sound, including the vintage Acetone organ caressing the melody along. It’s the longest song on the EP with a lengthy organ solo. I love how abruptly the song ends on the last phrase of the chorus: "Gotta get the ghosts out of the machine…got to control, alt, delete".

Wish is the third song and it's based around a ukulele strum, again with beautiful keys helping the melody to soar and fly.

The EP’s title track Rise & Shine closes out the EP and brings the four-song release back around to indie pop beauty.

This is pretty much my favourite release of 2020 so far.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Vox Venus

Celestial synth duo Vox Venus make music from the inner realms of outer space. Inventive rhythms, magical hooks and mind-altering vintage synths come together to transport listeners to new dimensions of sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vox Venus

Releases

Rise & Shine
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By darryl baser

MEDaL - Album Review: Sequela
14 Dec 2022 // by darryl baser
Christchurch trio MEDaL are a combination of many years of New Zealand musical history. Singer and guitar slinger David Mulcahy was in JPSE and Superette, bass player John Billows has spent time with The Renderers and Dark Matter and drummer Mark Whyte is part of Into The Void.
Read More...
The Bobby Holidays - Album Review: At The Beach
13 Dec 2022 // by darryl baser
The Bobby Holidays' At The Beach opens with the song Jane, syncopation is to the fore with a great horn section blowing against bass, drums and guitar. The song has an up tempo happy summer vibe.
Read More...
Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by darryl baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by darryl baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by darryl baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by darryl baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by darryl baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by darryl baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
View All Articles By darryl baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem