17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid

10 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.

Every detail in the track is clear and defined. In fact, upon multiple listens there is a lot of depth and lushness to the chorus. Just listen to the amount of layering that is so perfectly mixed that it makes the chorus really shine and glisten.

Driving the instrumental melody is a guitar lead line that starts early on in the intro and gets explored during the solo, weaving in and out of the piece wonderfully. Instrumentally, every instrument holds its own. From some tasty and complimentary basslines to the drums that absolutely sing throughout, it all provides a strong musical platform for Brendan McCarthy to sing upon. Brendan's voice is strong here, well rounded and it really adds so much to the feel of the song. The use of harmony and layered vocals create a huge sound in the chorus, with each chorus adding something extra each time. This is the work of someone who clearly is passionate about music and songwriting. It is very evident here and I applaud that.

A top-notch song that is worth your time. There is nothing stupid about this track at it. It is fantastic.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Apollo SteamTrain

Apollo SteamTrain is a musical platform to host the continuing projects of singer/songwriter Brendan McCarthy from Tauranga, New Zealand.

Brendan has a deal in place with Songbroker which has seen his tracks synced on several high profile TV shows including Shortland Street and Filthy Rich.

Brendan has worked with several procucers including internationally renowned Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, OpShop, Catatonia, The Feelers, Six60), recording 2 tracks at Neil Finn's Round Head Studios.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Apollo SteamTrain

Releases

There are no releases to display for Apollo SteamTrain.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem