23 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tony Lee - Single Review: Taking A Chance

22 Mar 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Taking a Chance is the third single from Tony Lee's upcoming new album Man on Mars.

Lyrically the song is about getting out and making the most of things and taking necessary risks to get ahead.

The message can be equated to many situations in life, from choosing to go for a new job, to asking someone you’re attracted to if they like you too, through to submitting music to reviewers. All of which can be pretty daunting.

Musically it’s unashamedly traditional country rock, following many of the traditional devices which make country one of the most loved (and in some cases, not-so-loved) and recognisable genres in musical history.

Taking a Chance begins with a couple of bars of the pre-chorus, then a very country ‘here we go’, then an instrumental of the 2/4 chorus, which falls nicely into the first verse, then the formula repeats and augments with a, a1, and b, b1 sections..

It’s a toe tapping wee tune.

I quite like to video on YouTube, it’s very country even down to the band uniform, with a very country old west setting, complete with a saloon setting.

As I was writing this, I had a listen to the other releases ahead of the album, and it sounds like the LP is coming together nicely.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tony Lee

Tony Lee is a Alternative Country Rock artist from Hamilton. He has released 2 albums under his own name and is currently working on a third.

Tony Lee's debut solo album was Road Less Travelled. The album received high accolades in the press with critics loving Tony's 'wear your heart on your sleeve' approach to songwriting.

His music video for All That A Man Can Do has been internationally recognised, making the semi finals in the ISC (International Songwriting Competition) and getting nominated in the music video category at the Limelight Film awards in London. The video was produced by Neil Whitman who had made video's for Chris Rea and Robbie Williams.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tony Lee

Releases

There are no releases to display for Tony Lee.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: Torn Jeans
22 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Toe-tapping pop country at its best, with a good dose of sass. Jolandi Ford’s sound is unashamedly aimed at the commercial country music industry.
Read More...
Keeltys - Single review: Humans of Hanrahan
15 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Keeltys, a new five piece indie/garage rock band recently formed in Christchurch. The band members are all studying music in some way; front man Samuel Keelty is in his second year at ARA, Ben Townshend is also in his second year at ARA, Liam Makinson is in his second year studying jazz guitar, Ben Henderson is also in his second year studying bass, and Josh Derwahl is in his first year studying the noble art of jazz drumming.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: Jane’s The Name
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Jam Fish, AKA Sam Higham, takes a step back from his usual full band arrangements to bring you an emotional stripped back song titled Jane's the Name. Featuring just acoustic guitar and vocals, this song portrays 4 different aspects that could control one's life, represented by different names.
Read More...
Casey Evans - Single Review: Wild & Free
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Casey Evans is as contemporary pop country as they come - if that’s your jam, this is a track for you. Wild & Free was #1 on the NZ country Charts, and #7 on all genres on iTunes upon release, which is no mean trick for an independent artist from The Catlins coast, currently spending time in Dunedin.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS & Vikae @ Dive Bar, Dunedin - 26/09/2020
27 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
With most of New Zealand at Covid alert level 1, dancing is allowed at bars and clubs, and a good number of those who came along to see Auckland-based musicians PRINS and Vikae with local support from Molly Devine and Bryn Massey. Bryn Massey is the first of four women with amazing voices for the evening.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem