8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage

18 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.

Column of Sand's new EP Head Damage is a collection of songs that really takes you back to the feels of the early 90's in that wave of bands like early Radiohead or Pixies. It sounds authentic and real like you can tell the amps were recorded with a microphone, not a plug-in.

The melodies on the album are ear-catching, with the lyrics hiding behind that wash of sound that sounds bring these songs together.

On the track Change of Heart, the vibe changes up a little with a slightly darker tone, yet a disco beat at times to lighten the mood. It's clever and it all works. It sounds like a band that has been playing together for a long time, a group of musicians that all understand their sound and explore it. Change of Heart's solo section is sparse and melodic, lending itself to the song instead of its technicality. This is something I respect as you should always serve the song.

The final track Bleeding Sky was a tinge of a U2 sound to it with the guitar. The whole package feels cohesive, the vocals sitting in the mix but not out front which is perfect for the style that Column of Sand is writing here.

Overall, a solid EP that explores their sound from start to finish with every song fitting perfectly into the EP.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Column of Sand

Column of Sand are a post-gaze band from Wellington: dense, melodic and dissonant.
Influenced by Ride, My Bloody Valentine and Fugazi they create shimmering harmonics, bleak undertones, and a crashing wall of sound.

Guy, Lorena and Blair have a shared history, and former bands include Noddy on the Cross, The Flickering No San Pedro, Fader, Hoopla! and The National Office.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Column of Sand

Releases

Head Damage
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem