9 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage

18 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.

Column of Sand's new EP Head Damage is a collection of songs that really takes you back to the feels of the early 90's in that wave of bands like early Radiohead or Pixies. It sounds authentic and real like you can tell the amps were recorded with a microphone, not a plug-in.

The melodies on the album are ear-catching, with the lyrics hiding behind that wash of sound that sounds bring these songs together.

On the track Change of Heart, the vibe changes up a little with a slightly darker tone, yet a disco beat at times to lighten the mood. It's clever and it all works. It sounds like a band that has been playing together for a long time, a group of musicians that all understand their sound and explore it. Change of Heart's solo section is sparse and melodic, lending itself to the song instead of its technicality. This is something I respect as you should always serve the song.

The final track Bleeding Sky was a tinge of a U2 sound to it with the guitar. The whole package feels cohesive, the vocals sitting in the mix but not out front which is perfect for the style that Column of Sand is writing here.

Overall, a solid EP that explores their sound from start to finish with every song fitting perfectly into the EP.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Column of Sand

Column of Sand are a post-gaze band from Wellington: dense, melodic and dissonant.
Influenced by Ride, My Bloody Valentine and Fugazi they create shimmering harmonics, bleak undertones, and a crashing wall of sound.

Guy, Lorena and Blair have a shared history, and former bands include Noddy on the Cross, The Flickering No San Pedro, Fader, Hoopla! and The National Office.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Column of Sand

Releases

Head Damage
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade
13 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Kong Fooey, Charade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Dark Horse
06 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
This new single from The Wake Up is a solid pop rock/pop punk track with a fantastic chorus. From the moment Dark Horse starts, you can tell you are about to have a rocking good time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Too Late
03 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem