24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage

18 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.

Column of Sand's new EP Head Damage is a collection of songs that really takes you back to the feels of the early 90's in that wave of bands like early Radiohead or Pixies. It sounds authentic and real like you can tell the amps were recorded with a microphone, not a plug-in.

The melodies on the album are ear-catching, with the lyrics hiding behind that wash of sound that sounds bring these songs together.

On the track Change of Heart, the vibe changes up a little with a slightly darker tone, yet a disco beat at times to lighten the mood. It's clever and it all works. It sounds like a band that has been playing together for a long time, a group of musicians that all understand their sound and explore it. Change of Heart's solo section is sparse and melodic, lending itself to the song instead of its technicality. This is something I respect as you should always serve the song.

The final track Bleeding Sky was a tinge of a U2 sound to it with the guitar. The whole package feels cohesive, the vocals sitting in the mix but not out front which is perfect for the style that Column of Sand is writing here.

Overall, a solid EP that explores their sound from start to finish with every song fitting perfectly into the EP.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Column of Sand

Column of Sand are a post-gaze band from Wellington: dense, melodic and dissonant.
Influenced by Ride, My Bloody Valentine and Fugazi they create shimmering harmonics, bleak undertones, and a crashing wall of sound.

Guy, Lorena and Blair have a shared history, and former bands include Noddy on the Cross, The Flickering No San Pedro, Fader, Hoopla! and The National Office.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Column of Sand

Releases

Head Damage
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem