24 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage

18 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.

Column of Sand's new EP Head Damage is a collection of songs that really takes you back to the feels of the early 90's in that wave of bands like early Radiohead or Pixies. It sounds authentic and real like you can tell the amps were recorded with a microphone, not a plug-in.

The melodies on the album are ear-catching, with the lyrics hiding behind that wash of sound that sounds bring these songs together.

On the track Change of Heart, the vibe changes up a little with a slightly darker tone, yet a disco beat at times to lighten the mood. It's clever and it all works. It sounds like a band that has been playing together for a long time, a group of musicians that all understand their sound and explore it. Change of Heart's solo section is sparse and melodic, lending itself to the song instead of its technicality. This is something I respect as you should always serve the song.

The final track Bleeding Sky was a tinge of a U2 sound to it with the guitar. The whole package feels cohesive, the vocals sitting in the mix but not out front which is perfect for the style that Column of Sand is writing here.

Overall, a solid EP that explores their sound from start to finish with every song fitting perfectly into the EP.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Column of Sand

Column of Sand are a post-gaze band from Wellington: dense, melodic and dissonant.
Influenced by Ride, My Bloody Valentine and Fugazi they create shimmering harmonics, bleak undertones, and a crashing wall of sound.

Guy, Lorena and Blair have a shared history, and former bands include Noddy on the Cross, The Flickering No San Pedro, Fader, Hoopla! and The National Office.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Column of Sand

Releases

Head Damage
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem