16 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Serious Happiness - EP Review: Serious Happiness

22 Feb 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it. It can calm and sooth, it can be a scary as fuck. It also throws up gems everyday (along with its fair share of plastic jandals)

New Plymouth has a rocky shoreline but just as the sea pummels the rocks into shiny treasures, it has also thrown up another gem.

Serious Happiness have been shaped by Taranaki and they also shine.

When I read that name I hated it. Like seriously what the fuck? Then I heard the music on this debut EP and it all made sense

The four songs on the Serious Happiness EP twist and turn through a maelstrom of indie cool, punk ethics, soulful funk and garage D.I.Y. It doesn’t sound like it was created in the 'Naki - this is the sound of a group of people wanting to escape. A group of people who want to create something that the world can hold and admire. Something new and shiny. Something to smile about.

This EP is a statement of intent. It ticks all the boxes whilst also asking “do you love us?”

There is a sense of the need to be accepted in its crossing of genres but there is enough attitude seeping through to give a big fuck you if you don’t like it

I know I am not giving you much indication of what this EP sounds like.

I don’t want to

Just buy it and find out for yourself. Discover what Taranaki has thrown up. Love it or hate it Serious Happiness are seriously talented and they're here to stay.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Serious Happiness

Joel Ruys, Kayleb Duckett, Sam Egli and Stu Morris are the faces of Serious Happiness, the inimitable rock-n-roll boy-band. Serious Happiness are a unique band in that each member is a singer songwriter in their own right. The band's live shows include instrument trading on a near song-to-song basis which makes for both a musically and visually diverse experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Serious Happiness

Releases

Serious Happiness
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem