26 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Serious Happiness - EP Review: Serious Happiness

22 Feb 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it. It can calm and sooth, it can be a scary as fuck. It also throws up gems everyday (along with its fair share of plastic jandals)

New Plymouth has a rocky shoreline but just as the sea pummels the rocks into shiny treasures, it has also thrown up another gem.

Serious Happiness have been shaped by Taranaki and they also shine.

When I read that name I hated it. Like seriously what the fuck? Then I heard the music on this debut EP and it all made sense

The four songs on the Serious Happiness EP twist and turn through a maelstrom of indie cool, punk ethics, soulful funk and garage D.I.Y. It doesn’t sound like it was created in the 'Naki - this is the sound of a group of people wanting to escape. A group of people who want to create something that the world can hold and admire. Something new and shiny. Something to smile about.

This EP is a statement of intent. It ticks all the boxes whilst also asking “do you love us?”

There is a sense of the need to be accepted in its crossing of genres but there is enough attitude seeping through to give a big fuck you if you don’t like it

I know I am not giving you much indication of what this EP sounds like.

I don’t want to

Just buy it and find out for yourself. Discover what Taranaki has thrown up. Love it or hate it Serious Happiness are seriously talented and they're here to stay.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Serious Happiness

Joel Ruys, Kayleb Duckett, Sam Egli and Stu Morris are the faces of Serious Happiness, the inimitable rock-n-roll boy-band. Serious Happiness are a unique band in that each member is a singer songwriter in their own right. The band's live shows include instrument trading on a near song-to-song basis which makes for both a musically and visually diverse experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Serious Happiness

Releases

Serious Happiness
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem