6 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LA Thompson - Album Review: New Sun Rising

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

The two opening tracks of LA Thompson's 2017 LP New Sun Rising, titled Changed My Life and You Said have a particular Country feel, being driven by guitars and her voice.

Song three Divided has a dance music feel and is really quite ‘boppy’ for want of a word that doesn’t make me sound like I’m 90 years old.

It’s Raining brings the tempo down a little before the first ballad on the album; Reach Out is gentle and has her really using her voice very well, showing the signs of some vocal coaching.

The album’s title track New Sun Rising begins with an up tempo chorus then moves half time into the verse, before the pre-chorus, and chorus, build again. The half speed verses then full speed chorus structure keeps the song interesting. Lyrically it sounds like a coming to terms with life change, like a relationship ending.

Without A Sound builds gently. It’s another Country tinged pop song, but with a slightly darker feel. It stands out for me, and it's my favourite tune on the album.

Time On My Hands is a happier up tempo tune, a song of freedom, of literally having time on the author’s hands.

The last original tune on the album, Know Where You’re Going is a nice instrumental.

The album closes with a remix of the album’s opening song Changed My Life. It’s a fuller and richer remix. There’s nothing at all wrong with the original mix, but this has more vocal multi-tracking and the instrumentation covers more of the listening spectrum, the tops are crisper, and the bottom end is fatter.

With plans to release remixes of each song during the next two years, this is a nice all-round album. LA has a rich voice, and this album sits in the Pop Country genre very well.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About LA Thompson

LA has an extensive career in the music industry. Performing and writing her own music from the age of 9. LA has enjoyed a colorful life as a musician and promoter of Indie artists throughout New Zealand.

LA’s new song Don’t Take Me Back is her personal focus along with music video production. LA also known as Shirley to friends and family is the Founder and Manager of our nationwide project Local Musicians Music promoting NZ Music along with her more recently formed Nationwide music club “The LMM Network”.

Learning to navigate the ever changing internet and commercial radio station’s criteria has been a huge undertaking that has been met with interest from a number of songwriters, producers and music directors throughout New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LA Thompson

Releases

It's Raining
Year: 2020
Type: Album
New Sun Rising
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem