21 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LA Thompson - Album Review: New Sun Rising

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

The two opening tracks of LA Thompson's 2017 LP New Sun Rising, titled Changed My Life and You Said have a particular Country feel, being driven by guitars and her voice.

Song three Divided has a dance music feel and is really quite ‘boppy’ for want of a word that doesn’t make me sound like I’m 90 years old.

It’s Raining brings the tempo down a little before the first ballad on the album; Reach Out is gentle and has her really using her voice very well, showing the signs of some vocal coaching.

The album’s title track New Sun Rising begins with an up tempo chorus then moves half time into the verse, before the pre-chorus, and chorus, build again. The half speed verses then full speed chorus structure keeps the song interesting. Lyrically it sounds like a coming to terms with life change, like a relationship ending.

Without A Sound builds gently. It’s another Country tinged pop song, but with a slightly darker feel. It stands out for me, and it's my favourite tune on the album.

Time On My Hands is a happier up tempo tune, a song of freedom, of literally having time on the author’s hands.

The last original tune on the album, Know Where You’re Going is a nice instrumental.

The album closes with a remix of the album’s opening song Changed My Life. It’s a fuller and richer remix. There’s nothing at all wrong with the original mix, but this has more vocal multi-tracking and the instrumentation covers more of the listening spectrum, the tops are crisper, and the bottom end is fatter.

With plans to release remixes of each song during the next two years, this is a nice all-round album. LA has a rich voice, and this album sits in the Pop Country genre very well.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About LA Thompson

LA has an extensive career in the music industry. Performing and writing her own music from the age of 9. LA has enjoyed a colorful life as a musician and promoter of Indie artists throughout New Zealand.

LA’s new song Don’t Take Me Back is her personal focus along with music video production. LA also known as Shirley to friends and family is the Founder and Manager of our nationwide project Local Musicians Music promoting NZ Music along with her more recently formed Nationwide music club “The LMM Network”.

Learning to navigate the ever changing internet and commercial radio station’s criteria has been a huge undertaking that has been met with interest from a number of songwriters, producers and music directors throughout New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LA Thompson

Releases

It's Raining
Year: 2020
Type: Album
New Sun Rising
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem