29 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix.


Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens. It wouldn’t be pretty

Maybe that is the point of pop punk? It is supposed to be pretty and disarming simultaneously?

Maybe not?

Hot Pink Paralysis is the new single from Wellington Nu Punk (wasn’t nu metal bad enough?) outfit Holloway Holiday. I have had it on repeat in my lug-holes for the past hour.

That means I have heard the song around 18 times. Am I “happy to be alive in this strange world?”

Maybe?

It is a strange world where punk and pop mix but Holloway Holiday do it well. There is a lot going on in the 3 mins + that each run through takes and the keyboard hook is the thing that burrows into my head the most.

Lyrically there is a lot going on, and if you can get past the robotic get up and dance rhythm the lyrics are where we see the human side of Holloway Holiday. There is depth, there is contemplation, reflection and it connects with me (almost).

The issue I have with pop punk songs is there is a message, an anger and an energy, but it gets put through a throwaway pop blender which waters it down to background music

It is just my opinion and if you want a Chemical Romance that leads to a Fall Out with a boy/girl ultimately ending in an All Time Low then Holloway Holiday are the band you need in your life.

They just might make you smile but never forget anger is an energy.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Holloway Holiday

The New Zealand Nu-Punk rockers of your dreams, Holloway Holiday is a sugary face-punch flaunting Taylor Criscuola on drums and Louis Valentine on vocals and guitar. Every song is a synth-infused emotional rollercoaster of four-chord political satire and sad-boy sentimentality. They’re angry, They’re fun, and they’re totally not okay (they promise).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Holloway Holiday

Releases

There are no releases to display for Holloway Holiday.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem