6 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix.


Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens. It wouldn’t be pretty

Maybe that is the point of pop punk? It is supposed to be pretty and disarming simultaneously?

Maybe not?

Hot Pink Paralysis is the new single from Wellington Nu Punk (wasn’t nu metal bad enough?) outfit Holloway Holiday. I have had it on repeat in my lug-holes for the past hour.

That means I have heard the song around 18 times. Am I “happy to be alive in this strange world?”

Maybe?

It is a strange world where punk and pop mix but Holloway Holiday do it well. There is a lot going on in the 3 mins + that each run through takes and the keyboard hook is the thing that burrows into my head the most.

Lyrically there is a lot going on, and if you can get past the robotic get up and dance rhythm the lyrics are where we see the human side of Holloway Holiday. There is depth, there is contemplation, reflection and it connects with me (almost).

The issue I have with pop punk songs is there is a message, an anger and an energy, but it gets put through a throwaway pop blender which waters it down to background music

It is just my opinion and if you want a Chemical Romance that leads to a Fall Out with a boy/girl ultimately ending in an All Time Low then Holloway Holiday are the band you need in your life.

They just might make you smile but never forget anger is an energy.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Holloway Holiday

The New Zealand Nu-Punk rockers of your dreams, Holloway Holiday is a sugary face-punch flaunting Taylor Criscuola on drums and Louis Valentine on vocals and guitar. Every song is a synth-infused emotional rollercoaster of four-chord political satire and sad-boy sentimentality. They’re angry, They’re fun, and they’re totally not okay (they promise).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Holloway Holiday

Releases

There are no releases to display for Holloway Holiday.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem