16 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix.


Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens. It wouldn’t be pretty

Maybe that is the point of pop punk? It is supposed to be pretty and disarming simultaneously?

Maybe not?

Hot Pink Paralysis is the new single from Wellington Nu Punk (wasn’t nu metal bad enough?) outfit Holloway Holiday. I have had it on repeat in my lug-holes for the past hour.

That means I have heard the song around 18 times. Am I “happy to be alive in this strange world?”

Maybe?

It is a strange world where punk and pop mix but Holloway Holiday do it well. There is a lot going on in the 3 mins + that each run through takes and the keyboard hook is the thing that burrows into my head the most.

Lyrically there is a lot going on, and if you can get past the robotic get up and dance rhythm the lyrics are where we see the human side of Holloway Holiday. There is depth, there is contemplation, reflection and it connects with me (almost).

The issue I have with pop punk songs is there is a message, an anger and an energy, but it gets put through a throwaway pop blender which waters it down to background music

It is just my opinion and if you want a Chemical Romance that leads to a Fall Out with a boy/girl ultimately ending in an All Time Low then Holloway Holiday are the band you need in your life.

They just might make you smile but never forget anger is an energy.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Holloway Holiday

The New Zealand Nu-Punk rockers of your dreams, Holloway Holiday is a sugary face-punch flaunting Taylor Criscuola on drums and Louis Valentine on vocals and guitar. Every song is a synth-infused emotional rollercoaster of four-chord political satire and sad-boy sentimentality. They’re angry, They’re fun, and they’re totally not okay (they promise).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Holloway Holiday

Releases

There are no releases to display for Holloway Holiday.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem