5 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scizzorhands - EP Review: The Introduction

18 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Fresh. Like music to my ears (hold on a second. It is music to my ears!), Scizzorhands' newest EP The Introduction gives lets me hit refresh on my love of hip-hop. Let me explain.

When I read the bio of Scizzorhands (Elton Noyer), he states Mix Master Mike and others as influences, and to me, it feels like Scizzorhands has done a fantastic job of bringing that feel and style of the mix master while still remaining fresh and new. In the super deep and wide ocean that is modern rap and hip-hop, it's so damn good to hear people still push turntablism over trap beats. Don't mince my words, of course, I have love for all. But I seldom get to hear this sort of hip-hop coming out nowadays.

Teaming up with a wide range of different wordsmiths, this EP takes everything I love about groups like Jurassic 5, Beastie Boys and early Dr Dre and makes a statement about the current state of hip. From the guitar sample driven Money In, Money Out, with a killer performance from Diggy Dupe, it has a kid of Method Man vibe to it.

Mo' Styles changes it up with Sabe, a funkier feel and more melodic. Every MC on this EP is solid and has so much feel. It's authentic and real.

The single Let Go is a true stand out. With the strong recognizable voice of Unchained XL at the beginning, it sets the tone from the get-go. It's a wonderful song about finding peace and letting go of things that hold us back. It is one of the more fluid tracks where the structure is all over the place, but that again is refreshing. The middle section has Scizzorhands showing off his scratching skills a little more.

It's obvious that Scizzorhands has a true knack for old school hip-hop. I recommend that you give this EP a spin. A lot of talent is showcased here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Scizzorhands

Hailing from West Auckland, Scizzorhands is a world class turntablist who is always improving on skill and knowledge, bringing a variety of music in a hip-hop way.

From a young age, he was influenced by his grandparents and family who introduced him to music in the form of a drum kit at age 11.

Aged 17, Scizzorhands invested in his first set of turntables. Being heavily influenced by the likes of Mix Master Mike (Beastie Boys), DJ Rectangle and New Zealand’s own P-Money, he started down the path of becoming a turntablist DJ. Self-taught, Scizzorhands upskilled his scratching under the tutelage of New Zealand’s 2003 DMC World Champion DJ CXL.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scizzorhands

Releases

Iron Flowerz
Year: 2021
Type: EP
The Introduction
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem