19 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Urlwyn and Friends - Album Review: Seascape

06 Dec 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

It’s always a joy to hear players with more chops than a butchery. This album features some of the finest musicianship I’ve heard in years, and is like the fillet steak of chops, at the risk of mixing my meaty metaphors.

Urlwyn Trebilco has been a guitar player for 50 years and is based in Hamilton. His guitar playing alone is a great reason to give this album a listen with the intent to buy. However, he’s gathered a collection of equally brilliant players on Seascape which match his impressive abilities.

Other players on this album include Tony Sisam, Stephen Bennett and Jeremy Badger, all of whom add depth, texture and some excellent grooves.

Right from the opening of the first track, Elephantine, featuring what sounds like a Hammond b3 organ, the interplay between the musicians is evident.

If I had to pick a favourite tune it’d be the second tune, Mussel Fritters, which bops along like a child leaving school at the end of the year heading for the beach. My head was nodding and fingers tapping in a vain attempt to keep up with the drummer’s spider-like dexterity, as his work on the track is positively haunted with a multitude of ghost notes.

But, this is an instrumental jazz album, don’t be expecting singing, except coming from your own heart as you listen to it on rotate either at the summer BBQ or while driving to your summer holiday destination.

Track four, One Time, really embodies the nautical theme as it rises and falls in intensity like an undulating sea.

Seascape is a collection of beautifully captured, mostly mellow Jazz tunes, where each player takes a solo while the others take a breather, it’s a top album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Urlwyn and Friends

Urlwyn is a Hamilton guitarist who has played (and still does) in a range of musical situations including night club bands, folk groups, an Irish Ceili group and stage shows. Jazz has been his passion for the last few years though. Urlwyn's 'friends' are Tony Sisam on bass, Stephen Bennet on keyboards and Jeremy Badger on drums. These are great Hamilton musicians who have also played in sorts of situations over many years. I am so grateful for their work on my album Seascape. What a treat to play with such great musicians.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Urlwyn and Friends

Releases

Seascape
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem