29 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Urlwyn and Friends - Album Review: Seascape

06 Dec 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

It’s always a joy to hear players with more chops than a butchery. This album features some of the finest musicianship I’ve heard in years, and is like the fillet steak of chops, at the risk of mixing my meaty metaphors.

Urlwyn Trebilco has been a guitar player for 50 years and is based in Hamilton. His guitar playing alone is a great reason to give this album a listen with the intent to buy. However, he’s gathered a collection of equally brilliant players on Seascape which match his impressive abilities.

Other players on this album include Tony Sisam, Stephen Bennett and Jeremy Badger, all of whom add depth, texture and some excellent grooves.

Right from the opening of the first track, Elephantine, featuring what sounds like a Hammond b3 organ, the interplay between the musicians is evident.

If I had to pick a favourite tune it’d be the second tune, Mussel Fritters, which bops along like a child leaving school at the end of the year heading for the beach. My head was nodding and fingers tapping in a vain attempt to keep up with the drummer’s spider-like dexterity, as his work on the track is positively haunted with a multitude of ghost notes.

But, this is an instrumental jazz album, don’t be expecting singing, except coming from your own heart as you listen to it on rotate either at the summer BBQ or while driving to your summer holiday destination.

Track four, One Time, really embodies the nautical theme as it rises and falls in intensity like an undulating sea.

Seascape is a collection of beautifully captured, mostly mellow Jazz tunes, where each player takes a solo while the others take a breather, it’s a top album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Urlwyn and Friends

Urlwyn is a Hamilton guitarist who has played (and still does) in a range of musical situations including night club bands, folk groups, an Irish Ceili group and stage shows. Jazz has been his passion for the last few years though. Urlwyn's 'friends' are Tony Sisam on bass, Stephen Bennet on keyboards and Jeremy Badger on drums. These are great Hamilton musicians who have also played in sorts of situations over many years. I am so grateful for their work on my album Seascape. What a treat to play with such great musicians.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Urlwyn and Friends

Releases

Seascape
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem