19 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Lite Works - EP Review: 11:11

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Lite Works newest EP, 11:11, is a prime example of quality rock music that I personally grew up on. It’s like they have taken some of my favourite rock acts from the 90's and early 2000's and captured it in a bottle.


Things like soaring melodic lines in the chorus in Kiwi with the crunchy guitars being held up by a tight rhythm section. There is something so powerful chorus’s like this, the way the cymbals being so much openness to a chorus. It’s rock in the vein of Shihad, Foo Fighters and Puddle Of Mudd's early days.

Kiwi has an authentic Kiwi touch to it. It’s a banger and pretty darn good. I can hear this all over the radio, especially in summer.

The second track throws us in a different direction harmonically, where Kiwi was a more upbeat vibe from the get go, Dark Pantomime has a few tricks up its sleeve. One thing shines through the whole EP, and that is solid melodies and excellent songwriting. Every instrument feels like they have a common goal, the keep us rocking out.

The final song Hate has a grungy vibe to it at first and again, throws you a curve ball. To me it felt like the weakest song on the EP, but that doesn’t mean bad. I would love to hear a new album and hear more of what they have to offer.

11:11 is a solid EP that showcases a style of music I want to hear more of. It’s good fun, good time rock.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Lite Works

The Lite Works are reviving passionate rock to its former glory; delivering solid anthems that traverse love, hate and the chaotic intricacies of life, exhibiting compelling emotion in a head-banging classic rock format.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Lite Works

Releases

11.11
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem