10 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Lite Works - EP Review: 11:11

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Lite Works newest EP, 11:11, is a prime example of quality rock music that I personally grew up on. It’s like they have taken some of my favourite rock acts from the 90's and early 2000's and captured it in a bottle.


Things like soaring melodic lines in the chorus in Kiwi with the crunchy guitars being held up by a tight rhythm section. There is something so powerful chorus’s like this, the way the cymbals being so much openness to a chorus. It’s rock in the vein of Shihad, Foo Fighters and Puddle Of Mudd's early days.

Kiwi has an authentic Kiwi touch to it. It’s a banger and pretty darn good. I can hear this all over the radio, especially in summer.

The second track throws us in a different direction harmonically, where Kiwi was a more upbeat vibe from the get go, Dark Pantomime has a few tricks up its sleeve. One thing shines through the whole EP, and that is solid melodies and excellent songwriting. Every instrument feels like they have a common goal, the keep us rocking out.

The final song Hate has a grungy vibe to it at first and again, throws you a curve ball. To me it felt like the weakest song on the EP, but that doesn’t mean bad. I would love to hear a new album and hear more of what they have to offer.

11:11 is a solid EP that showcases a style of music I want to hear more of. It’s good fun, good time rock.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Lite Works

The Lite Works are reviving passionate rock to its former glory; delivering solid anthems that traverse love, hate and the chaotic intricacies of life, exhibiting compelling emotion in a head-banging classic rock format.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Lite Works

Releases

11.11
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Grace Duncan - Single Review: Come, We Must Go
03 Dec 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Grace Duncan's new track Come, We Must Go takes sounds from our lands and combines them into a cinematic experience that breathes with dynamics, taking us on a journey that begs to heard again. Te Reo is interwoven into the track, and transitions between languages is smooth and seamless.
Read More...
Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Heresy
20 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Viices, Heresy, feels like a mix between low key ska and EDM. It’s a very cool mix.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Chasing Kites
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Chasing Kites from Chris Bates is song that pulls a lot of different influences and takes the listener on a smooth ride through turbulent times.One thing that is evident from the first vocal lines are how smooth and silky they are.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Sequence Two: Our Secret, Silent Storms
11 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
I remember it vividly. I woke up on the ground, face down, looking directly under my dresser.
Read More...
EP Review: Screw Jack III
04 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Yes. Christmas is coming.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019
26 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem