26 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Lite Works - EP Review: 11:11

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Lite Works newest EP, 11:11, is a prime example of quality rock music that I personally grew up on. It’s like they have taken some of my favourite rock acts from the 90's and early 2000's and captured it in a bottle.


Things like soaring melodic lines in the chorus in Kiwi with the crunchy guitars being held up by a tight rhythm section. There is something so powerful chorus’s like this, the way the cymbals being so much openness to a chorus. It’s rock in the vein of Shihad, Foo Fighters and Puddle Of Mudd's early days.

Kiwi has an authentic Kiwi touch to it. It’s a banger and pretty darn good. I can hear this all over the radio, especially in summer.

The second track throws us in a different direction harmonically, where Kiwi was a more upbeat vibe from the get go, Dark Pantomime has a few tricks up its sleeve. One thing shines through the whole EP, and that is solid melodies and excellent songwriting. Every instrument feels like they have a common goal, the keep us rocking out.

The final song Hate has a grungy vibe to it at first and again, throws you a curve ball. To me it felt like the weakest song on the EP, but that doesn’t mean bad. I would love to hear a new album and hear more of what they have to offer.

11:11 is a solid EP that showcases a style of music I want to hear more of. It’s good fun, good time rock.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Lite Works

The Lite Works are reviving passionate rock to its former glory; delivering solid anthems that traverse love, hate and the chaotic intricacies of life, exhibiting compelling emotion in a head-banging classic rock format.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Lite Works

Releases

11.11
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem