17 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Viices - Single Review: Heresy

20 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new single from ViicesHeresy, feels like a mix between low key ska and EDM. It’s a very cool mix. With the vibe of the guitar combined with a chill beat and impassioned lyrics, Heresy ebbs and flows to allow for a repeated chord progression to have a solid structure.

About half way through, a more intense guitar comes in and changes the feel. What I like about the track is that it’s not trying to be complicated, yet there are new things you'll pick up on throughout multiple listens. Pay attention to the sound of what appears to be a tuba, and it sort of sounds like a warning horn.

Overall, the lyrics and vocals are really the centre of the song; "We say that these things won’t make a fool of us. But talk is cheap and so are we."

It's a sombre affair, but that doesn't make it depressing. You can feel what Viices is feeling through the performance and the way in which the music revolves around it.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Viices

Viices is an alt-rock duo based between Wellington and New Plymouth.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Viices

Releases

Double Denim
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Toxic
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Aotearoa Music Awards 2024
02 Jun 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
Thursday 30 May, 2024 was a wonderful night for our music industry. The Aotearoa Music Awards were being held for the first time at the Viaduct Event Centre, and for the first time in two years.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Album Review: Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up
30 May 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
The opening track of Dan Sharp's album named Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up sounds familiar in a good way. It's like coming home after a long day, with cold weather and rain, but opening a door to warmth and comfort.
Read More...
Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem