2 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Viices - Single Review: Heresy

20 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new single from ViicesHeresy, feels like a mix between low key ska and EDM. It’s a very cool mix. With the vibe of the guitar combined with a chill beat and impassioned lyrics, Heresy ebbs and flows to allow for a repeated chord progression to have a solid structure.

About half way through, a more intense guitar comes in and changes the feel. What I like about the track is that it’s not trying to be complicated, yet there are new things you'll pick up on throughout multiple listens. Pay attention to the sound of what appears to be a tuba, and it sort of sounds like a warning horn.

Overall, the lyrics and vocals are really the centre of the song; "We say that these things won’t make a fool of us. But talk is cheap and so are we."

It's a sombre affair, but that doesn't make it depressing. You can feel what Viices is feeling through the performance and the way in which the music revolves around it.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Viices

Viices is Jake McComb's solo project, stage name, brainchild and passion. What began as using a loop pedal to make beats to rap over has evolved into a massive sounding stage show, as Vices brings together acoustic and electric noises, and elements from Rock and Hip-Hop in his unique approach to live-looping.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Viices

Releases

Toxic
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem