30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin @ Powerstation, Auckland - 19/10/2019

20 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Rock is alive in well.

The sea of black was ready for rock at the Powerstation tonight. With a solid line up made of Black Smoke Trigger, Like A Storm and the headliner Devilskin, the audience in Auckland wasn't ready for just how good this show was.

Devilskin are celebrating their 10th year as a group and they certainly proved why they are well respected within, not only the New Zealand rock scene but the global scene too. The way the group commands the stage, with the duo of Paul Martin and Nail roaming the stage like any rockstar should and Jennie just completely demonstrating why she is one of our greatest vocalists, Devilskin showed us all why they are still around. From the opening track, all the way through to the end of the encore, the power, and energy levels never once dropped. It's moments like these when a band as tight as Devilskin are, remind me just how great our New Zealand rock scene is. Not only was the energy alive and breathing on stage, but that energy was consistently transferred back and forth with the incredibly active audience. I watched and listened in the mosh pit as we all sung our hearts out to tracks like All Fall Down, Start A Revolution and Pray. The mosh pit was pushing and shoving, people throwing themselves around, yet if someone fell everyone went to pick them up. It was a beautiful sight.

Halfway through the show, Nic Martin performed one hell of a drum solo. It was tight, loud and technically sound. It highlighted one of the most striking elements of Devilskin's performance: they are super tight. Their sound is incredibly huge. Each instrument was clearly heard, guitar solos ringing out, drums cracking through, bass holding the low end together. Jennie's vocals sat perfectly in the mix the entire time. Watching her sing her heart out is refreshing. Rock music has really seen a decline over the last decade, but it is performers like Jennie that give me hope that she will inspire the new generation. It looked like she was having a lot of fun, as did the whole band. It was contagious. Every single person in the venue was caught under her spell.

Hit after hit after hit, Devilskin worked their way through their catalogue, including introducing some new songs along the way. The new songs were powerful and felt right at home in their set. The audience certainly got right into them too.

Both of the opening acts Black Smoke Trigger and Like A Storm rocked hard. Again, the quality of their sound was superb. A stand out moment was when Marcus from City Of Souls joined Jennie with Like A Storm and performed Nil By Mouth. It was a surprise that completely stole the first part of the night. The whole audience was singing at the top of their lungs. This was also the case when Like A Storm's guitarist, Matt Brooks, slowed things down and sung Crawling by Linkin Park as a tribute to Chester Bennington. We all sang with so much passion. Mental Health is an important issue and both Like A Storm and Devilskin talked about this in their sets, encouraging people to speak up and take care of each other. It was humbling, awesome and honest.

Overall, the entire night was a blast and certainly one of the best rock shows I have seen and heard in years. I will be looking up Black Smoke Trigger after seeing them rip up the stage as the opening act, and I will continue to blast both Like A Storm and Devilskin. Jennie and her band demonstrated why they are one of New Zealand's premier rock acts. If you get the chance to see them, do it. You will get blown away.


Photos by Nikita Weir/Antonia Pearl Photography

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Red
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem