24 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin @ Powerstation, Auckland - 19/10/2019

20 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Rock is alive in well.

The sea of black was ready for rock at the Powerstation tonight. With a solid line up made of Black Smoke Trigger, Like A Storm and the headliner Devilskin, the audience in Auckland wasn't ready for just how good this show was.

Devilskin are celebrating their 10th year as a group and they certainly proved why they are well respected within, not only the New Zealand rock scene but the global scene too. The way the group commands the stage, with the duo of Paul Martin and Nail roaming the stage like any rockstar should and Jennie just completely demonstrating why she is one of our greatest vocalists, Devilskin showed us all why they are still around. From the opening track, all the way through to the end of the encore, the power, and energy levels never once dropped. It's moments like these when a band as tight as Devilskin are, remind me just how great our New Zealand rock scene is. Not only was the energy alive and breathing on stage, but that energy was consistently transferred back and forth with the incredibly active audience. I watched and listened in the mosh pit as we all sung our hearts out to tracks like All Fall Down, Start A Revolution and Pray. The mosh pit was pushing and shoving, people throwing themselves around, yet if someone fell everyone went to pick them up. It was a beautiful sight.

Halfway through the show, Nic Martin performed one hell of a drum solo. It was tight, loud and technically sound. It highlighted one of the most striking elements of Devilskin's performance: they are super tight. Their sound is incredibly huge. Each instrument was clearly heard, guitar solos ringing out, drums cracking through, bass holding the low end together. Jennie's vocals sat perfectly in the mix the entire time. Watching her sing her heart out is refreshing. Rock music has really seen a decline over the last decade, but it is performers like Jennie that give me hope that she will inspire the new generation. It looked like she was having a lot of fun, as did the whole band. It was contagious. Every single person in the venue was caught under her spell.

Hit after hit after hit, Devilskin worked their way through their catalogue, including introducing some new songs along the way. The new songs were powerful and felt right at home in their set. The audience certainly got right into them too.

Both of the opening acts Black Smoke Trigger and Like A Storm rocked hard. Again, the quality of their sound was superb. A stand out moment was when Marcus from City Of Souls joined Jennie with Like A Storm and performed Nil By Mouth. It was a surprise that completely stole the first part of the night. The whole audience was singing at the top of their lungs. This was also the case when Like A Storm's guitarist, Matt Brooks, slowed things down and sung Crawling by Linkin Park as a tribute to Chester Bennington. We all sang with so much passion. Mental Health is an important issue and both Like A Storm and Devilskin talked about this in their sets, encouraging people to speak up and take care of each other. It was humbling, awesome and honest.

Overall, the entire night was a blast and certainly one of the best rock shows I have seen and heard in years. I will be looking up Black Smoke Trigger after seeing them rip up the stage as the opening act, and I will continue to blast both Like A Storm and Devilskin. Jennie and her band demonstrated why they are one of New Zealand's premier rock acts. If you get the chance to see them, do it. You will get blown away.


Photos by Nikita Weir/Antonia Pearl Photography

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four-piece band from Hamilton which formed in June 2010. They have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Red
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem