29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

B.A.D.S - EP Review: A.I.R 01

16 Oct 2019 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

Wellington band B.A.D.S have released their debut EP A.I.R 01.

In the words of the band members Peter Ellen (drums), David Benge (bass) and Louis Reeve (guitar & vocals) they deliver "post cinematic drone-pop against driving up-tempo rhythms".

I find their sound to be reminiscent of my time growing up in Dunedin and I can see the band owning the stage at Sammy’s or The Crown with ease.

The EP contains five tracks recorded using a nice live feel at Blue Barn Studio with producer James Goldsmith.

The opening track Above My Sanctuary will have you floating around with your arms outstretched as its phaser-laden guitar and swirling vocals wash you from left to right and introduce you to the bands polished style. It is apparent that the band will be a force to be reckoned with when they play live, as at the very end of this track there is a quick teaser lead solo that displays pure guitar power. The simple melodic playing throughout Sharpen My Knives also shows the experience of these guys as they play well together using guitar/bass octave riffing and then separate to “guitar rain” over solid bass type instrumentals that should only be played at high volume. Come on – turn it up.

A driving rock feel at the start of How Deep the River Runs takes the band in a slightly different direction that leads into an extended arrangement of vocal breaks and great melodic lead playing that keep the band sounding both free and structured at the same time. I like this approach.

The pick of the bunch for vocals has to be the short, sweet and oh so very Garageland pop guitar ballad, My Bells that has some nice subtle piano mixed with some raw lead solos all bundled into a neat 2:45 minutes.

Rounding out this very shiny offering is closing track Tread Gingerly, which is laden with guitar hooks over some funky rhythm guitar and more of the aforementioned Octave riffing. Very cool.

Therefore, after filling my ears with these tracks this week and rather enjoying myself here is my summary.

B.A.D.S are “a splendid blend of well-placed psychedelic guitar completed by floating vocals, driven along by a sharp rhythm section”.

This concise offering will appeal to any “jangle guitar” fan.

If that is a bit of you, then off you go now please and find B.A.D.S.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About B.A.D.S

B.A.D.S posit cinematic drone-pop against driving up-tempo rhythms.

Exploring the existential concerns of song-writer Louis Reeve, the band have been refining their sound over the last three years culminating in forthcoming EP A.I.R 01 (Ad Infinitum Recording 01) recorded at Blue Barn Studio with venerable producer James Goldsmith. The EP is scheduled for release in September 2019 to be supported by a narrative video release and a raft of national shows.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for B.A.D.S

Releases

A.I.R 01
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Album Review: Hustle Bustle
26 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Reviewing an album is both a pleasure and a responsibility so I wanted to take my time to really listen to this body of work and ensure that I gave it my honest thoughts. The very act of listening to twelve tracks in a row from the same artist is not common behaviour for myself or conceivably any of us these days.
Read More...
Gig Review: James Reid @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 21/09/2019
23 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
A good size crowd of approximately 150 people resisted the temptation to sit at home and wait for the All Blacks to take over the nation, preferring to populate the magnificent Totara St venue for an intimate show by James Reid on the Tauranga section his solo Songbook Tour. With no need for support acts in this laid back style of event, James was onstage early at a very respectable 9pm and he immediately set the tone of the evening by tweaking with his guitar setup and making random jokes with the audience thus making everyone feel relaxed and welcome.
Read More...
Gig Review: Late Model European @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 26/07/2019
28 Jul 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Earlier this year I had the pleasure of interviewing Late Model European and I was instantly attracted to their professionalism, their genuine love for music and the journey it takes us all on. Following along with the progress of the recording and production of their debut album It’s Time, I jumped at the opportunity to see them perform live.
Read More...
Gig Review: Toto with Jefferson Starship and Dragon @ ASB Baypark, Mount Maunganui - 09/01/2019
10 Jan 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
The entertainment on offer in Tauranga in the summer of 2018/19 was lined up to be a significant upgrade to previous years when this gig was announced back in August 2017. With other established large events in the area catering to the Reggae and under 25 markets, this event was set to draw out the (genre alert) "Adult Contemporary Fans".
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem