6 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

B.A.D.S - EP Review: A.I.R 01

16 Oct 2019 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

Wellington band B.A.D.S have released their debut EP A.I.R 01.

In the words of the band members Peter Ellen (drums), David Benge (bass) and Louis Reeve (guitar & vocals) they deliver "post cinematic drone-pop against driving up-tempo rhythms".

I find their sound to be reminiscent of my time growing up in Dunedin and I can see the band owning the stage at Sammy’s or The Crown with ease.

The EP contains five tracks recorded using a nice live feel at Blue Barn Studio with producer James Goldsmith.

The opening track Above My Sanctuary will have you floating around with your arms outstretched as its phaser-laden guitar and swirling vocals wash you from left to right and introduce you to the bands polished style. It is apparent that the band will be a force to be reckoned with when they play live, as at the very end of this track there is a quick teaser lead solo that displays pure guitar power. The simple melodic playing throughout Sharpen My Knives also shows the experience of these guys as they play well together using guitar/bass octave riffing and then separate to “guitar rain” over solid bass type instrumentals that should only be played at high volume. Come on – turn it up.

A driving rock feel at the start of How Deep the River Runs takes the band in a slightly different direction that leads into an extended arrangement of vocal breaks and great melodic lead playing that keep the band sounding both free and structured at the same time. I like this approach.

The pick of the bunch for vocals has to be the short, sweet and oh so very Garageland pop guitar ballad, My Bells that has some nice subtle piano mixed with some raw lead solos all bundled into a neat 2:45 minutes.

Rounding out this very shiny offering is closing track Tread Gingerly, which is laden with guitar hooks over some funky rhythm guitar and more of the aforementioned Octave riffing. Very cool.

Therefore, after filling my ears with these tracks this week and rather enjoying myself here is my summary.

B.A.D.S are “a splendid blend of well-placed psychedelic guitar completed by floating vocals, driven along by a sharp rhythm section”.

This concise offering will appeal to any “jangle guitar” fan.

If that is a bit of you, then off you go now please and find B.A.D.S.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About B.A.D.S

B.A.D.S posit cinematic drone-pop against driving up-tempo rhythms.

Exploring the existential concerns of song-writer Louis Reeve, the band have been refining their sound over the last three years culminating in forthcoming EP A.I.R 01 (Ad Infinitum Recording 01) recorded at Blue Barn Studio with venerable producer James Goldsmith. The EP is scheduled for release in September 2019 to be supported by a narrative video release and a raft of national shows.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for B.A.D.S

Releases

A.I.R 01
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Album Review: Hustle Bustle
26 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Reviewing an album is both a pleasure and a responsibility so I wanted to take my time to really listen to this body of work and ensure that I gave it my honest thoughts. The very act of listening to twelve tracks in a row from the same artist is not common behaviour for myself or conceivably any of us these days.
Read More...
Gig Review: James Reid @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 21/09/2019
23 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
A good size crowd of approximately 150 people resisted the temptation to sit at home and wait for the All Blacks to take over the nation, preferring to populate the magnificent Totara St venue for an intimate show by James Reid on the Tauranga section his solo Songbook Tour. With no need for support acts in this laid back style of event, James was onstage early at a very respectable 9pm and he immediately set the tone of the evening by tweaking with his guitar setup and making random jokes with the audience thus making everyone feel relaxed and welcome.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem