25 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

By A Damn Sight - EP Review: A.I.R 01

16 Oct 2019 // A review by ApolloSteamTrain

Wellington band B.A.D.S have released their debut EP A.I.R 01.

In the words of the band members Peter Ellen (drums), David Benge (bass) and Louis Reeve (guitar & vocals) they deliver "post cinematic drone-pop against driving up-tempo rhythms".

I find their sound to be reminiscent of my time growing up in Dunedin and I can see the band owning the stage at Sammy’s or The Crown with ease.

The EP contains five tracks recorded using a nice live feel at Blue Barn Studio with producer James Goldsmith.

The opening track Above My Sanctuary will have you floating around with your arms outstretched as its phaser-laden guitar and swirling vocals wash you from left to right and introduce you to the bands polished style. It is apparent that the band will be a force to be reckoned with when they play live, as at the very end of this track there is a quick teaser lead solo that displays pure guitar power. The simple melodic playing throughout Sharpen My Knives also shows the experience of these guys as they play well together using guitar/bass octave riffing and then separate to “guitar rain” over solid bass type instrumentals that should only be played at high volume. Come on – turn it up.

A driving rock feel at the start of How Deep the River Runs takes the band in a slightly different direction that leads into an extended arrangement of vocal breaks and great melodic lead playing that keep the band sounding both free and structured at the same time. I like this approach.

The pick of the bunch for vocals has to be the short, sweet and oh so very Garageland pop guitar ballad, My Bells that has some nice subtle piano mixed with some raw lead solos all bundled into a neat 2:45 minutes.

Rounding out this very shiny offering is closing track Tread Gingerly, which is laden with guitar hooks over some funky rhythm guitar and more of the aforementioned Octave riffing. Very cool.

Therefore, after filling my ears with these tracks this week and rather enjoying myself here is my summary.

B.A.D.S are “a splendid blend of well-placed psychedelic guitar completed by floating vocals, driven along by a sharp rhythm section”.

This concise offering will appeal to any “jangle guitar” fan.

If that is a bit of you, then off you go now please and find B.A.D.S.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About By A Damn Sight

By A Damn Sight posit cinematic drone-pop against driving up-tempo rhythms.
Exploring the existential concerns of song-writer Louis Reeve, the band have refined their sound over the last six years.

A.I.R 01 (Ad Infinitum Recording 01, 2019) was recorded at Blue Barn Studio with venerable producer James Goldsmith.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for By A Damn Sight

Releases

A.I.R 01
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By ApolloSteamTrain

Orangefarm - Album Review: Inheritance
21 Jul 2023 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Inheritance is the long awaited debut album from Wellington indie rock outfit Orangefarm. The band is the vehicle for the ongoing musical offerings of front-man Nigel Mitchell, who is well settled and respected in the Wellington musical landscape.
Read More...
Bleeding Star - Album Review: Dropper
02 Jun 2023 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Dropper is the debut album from Wellington band - Bleeding Star. Self-described as "Noise Rock" the band have risen from bedroom demos to supporting international touring acts and being voted #1 on Wellingtons Radio Active for their song February.
Read More...
Brian Baker - EP Review: Open Up Your Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Brian Baker is an established Kiwi songwriter whose career spans 40 years and is still going strong. His latest release is a 5-track EP entitled Open Up Your Heart and it brilliantly showcases Brian's musical experience and the journey that his art has taken him on.
Read More...
ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down
05 May 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock. A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by ApolloSteamTrain
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by ApolloSteamTrain
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
View All Articles By ApolloSteamTrain

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem