4 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Molly Devine - EP Review: Rain in the River

05 Oct 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Dunedin contemporary vocalist Molly Devine has been entertaining Dunedin crowds for a few years now, sharing stages with Martin Phillipps, Anna Leese, the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra, and more in the Tally Ho series of concerts, as well as playing her own shows at many local bars.

She’s just released a four song EP, Rain In The River, which signals a slight shift in musical direction for her.

From the opening track The Sculptor Devine’s sound is more dance orientated, with more groove, and sounding less ethereal than her earlier work. Arpeggio keys and a Roland Tr 808 hand clap are a nice nod to the 80's and drive the tune through intro, and first verse, into the first chorus at the 1 minute mark. It’s pop music at its best.

Rain follows, and like with other songs on this EP, Devine’s voice sits on top of the mix really well. Clearly there’s lots of processing, but there’s a deft hand on the controls and nothing is laid on too heavily, making for a beautifully crafted sound.

Haunting synth strings open up track 3, Company, and lyrically the theme of Rain In The River continues flowing on well. It sounds very much like a collection of songs written around the same time and if my guess is correct there may have been a new relationship in her life.

Someone Like You is the last of the four songs on the EP and it’s the most overt, and dead-set beautiful electronic dance pop love song I’ve heard in many, many years. If this song was written about me, I’d totally like cry. It’s as beautiful melodically as it is lyrically.

The Rain In The River EP is just four songs long, which means it lends itself to being put on repeat.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Molly Devine.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem