22 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Arrays - Single Review: The Enemy

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
The Enemy is the new track from Arrays, the studio project headed up by JP Carroll.

One of the most important elements of rock is to have a riff that stands out and cuts clear through the mix so you get a feel for the song. Right away, the main riff filters through and builds up until it becomes a big wall of sound. The guitars are big, crunchy and huge. Combined with a punchy rhythm, drums and a solid bass sound, the song kicks into high octane early on.

The song is jam-packed with a whole heap of killer riffs, one after another, pushing the momentum of the song.

JP screams, “And now I know your name, you are not the enemy”. This line really drives the chorus, lending itself to that huge rock sound that carries the melody, reminiscent of bands like Disturbed, Trapt and some of the elements I know from Villainy. It works so well and builds the song up to the breakdown which introduces us back to a hint of the opening, followed by a guttural scream any rock fan would be proud of.

The track oozes with slick production, big riffs, wall-of-sound guitars which are right up my alley. JP Carroll certainly knows how to get the sound he has in his head out into the world in fine form. Everything about this track showcases care, thoughtfulness, and precision.

Arrays is certainly a project you should be keeping your ear out for.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Arrays

Arrays is the solo studio project of JP Carroll - the archetypal one man band. Arrays expands directly from individuality; Driven, thoughtful and meticulously crafted productions. And lyrically it’s like therapy, expressing the gamut from divorce to depression, anxiety to existential angst, hopelessness to hope.

Conceptualised as a pure creative outlet, Arrays has morphed into a mission to create without constraint, to share music and story with like minded souls. It might be a solo project, but Arrays is about community and sharing struggles. Finding joy in the music, and something to relate to in the story. It is music to accompany soaring highs, or be the soundtrack to a bad day.

Arrays is guitar centric, melodic and anchored in groove. Grunge, Nu Metal, Metalcore and Prog Metal influences are drawn upon to create a sound that is as unique and unmistakably ‘JP’, while still feeling strangely familiar - like a trip down memory lane with a new perspective.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Arrays

Releases

Motives
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem