6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Arrays - Single Review: The Enemy

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
The Enemy is the new track from Arrays, the studio project headed up by JP Carroll.

One of the most important elements of rock is to have a riff that stands out and cuts clear through the mix so you get a feel for the song. Right away, the main riff filters through and builds up until it becomes a big wall of sound. The guitars are big, crunchy and huge. Combined with a punchy rhythm, drums and a solid bass sound, the song kicks into high octane early on.

The song is jam-packed with a whole heap of killer riffs, one after another, pushing the momentum of the song.

JP screams, “And now I know your name, you are not the enemy”. This line really drives the chorus, lending itself to that huge rock sound that carries the melody, reminiscent of bands like Disturbed, Trapt and some of the elements I know from Villainy. It works so well and builds the song up to the breakdown which introduces us back to a hint of the opening, followed by a guttural scream any rock fan would be proud of.

The track oozes with slick production, big riffs, wall-of-sound guitars which are right up my alley. JP Carroll certainly knows how to get the sound he has in his head out into the world in fine form. Everything about this track showcases care, thoughtfulness, and precision.

Arrays is certainly a project you should be keeping your ear out for.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Arrays

Arrays is the solo studio project of JP Carroll - the archetypal one man band. Arrays expands directly from individuality; Driven, thoughtful and meticulously crafted productions. And lyrically it’s like therapy, expressing the gamut from divorce to depression, anxiety to existential angst, hopelessness to hope.

Conceptualised as a pure creative outlet, Arrays has morphed into a mission to create without constraint, to share music and story with like minded souls. It might be a solo project, but Arrays is about community and sharing struggles. Finding joy in the music, and something to relate to in the story. It is music to accompany soaring highs, or be the soundtrack to a bad day.

Arrays is guitar centric, melodic and anchored in groove. Grunge, Nu Metal, Metalcore and Prog Metal influences are drawn upon to create a sound that is as unique and unmistakably ‘JP’, while still feeling strangely familiar - like a trip down memory lane with a new perspective.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Arrays

Releases

Motives
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem