18 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Arrays - Single Review: The Enemy

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
The Enemy is the new track from Arrays, the studio project headed up by JP Carroll.

One of the most important elements of rock is to have a riff that stands out and cuts clear through the mix so you get a feel for the song. Right away, the main riff filters through and builds up until it becomes a big wall of sound. The guitars are big, crunchy and huge. Combined with a punchy rhythm, drums and a solid bass sound, the song kicks into high octane early on.

The song is jam-packed with a whole heap of killer riffs, one after another, pushing the momentum of the song.

JP screams, “And now I know your name, you are not the enemy”. This line really drives the chorus, lending itself to that huge rock sound that carries the melody, reminiscent of bands like Disturbed, Trapt and some of the elements I know from Villainy. It works so well and builds the song up to the breakdown which introduces us back to a hint of the opening, followed by a guttural scream any rock fan would be proud of.

The track oozes with slick production, big riffs, wall-of-sound guitars which are right up my alley. JP Carroll certainly knows how to get the sound he has in his head out into the world in fine form. Everything about this track showcases care, thoughtfulness, and precision.

Arrays is certainly a project you should be keeping your ear out for.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Arrays

Arrays is the solo studio project of JP Carroll. A palate of heavy rock with prog influences, Arrays is guitar centric, melodic and anchored in groove. Always seeking ways to improve and expand sustainably, the project is run on a minimal budget, with the lion’s share of tasks undertaken by the solo artist - from writing and performance, to engineering and mixing.

Conceptualised in 2016 as further creative outlet from then-band Armed In Advance, Arrays has morphed into a mission to create without constraint, always in search of improvement upon the previous effort.

2017’s debut EP, Motives, introduced the intent of the project. Lead single Centre of the Earth garnered surprise attention and featured a music video shot by the talented Francis Wheeler.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Arrays

Releases

Motives
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks In The Sky
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
“You left this world with tyre tracks in the sky.” The new single from Saurian opens with this line and it sets the tone for the song, a story about living life with no regrets.
Read More...
EP Review: Lizard Prom
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Lizard Prom is visceral. Really.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem