24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Medusa Glare - Single Review: A Mind Reborn

26 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Medusa Glare. Note that down. No. Not later. NOW!


One of the best parts of being a music reviewer is getting introduced to new music from people that pour their hearts and soul into their work, artists that take all of their influences and bring it all together to make it their own.

And damn, Medusa Glare, why haven’t I heard of you before?

Their new track A Mind Reborn is an absolute banger. It takes everything I personally love about groove rock and throws it into a mixer, adds their own character to it and then presents it to the world.

From that bone-crunching riff that starts the track, you instantly know that these guys mean business and have a real understanding of the elements that make rock, well, rock. Even the simple things, like solid drumming that cuts through the mix, vocals that soar with passion and clarity. It all adds up. Steve Anderton has one of the best voices I have heard in rock recently. It reminds me of Ian from Deep Purple, the way he can hold belt throughout the song, yet showcase so much dynamic.

Pay attention to the details and you will hear so much happening. The tight playing on bass with the fills that add depth to the song where needed. The organ that sits in the back on the chorus but without it, that chorus wouldn’t be the same. Even things like the chords, the 7th chord after that accent. That perfectly played and well thought out guitar solo. I could just keep going on listing the gems I found here, but I would prefer it if you went and cranked it up to 11 and found them yourselves.

Medusa Glare. I added them to my playlist and will definitely be telling my class about the band today.

Incredible stuff boys!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Medusa Glare

MEDUSA GLARE are an exciting and powerful new rock outfit.
This ambitious group was formed in Hamilton, New Zealand in 2014 by Simon Koretz-guitar/vocals, and Rick Walker-drums. They released their debut single and video "No Tomorrow" in April 2014.
The intention was always to source a fitting frontman and bassist, and within months the line -up was complete with the addition of the incredible Jason Galu on lead vocals and Nathan Waters on bass and back-up vocals.
Combining contemporary sounds with hard hitting old school rock, they deliver the perfect blend of groove and melody. Catchy hooks, driving rhythms and killer riffs are plentiful in their repertoire of exceptional original music

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Medusa Glare

Releases

Medusa Glare
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Take The Fall
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem