21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Medusa Glare - Single Review: A Mind Reborn

26 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Medusa Glare. Note that down. No. Not later. NOW!


One of the best parts of being a music reviewer is getting introduced to new music from people that pour their hearts and soul into their work, artists that take all of their influences and bring it all together to make it their own.

And damn, Medusa Glare, why haven’t I heard of you before?

Their new track A Mind Reborn is an absolute banger. It takes everything I personally love about groove rock and throws it into a mixer, adds their own character to it and then presents it to the world.

From that bone-crunching riff that starts the track, you instantly know that these guys mean business and have a real understanding of the elements that make rock, well, rock. Even the simple things, like solid drumming that cuts through the mix, vocals that soar with passion and clarity. It all adds up. Steve Anderton has one of the best voices I have heard in rock recently. It reminds me of Ian from Deep Purple, the way he can hold belt throughout the song, yet showcase so much dynamic.

Pay attention to the details and you will hear so much happening. The tight playing on bass with the fills that add depth to the song where needed. The organ that sits in the back on the chorus but without it, that chorus wouldn’t be the same. Even things like the chords, the 7th chord after that accent. That perfectly played and well thought out guitar solo. I could just keep going on listing the gems I found here, but I would prefer it if you went and cranked it up to 11 and found them yourselves.

Medusa Glare. I added them to my playlist and will definitely be telling my class about the band today.

Incredible stuff boys!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Medusa Glare

Medusa Glare are an exciting and powerful new rock outfit.
This ambitious group was formed in Hamilton, New Zealand in 2014 by Simon Koretz-guitar/vocals, and Rick Walker-drums. They released their debut single and video "No Tomorrow" in April 2014.
The intention was always to source a fitting frontman and bassist, and within months the line -up was complete with the addition of the incredible Jason Galu on lead vocals and Nathan Waters on bass and back-up vocals.
Combining contemporary sounds with hard hitting old school rock, they deliver the perfect blend of groove and melody. Catchy hooks, driving rhythms and killer riffs are plentiful in their repertoire of exceptional original music

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Medusa Glare

Releases

Medusa Glare
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Take The Fall
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem