24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

VÏKÆ - Single Review: Truth

26 Sep 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Ukrainian born New Zealand vocalist and songwriter Vikae, also known as Veronika Bell, was based in Dunedin performing in a duo called VTMNK, until her Auckland home called.

Truth is the first single from Vikae, and it opens with atmospheric air noises before Bell’s crystal clear voice chimes in with the first verse: "Run run run, I fall into nothing, dreaming of falling who am I becoming? Run run run, away from myself, wishful thinking, but there’s something else".

Then at just 27 seconds in, the electronic beats kick in at the song’s first pre-chorus, and then chorus - Truth has an excellent pop music structure, making it very catchy.

The production in Truth is by Missy, also known as Abigail Knudson, and it's slicker than black ice on southern roads in winter. The song sounds work really well, and it's not overworked.

Veronika Bell has some challenges in her personal life, with both her mental and physical health being an issue at times. The lyrics in Truth reflect her struggles, but are in no way maudlin or self-pitying, just questioning, searching for answers.

Her voice is so strong and confident on this recording, and musically it reminds me of Strawpeople, with elements of 90’s trip-hop, yet with enough innovation, and painted with a modern day palate for it to be super fresh. It has hit-song written all over it. Be among the first to say "yeah, Vikae, I remember them when they were starting out" and listen to this track today.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About VÏKÆ

Originally born in Ukraine and seeking refuge in New Zealand post Chernobyl; classically trained musician VïKÆ has done a full 360 dance through the music-sphere. Originally training as an opera singer, VïKÆ switched genres when she felt the need to create art that provokes thoughts, is catchy, exciting and fresh. Finishing her Bachelor of Music (Performance Voice) from the University of Otago (2016) VÏKÆ has finally landed where she describes as feeling ‘most at home’. Personal experiences provide a voice for the voiceless and an homage to the underdogs. Breaking stigmas to showcase the true magic behind closed doors for those living with disabilities and those who suffer from mental health, VÏKÆ is not shy about her was diagnosis with bipolar; saying “being creative is a great form of healing”. VÏKÆ lathers her songs in silvery and powerful vocals and her lyricism is raw, clever and a little peculiar. Taking inspiration from Taylor Swift, Astrud Gilberto, Ella Fitzgerald and traditional Ukrainian instruments, VÏKÆ is certainly one to watch.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for VÏKÆ

Releases

There are no releases to display for VÏKÆ.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem