19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tommy and The Fallen Horses - Album Review: OpenHearts

19 Sep 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Wellington band Tommy and the Fallen Horses have just released a new album OpenHearts after a 5-year hiatus.

The band is firmly straddling the Alt-Country, and Folk-Rock genres and are being hailed as one of the most compelling groups to emerge from New Zealand’s rich musical landscape in the past decade.

Hyperbole aside the album opens with the gently swaying If I Was Gonna Make It; the song displaying Tommy Benefield’s songwriting chops. It’s easy to hear the mass and commercial appeal in his music, and in particularly the way the album has been produced. It’s very slick.

Book Of A Lifetime follows raising the tempo a bit. Benefield’s vocals are in the foreground of the mix, sitting on the well-polished instrumental bed. I can’t help but wonder if he’s spent time in the USA, or has American heritage, as there’s a distinct American twang in his accent and I can’t help but wonder if he’s putting it on, which (in my opinion) would be a disappointment.

Daylight and Countin' The Hours roll by quite serenely, with the latter having more spark, or drive.

Ahead of listening to the song I assume that Half A Bottle is a drinking song. Well partially correct, Tommy also mentions rolling joints too.

God Ain’t Love is a great challenging song title and the content backs up it up well. Musically it is the same syrupy country pop by numbers, as will much of the LP. Pretty cool controversial song title for this genre.

I Don’t Mind is lyrically naïve, right from the get-go. "Oh oh, looking for my band to play with, oh oh, looking for some girl to lay with." It’s just a jolt coming from a song which would challenge the foundations of your typical God-fearin’, country music lovin’ southern Baptist Christian.

The 13-song album is a strong collection of songs which should collect new fans, as his music has already appeared on TV programs including Shortland St, and Outrageous Fortune, as well as on Radio New Zealand National.

The album is produced by Geoff Maddock who crafted Goldenhorse’s commercial triumph Riverhead.

Personally, I’d like to hear more edge, or a little roughness around the edges, but it is excellently produced none-the-less.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Tommy and The Fallen Horses

Alt-Country, Indie-Pop and Folk-Rock band Tommy and The Fallen Horses are undeniably one of the most compelling groups to emerge from New Zealand’s rich musical landscape in the past decade. Crafting his work with deep artistic integrity, poetic singer-songwriter Tommy Benefield has gained a loyal following in the New Zealand music community (Shortland St, Outrageous Fortune, Sunday Star Times, National Radio).

After a five year hiatus, Tommy and The Fallen Horses return with their sophomore album, Openhearts. Described by Nick Bollinger as “soul-baring, heartfelt and well-crafted,” Openhearts is deeply rooted in emotive melodies and driving alt-country riffs — the quintessential road-trip record. The album, produced by Geoff Maddock (the mastermind behind Goldenhorse’s commercial triumph Riverhead), is released on 13th September 2019.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tommy and The Fallen Horses

Releases

Parihaka
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Isolation Is The New Party
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem