25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tommy and The Fallen Horses - Album Review: OpenHearts

19 Sep 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Wellington band Tommy and the Fallen Horses have just released a new album OpenHearts after a 5-year hiatus.

The band is firmly straddling the Alt-Country, and Folk-Rock genres and are being hailed as one of the most compelling groups to emerge from New Zealand’s rich musical landscape in the past decade.

Hyperbole aside the album opens with the gently swaying If I Was Gonna Make It; the song displaying Tommy Benefield’s songwriting chops. It’s easy to hear the mass and commercial appeal in his music, and in particularly the way the album has been produced. It’s very slick.

Book Of A Lifetime follows raising the tempo a bit. Benefield’s vocals are in the foreground of the mix, sitting on the well-polished instrumental bed. I can’t help but wonder if he’s spent time in the USA, or has American heritage, as there’s a distinct American twang in his accent and I can’t help but wonder if he’s putting it on, which (in my opinion) would be a disappointment.

Daylight and Countin' The Hours roll by quite serenely, with the latter having more spark, or drive.

Ahead of listening to the song I assume that Half A Bottle is a drinking song. Well partially correct, Tommy also mentions rolling joints too.

God Ain’t Love is a great challenging song title and the content backs up it up well. Musically it is the same syrupy country pop by numbers, as will much of the LP. Pretty cool controversial song title for this genre.

I Don’t Mind is lyrically naïve, right from the get-go. "Oh oh, looking for my band to play with, oh oh, looking for some girl to lay with." It’s just a jolt coming from a song which would challenge the foundations of your typical God-fearin’, country music lovin’ southern Baptist Christian.

The 13-song album is a strong collection of songs which should collect new fans, as his music has already appeared on TV programs including Shortland St, and Outrageous Fortune, as well as on Radio New Zealand National.

The album is produced by Geoff Maddock who crafted Goldenhorse’s commercial triumph Riverhead.

Personally, I’d like to hear more edge, or a little roughness around the edges, but it is excellently produced none-the-less.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Tommy and The Fallen Horses

Alt-Country, Indie-Pop and Folk-Rock band Tommy and The Fallen Horses are undeniably one of the most compelling groups to emerge from New Zealand’s rich musical landscape in the past decade. Crafting his work with deep artistic integrity, poetic singer-songwriter Tommy Benefield has gained a loyal following in the New Zealand music community (Shortland St, Outrageous Fortune, Sunday Star Times, National Radio).

After a five year hiatus, Tommy and The Fallen Horses return with their sophomore album, Openhearts. Described by Nick Bollinger as “soul-baring, heartfelt and well-crafted,” Openhearts is deeply rooted in emotive melodies and driving alt-country riffs — the quintessential road-trip record. The album, produced by Geoff Maddock (the mastermind behind Goldenhorse’s commercial triumph Riverhead), is released on 13th September 2019.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tommy and The Fallen Horses

Releases

Parihaka
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Isolation Is The New Party
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem