8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name

31 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Context. It is everything. Did you hear something? But under what context does it make sense? To me, the new single Callin' My Name from The Rvmes played me like this. That opening guitar had me hearing one way, but once the bass and drums come in, it's changed. Context.

And just as you think you are listening to the next big reggae soaked, 'summers in the air' vibes song, you start Latin dancing! And it flows so seamlessly that you may just find yourself dancing in a manner you do not normally find yourself doing.

And to throw a spanner in the works, even more, the breakdown section brings it up a whole other notch. All the while, it keeps that sound that you heard right from the get-go.

The sound of the single is vintage yet clear. It's funky, yet vibing with all sorts of different genres. Everything about this single oozes professionalism and a clear understanding of what crafting a song is about. It has a catchy melody and hook "Who's that calling my name? I said I told you once, I will not tell you again." But it also has qualities that reflect a band that understand each other, how to play as a group and how to allow each person to keep their parts interesting without overdoing it and making it hard for the listener to know what to pay attention to. The vocals are clear and have a wonderful tone that brings me back to listening to the John Butler Trio.

Having worked with the legendary Daniel Martin and recording it at Parachute Music in Kingsland, this is a single they should be proud of. It is definitely something you can groove to. And when you get to that bridge, 'Dance.'

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (say it with us 'The Rooms' nice!) is a freshly formed band to the New Zealand scene and are reaching out as far as their little fingertips will reach to pluck the ripe apple of music and share it with everybody they can in New Zealand, and of course, beyond.

Taking everything into consideration from Psychedelic Blues, Gypsy Jazz, Rock'n'roll, Reggae, Soul and many more flavours, they weave together their songs with ultimate freedom and feel.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

There are no releases to display for The RVMES.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem