18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name

31 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Context. It is everything. Did you hear something? But under what context does it make sense? To me, the new single Callin' My Name from The Rvmes played me like this. That opening guitar had me hearing one way, but once the bass and drums come in, it's changed. Context.

And just as you think you are listening to the next big reggae soaked, 'summers in the air' vibes song, you start Latin dancing! And it flows so seamlessly that you may just find yourself dancing in a manner you do not normally find yourself doing.

And to throw a spanner in the works, even more, the breakdown section brings it up a whole other notch. All the while, it keeps that sound that you heard right from the get-go.

The sound of the single is vintage yet clear. It's funky, yet vibing with all sorts of different genres. Everything about this single oozes professionalism and a clear understanding of what crafting a song is about. It has a catchy melody and hook "Who's that calling my name? I said I told you once, I will not tell you again." But it also has qualities that reflect a band that understand each other, how to play as a group and how to allow each person to keep their parts interesting without overdoing it and making it hard for the listener to know what to pay attention to. The vocals are clear and have a wonderful tone that brings me back to listening to the John Butler Trio.

Having worked with the legendary Daniel Martin and recording it at Parachute Music in Kingsland, this is a single they should be proud of. It is definitely something you can groove to. And when you get to that bridge, 'Dance.'

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (say it with us 'The Rooms' nice!) is a freshly formed band to the New Zealand scene and are reaching out as far as their little fingertips will reach to pluck the ripe apple of music and share it with everybody they can in New Zealand, and of course, beyond.

Taking everything into consideration from Psychedelic Blues, Gypsy Jazz, Rock'n'roll, Reggae, Soul and many more flavours, they weave together their songs with ultimate freedom and feel.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

There are no releases to display for The RVMES.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.
Read More...
Gig Review: Kings @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 24/08/2019
25 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
If you had told me that the ‘sold out’ Kings show at the Tuning Fork in Auckland was the last date on his very first tour, I would have probably slapped you. Why?
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Awkwardly Eccentric
13 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Hybrid Rose’s EP, Awkwardly Eccentric, is an enjoyable ride through different emotions. On the opening track Pearl, featuring Jahleel, the passionate lyrics and delivery take this song through different waves of emotion.
Read More...
Gig Review: Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019
09 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound.
Read More...
Benee - EP Review: Fire On Marzz
17 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem