21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name

31 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Context. It is everything. Did you hear something? But under what context does it make sense? To me, the new single Callin' My Name from The Rvmes played me like this. That opening guitar had me hearing one way, but once the bass and drums come in, it's changed. Context.

And just as you think you are listening to the next big reggae soaked, 'summers in the air' vibes song, you start Latin dancing! And it flows so seamlessly that you may just find yourself dancing in a manner you do not normally find yourself doing.

And to throw a spanner in the works, even more, the breakdown section brings it up a whole other notch. All the while, it keeps that sound that you heard right from the get-go.

The sound of the single is vintage yet clear. It's funky, yet vibing with all sorts of different genres. Everything about this single oozes professionalism and a clear understanding of what crafting a song is about. It has a catchy melody and hook "Who's that calling my name? I said I told you once, I will not tell you again." But it also has qualities that reflect a band that understand each other, how to play as a group and how to allow each person to keep their parts interesting without overdoing it and making it hard for the listener to know what to pay attention to. The vocals are clear and have a wonderful tone that brings me back to listening to the John Butler Trio.

Having worked with the legendary Daniel Martin and recording it at Parachute Music in Kingsland, this is a single they should be proud of. It is definitely something you can groove to. And when you get to that bridge, 'Dance.'

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (pronounced 'The Rooms') are a fiercely independent alternative rock band from Auckland known for their energetic live shows and slight boundary issues when it comes to genre.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

Simple Things
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Lifetime
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The RVMES
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem