19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours

23 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable. If you pay attention to the details, you can hear so much going on that it is anything but typical pop music of today.

The melody is an earworm that will get stuck in your mind for days, running around singing 'of all the hours we wasted'. It's a song that happily and cleverly reminiscences about great times that have come and gone. The music video captures this so well in that Geoff is strolling up Queen St with his guitar in what looks to be an 80's style filter. But the longer you look, the more you notice the background images are actually old memories playing. It's a collage of some of the times Geoff has had and doesn't believe were ever wasted. It is tasteful.

Musically, the way it sounds, the chord progression and the calmness in the voice certainly brings back memories for me of growing up. Life has changed so much since I was a kid but somehow I feel like I am transported back.

Geoff's ability to keep crafting pop hits like this is a testament to his craftsmanship as a songwriter. Pop hits that have so much character and offer the listener a lot to find in each listen.


Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Geoff Ong

Geoff Ong wants to be a pop star for dorks. “I love all the sounds and melodies of pop music, but I never really felt like I was cool enough to relate to the people performing it,” he says. “I figure there must be other people out there who feel the same way – my music is for them.”

Geoff’s 2018 single, Fingerprints, a shimmering slice of soulful indie pop, was recorded in his bedroom in Kingsland, with production, mixing and mastering by Phil Levine of the illustrious Igloo Music Studios in Los Angeles, who won two Grammy Awards for their work on 2016’s box office hit, La La Land.

Fingerprints made an immediate impact, peaking at #3 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart and #25 on the overall Hot Singles Top 40 Chart. It was also featured on ZM, The Edge, The Edge TV, and Radio New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Geoff Ong

Releases

The Boston EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Streetlights
Year: 2014
Type: EP
The Snorlax Mixtape
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Pictures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem