24 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours

23 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable. If you pay attention to the details, you can hear so much going on that it is anything but typical pop music of today.

The melody is an earworm that will get stuck in your mind for days, running around singing 'of all the hours we wasted'. It's a song that happily and cleverly reminiscences about great times that have come and gone. The music video captures this so well in that Geoff is strolling up Queen St with his guitar in what looks to be an 80's style filter. But the longer you look, the more you notice the background images are actually old memories playing. It's a collage of some of the times Geoff has had and doesn't believe were ever wasted. It is tasteful.

Musically, the way it sounds, the chord progression and the calmness in the voice certainly brings back memories for me of growing up. Life has changed so much since I was a kid but somehow I feel like I am transported back.

Geoff's ability to keep crafting pop hits like this is a testament to his craftsmanship as a songwriter. Pop hits that have so much character and offer the listener a lot to find in each listen.


Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Geoff Ong

Geoff Ong wants to be a pop star for dorks. “I love all the sounds and melodies of pop music, but I never really felt like I was cool enough to relate to the people performing it,” he says. “I figure there must be other people out there who feel the same way – my music is for them.”

Geoff’s 2018 single, Fingerprints, a shimmering slice of soulful indie pop, was recorded in his bedroom in Kingsland, with production, mixing and mastering by Phil Levine of the illustrious Igloo Music Studios in Los Angeles, who won two Grammy Awards for their work on 2016’s box office hit, La La Land.

Fingerprints made an immediate impact, peaking at #3 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart and #25 on the overall Hot Singles Top 40 Chart. It was also featured on ZM, The Edge, The Edge TV, and Radio New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Geoff Ong

Releases

Maybe It'll Be Alright
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Boston EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Streetlights
Year: 2014
Type: EP
The Snorlax Mixtape
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Pictures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PERMISSION TO DANCE
    BTS
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem