5 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds

19 Aug 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We live in an age of instant gratification.

Wake up. Look down (at the phone)

scroll, scroll, scroll

Everything screaming to be heard but being filtered through our overloaded minds

Hang on.....stop....that looks interesting

The key word being “looks”

It is all about what we see. What is thrust in front of our face under a blue light haze.

So, where does music fit into this new online algorhytm (haha)

Some music gets in your face. Screams look at me! Listen to me!

Musicians are screaming to be heard.

Record labels are screaming for you to buy music by those musicians who are screaming to be heard.

There is something else though. Music being created that has a more passive aggressive approach.

It seeps into your psyche and once there it messes with your mind. It grabs on and holds on.

This is where the sounds created by the Echo Ohs sit.

This isn’t music that screams at you. It is music to escape to, music that you hear in your subconscious and cherish for the freedom it gives you. A respite from the noise.

Their new single Wild Weeds is a perfect example. It is subtle but hooks you in. Good music (fuck knows how we define good music) creates visuals in your mind. You don’t need to see it you need to feel it.

Wild Weeds makes me feel relaxed, it takes me away from my day to day. It makes me forget about whatever it was that was so fucking important when I woke up and looked at my phone.

In this time where we are overloaded with information we need more opportunities to forget what we have just seen, and we need to contemplate what we have just heard.

Stop.....relax....let it seep in

If you have just heard Wild Weeds by Echo Ohs you will know exactly what I mean.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Wild Weeds
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hot Pockets
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem