28 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds

19 Aug 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We live in an age of instant gratification.

Wake up. Look down (at the phone)

scroll, scroll, scroll

Everything screaming to be heard but being filtered through our overloaded minds

Hang on.....stop....that looks interesting

The key word being “looks”

It is all about what we see. What is thrust in front of our face under a blue light haze.

So, where does music fit into this new online algorhytm (haha)

Some music gets in your face. Screams look at me! Listen to me!

Musicians are screaming to be heard.

Record labels are screaming for you to buy music by those musicians who are screaming to be heard.

There is something else though. Music being created that has a more passive aggressive approach.

It seeps into your psyche and once there it messes with your mind. It grabs on and holds on.

This is where the sounds created by the Echo Ohs sit.

This isn’t music that screams at you. It is music to escape to, music that you hear in your subconscious and cherish for the freedom it gives you. A respite from the noise.

Their new single Wild Weeds is a perfect example. It is subtle but hooks you in. Good music (fuck knows how we define good music) creates visuals in your mind. You don’t need to see it you need to feel it.

Wild Weeds makes me feel relaxed, it takes me away from my day to day. It makes me forget about whatever it was that was so fucking important when I woke up and looked at my phone.

In this time where we are overloaded with information we need more opportunities to forget what we have just seen, and we need to contemplate what we have just heard.

Stop.....relax....let it seep in

If you have just heard Wild Weeds by Echo Ohs you will know exactly what I mean.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Wild Weeds
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hot Pockets
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem