28 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds

19 Aug 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We live in an age of instant gratification.

Wake up. Look down (at the phone)

scroll, scroll, scroll

Everything screaming to be heard but being filtered through our overloaded minds

Hang on.....stop....that looks interesting

The key word being “looks”

It is all about what we see. What is thrust in front of our face under a blue light haze.

So, where does music fit into this new online algorhytm (haha)

Some music gets in your face. Screams look at me! Listen to me!

Musicians are screaming to be heard.

Record labels are screaming for you to buy music by those musicians who are screaming to be heard.

There is something else though. Music being created that has a more passive aggressive approach.

It seeps into your psyche and once there it messes with your mind. It grabs on and holds on.

This is where the sounds created by the Echo Ohs sit.

This isn’t music that screams at you. It is music to escape to, music that you hear in your subconscious and cherish for the freedom it gives you. A respite from the noise.

Their new single Wild Weeds is a perfect example. It is subtle but hooks you in. Good music (fuck knows how we define good music) creates visuals in your mind. You don’t need to see it you need to feel it.

Wild Weeds makes me feel relaxed, it takes me away from my day to day. It makes me forget about whatever it was that was so fucking important when I woke up and looked at my phone.

In this time where we are overloaded with information we need more opportunities to forget what we have just seen, and we need to contemplate what we have just heard.

Stop.....relax....let it seep in

If you have just heard Wild Weeds by Echo Ohs you will know exactly what I mean.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Echo Ohs.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem