17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds

19 Aug 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We live in an age of instant gratification.

Wake up. Look down (at the phone)

scroll, scroll, scroll

Everything screaming to be heard but being filtered through our overloaded minds

Hang on.....stop....that looks interesting

The key word being “looks”

It is all about what we see. What is thrust in front of our face under a blue light haze.

So, where does music fit into this new online algorhytm (haha)

Some music gets in your face. Screams look at me! Listen to me!

Musicians are screaming to be heard.

Record labels are screaming for you to buy music by those musicians who are screaming to be heard.

There is something else though. Music being created that has a more passive aggressive approach.

It seeps into your psyche and once there it messes with your mind. It grabs on and holds on.

This is where the sounds created by the Echo Ohs sit.

This isn’t music that screams at you. It is music to escape to, music that you hear in your subconscious and cherish for the freedom it gives you. A respite from the noise.

Their new single Wild Weeds is a perfect example. It is subtle but hooks you in. Good music (fuck knows how we define good music) creates visuals in your mind. You don’t need to see it you need to feel it.

Wild Weeds makes me feel relaxed, it takes me away from my day to day. It makes me forget about whatever it was that was so fucking important when I woke up and looked at my phone.

In this time where we are overloaded with information we need more opportunities to forget what we have just seen, and we need to contemplate what we have just heard.

Stop.....relax....let it seep in

If you have just heard Wild Weeds by Echo Ohs you will know exactly what I mean.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Wild Weeds
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hot Pockets
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem