1 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Louis Baker - Gig Review: Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019

09 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound. Tight.

Louis Baker and his 4-piece band performed like a fine-tuned, well-oiled machine. With a soulful sound laden with funky bass and keyboard, the crowd at the Tuning Fork were quickly vibing and moving along to the tight sound. His voice has an incredible amount of depth and versatility to it, each song showcasing different elements. But overall, as a group, the chemistry between the members created some sparks that the audience could see. There were many unforgettable moments where solos were shared like a conversation, back and forth in dialogue. Nowadays, a lot of bands run on clicks and backing tracks. But not here. That freedom to explore a song live is what makes live performances so exciting. And all the while, this band was....tight.

Halfway through the set, Louis takes the stage by himself to play a few songs from his debut album but also throwing in the famous Lovely Day by Bill Withers. With his own take on it and a lot of interaction with the crowd, Louis and the audience shared moments together singing.

Stand out songs were Get It Back and Figure 8, the latter being a song about history repeating itself, which had some incredible guitar work demonstrated by Louis. I could have sworn that John Mayer himself had shown Louis a thing or tasty. Just such tasty phrasing, the tone of the guitar woven beautifully into the mix of the live band. Stellar.

Get It Back was the one for me. While a lot of the music was slower throughout the set, it was this song that took things to a new level. Again, with incredible guitar work, the organ solo just added that edge I had been wanting to see all night. Brilliant.

Ending the set with an acoustic track called Rainbow, Louis was able to show why he is an artist that is getting noticed a lot. He even came back out to do one more performance as an encore.
With songs and performances like this, Louis has an incredible future waiting for him. This was an international quality gig, right here in New Zealand.

Opening for Louis was Lou'ana, whose velvety smooth vocal delivery had the crowd mesmerised.  Standing there with her Fender Telecaster and her keyboardist to the other side handling bass and keys all at the same time, it was the perfect warm-up act for the evening. Lou'ana is certainly someone you should be paying attention too. It was great to see her return to provide backing vocals during Louis' set.

So, when you add it all up, the band, the playing, the performances, and the songs, what you get is exceptionally tight.


Photos by Chris Zwaagdyk/Zed Pics

 

About Louis Baker

Soulful singer-songwriter Louis Baker possesses a voice that can register as an intimate croon or soar to dizzying heights. And when twinned with his prodigious fretwork that he’s cultivated over many years as both a student and a teacher of the guitar, his voice is a tool that he’s able to wield to jaw-dropping effect.

Emerging from the rich musical landscape of Wellington – a city that’s given the world singular musical voices like Fat Freddy’s Drop, The Black Seeds and TrinityRoots – Baker has been announced down under as one of the leading voices of a new school of Kiwi soul music.

Crafting his work with a deep artistic integrity, Louis has gathered a loyal following that spans the world over. Everyone from India Arie (“Louis Baker, you sing my soul,”) to the international music community (BBC 6 Music, Clash Magazine, The Line of Best Fit, Earmilk) have shown love for what he is, and has become.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Louis Baker

Releases

Open
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Louis Baker
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem