22 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Benee - EP Review: Fire On Marzz

17 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire. For an artist that I knew next to nothing about last year, to now being one of the most talked-about NZ artists right now, Benee's debut EP is a testament to her songwriting craftsmanship.

Starting off with Soaked, a breakout hit, the album is a chilled affair. There is so much to like about this song. What caught my ear initially was the fact that I heard a flat second chord in a modern pop song. I mean, this isn't something you would typically hear. The slappy bass funk, combined with the stabbing guitar and sweet major 7 and minor 7 chords, it is pop genius. Lyrically, I love the concept of going quiet around someone which is what it sounds like it is about.

But don't be fooled. While Soaked has had a lot of airplay, Fire On Marzz is a showcase of her writing, knack of catchy melody and clever instrumentation. As someone who loves to pay attention to what is happening behind the vocals and lyrics, I just sit in awe at the amount of production and care that has been given to each track. I liken it to one of my favourite albums of all time which is Smash Mouth's Astrolounge. Just like that album, Benee's EP is melodic, catchy, funky and damn right fun to listen to completely. It appeals to my producer side as well as being an album that anyone could sit down and listen to. It is ear candy to me.

Having seen Benee live, I can confidently say that the songs translate wonderfully live so while it is cleverly produced, it is not at the cost of not being able to perform the songs live.

I cannot pick a song I like the most, they are all incredible and captured brilliantly.

If you enjoy Soaked, check this EP out and just listen from start to finish. An absolute gem of an EP. This is New Zealand modern pop at it's very best.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Benee

August 2018 has already seen Benee step out and crush the audience at her debut Auckland performance into a bouncing ball of fun and instantly secure a slot at the sold out Others Way Festival. Feet have danced, heads have been turned. Grey Lynn’s teen star on the rise just happens to have a cracking band of Wellington-based musicians in tow and is now set to to bring her super cool attitude and remarkable set of songs to the capital city.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Benee

Releases

Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Awkwardly Eccentric
13 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Hybrid Rose’s EP, Awkwardly Eccentric, is an enjoyable ride through different emotions. On the opening track Pearl, featuring Jahleel, the passionate lyrics and delivery take this song through different waves of emotion.
Read More...
Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019
09 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound.
Read More...
Stan Walker - Single Review: Give
11 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Stan Walker’s new single Give is a concrete example of how diverse and powerful his vocal ability is. I can feel him, feel his passion for change in our world, and his message about needing to be better yourself in order to see the change that you want to see.
Read More...
Kings - Single Review: Flex
09 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping.
Read More...
Gig Review: Benee @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/06/2019
28 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Benee knows how to own the stage. Tonight, playing at a sold-out Powerstation, she commands the stage in baggy pants and a light blue t-shirt.
Read More...
Ahjay Stelino - EP Review: Makes Me Smile
25 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Ahjay Stelino has written some fantastic songs that require to chill, find a comfy couch and listen to the way the music tells a story in each song. The is a lot of space, dynamically and instrumentally to allow for each song to breath.
Read More...
Randa - Single/Video Review: Rock Bottom
14 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Randa is back! The new track Rock Bottom is a funky track that will catch you off guard with its catchy hook in the chorus.
Read More...
Missy - EP Review: Strange
13 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
At 25, Missy is someone that you must keep on your radar. From the moment the EP starts, it is evident that Missy means business.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem