14 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BENEE - EP Review: Fire On Marzz

17 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire. For an artist that I knew next to nothing about last year, to now being one of the most talked-about NZ artists right now, Benee's debut EP is a testament to her songwriting craftsmanship.

Starting off with Soaked, a breakout hit, the album is a chilled affair. There is so much to like about this song. What caught my ear initially was the fact that I heard a flat second chord in a modern pop song. I mean, this isn't something you would typically hear. The slappy bass funk, combined with the stabbing guitar and sweet major 7 and minor 7 chords, it is pop genius. Lyrically, I love the concept of going quiet around someone which is what it sounds like it is about.

But don't be fooled. While Soaked has had a lot of airplay, Fire On Marzz is a showcase of her writing, knack of catchy melody and clever instrumentation. As someone who loves to pay attention to what is happening behind the vocals and lyrics, I just sit in awe at the amount of production and care that has been given to each track. I liken it to one of my favourite albums of all time which is Smash Mouth's Astrolounge. Just like that album, Benee's EP is melodic, catchy, funky and damn right fun to listen to completely. It appeals to my producer side as well as being an album that anyone could sit down and listen to. It is ear candy to me.

Having seen Benee live, I can confidently say that the songs translate wonderfully live so while it is cleverly produced, it is not at the cost of not being able to perform the songs live.

I cannot pick a song I like the most, they are all incredible and captured brilliantly.

If you enjoy Soaked, check this EP out and just listen from start to finish. An absolute gem of an EP. This is New Zealand modern pop at it's very best.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About BENEE

August 2018 has already seen Benee step out and crush the audience at her debut Auckland performance into a bouncing ball of fun and instantly secure a slot at the sold out Others Way Festival. Feet have danced, heads have been turned. Grey Lynn’s teen star on the rise just happens to have a cracking band of Wellington-based musicians in tow and is now set to to bring her super cool attitude and remarkable set of songs to the capital city.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BENEE

Releases

Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Corduroy. - EP Review: Good Intentions
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy.’s new EP is a journey through that demonstrates the bands ability to write catchy songs that are also deep and entertaining.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: The Enemy
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Enemy is the new track from Arrays, the studio project headed up by JP Carroll. One of the most important elements of rock is to have a riff that stands out and cuts clear through the mix so you get a feel for the song.
Read More...
Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous).
Read More...
Paige - Single Review: Bloom
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Paige’s new song Bloom is like a throwback to some of the best RnB songs from the 2000's while still maintaining a modern feel to it thanks to its slick production. Tight vocals are front and centre here, but do not let that get in way to hear the exceptional instrumental track in the back.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: A Mind Reborn
26 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Medusa Glare. Note that down.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name
31 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Context. It is everything.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem