21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kings - Single Review: Flex

09 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping. This track definitely shows his Flex.

Lyrically, it addresses that concept of day one fans versus the 'jump on the bandwagon now' fans while at the same time it seems like a bit of a boast, pretty much what most hip-hop music has become. While it certainly, isn't my thing, I can see the appeal it would have with others. The beat is catchy and upbeat, while the chorus has the repeating champagne popping line that would go down well with fans at a show.

Flex has everything you would expect in a song of this genre, but with a touch of Kings' personal style. Developing as a unique artist in today's world of hip-hop can be a hard thing, but with his collaboration with 10A, Kings has got himself a track that many Kiwis can relate to.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kings

New Zealand born producer, rapper, singer, songwriter, Kings burst onto the music scene in 2016 with the release of his debut single Don’t Worry ‘Bout It.

The track went on to become the biggest local release that year and surpassed the record for longest #1 on the New Zealand Singles Chart, spending 33 consecutive weeks at the top. Written, recorded, mixed and mastered by Kingdon (Tuhoe, Te Arawa), like all of his music, the same went for the DIY music video, which he filmed impromptu in Fiji and then edited on the plane ride home. Don’t Worry ‘Bout It went on to sell double platinum, has had over 8 million streams and 1.5 million video views, and took home the Highest Selling New Zealand Single and Radio Airplay Record of the Year awards at the 2017 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Kings’ followed up Don’t Worry ‘Bout It with his self-titled debut EP, which also included the singles What We Supposed To Do and Someday. Kings then cemented his big year by taking home Breakthrough Artist of The Year at the 2016 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, as well as Best Pacific Male Artist, Best Urban Artist and Best Producer at the Vodafone Pacific Music Awards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kings

Releases

Smoke & Mirrors
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Two
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Chapter One
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem