4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kings - Single Review: Flex

09 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping. This track definitely shows his Flex.

Lyrically, it addresses that concept of day one fans versus the 'jump on the bandwagon now' fans while at the same time it seems like a bit of a boast, pretty much what most hip-hop music has become. While it certainly, isn't my thing, I can see the appeal it would have with others. The beat is catchy and upbeat, while the chorus has the repeating champagne popping line that would go down well with fans at a show.

Flex has everything you would expect in a song of this genre, but with a touch of Kings' personal style. Developing as a unique artist in today's world of hip-hop can be a hard thing, but with his collaboration with 10A, Kings has got himself a track that many Kiwis can relate to.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kings

New Zealand born producer, rapper, singer, songwriter, Kings burst onto the music scene in 2016 with the release of his debut single Don’t Worry ‘Bout It.

The track went on to become the biggest local release that year and surpassed the record for longest #1 on the New Zealand Singles Chart, spending 33 consecutive weeks at the top. Written, recorded, mixed and mastered by Kingdon (Tuhoe, Te Arawa), like all of his music, the same went for the DIY music video, which he filmed impromptu in Fiji and then edited on the plane ride home. Don’t Worry ‘Bout It went on to sell double platinum, has had over 8 million streams and 1.5 million video views, and took home the Highest Selling New Zealand Single and Radio Airplay Record of the Year awards at the 2017 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Kings’ followed up Don’t Worry ‘Bout It with his self-titled debut EP, which also included the singles What We Supposed To Do and Someday. Kings then cemented his big year by taking home Breakthrough Artist of The Year at the 2016 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, as well as Best Pacific Male Artist, Best Urban Artist and Best Producer at the Vodafone Pacific Music Awards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kings

Releases

Smoke & Mirrors
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Two
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Chapter One
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem