15 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kings - Single Review: Flex

09 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping. This track definitely shows his Flex.

Lyrically, it addresses that concept of day one fans versus the 'jump on the bandwagon now' fans while at the same time it seems like a bit of a boast, pretty much what most hip-hop music has become. While it certainly, isn't my thing, I can see the appeal it would have with others. The beat is catchy and upbeat, while the chorus has the repeating champagne popping line that would go down well with fans at a show.

Flex has everything you would expect in a song of this genre, but with a touch of Kings' personal style. Developing as a unique artist in today's world of hip-hop can be a hard thing, but with his collaboration with 10A, Kings has got himself a track that many Kiwis can relate to.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kings

Kings has launched on to the NZ Music scene with a boom!

His first official release Promise To You, a collaboration with General Lee was chosen to be on the Ministry of Sound SessioNZ 2013. Kings wrote the track and sings the vocals. He played it to good friend Lee, and together they carved it into the huge dancefloor anthem that caught the attention of MoS.

The combo knew they had something special and went on to craft a Trap & Bass EP – Transaction. 1 of the 4 tracks – Ain't Coming Down was received very well and had the team playing together for some major events including, Our:House, Vodka Illuminate Paint Party, Blue Sky Fiji and plenty more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kings

Releases

Two
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Chapter One
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name
31 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Context. It is everything.
Read More...
Gig Review: Kings @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 24/08/2019
25 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
If you had told me that the ‘sold out’ Kings show at the Tuning Fork in Auckland was the last date on his very first tour, I would have probably slapped you. Why?
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Awkwardly Eccentric
13 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Hybrid Rose’s EP, Awkwardly Eccentric, is an enjoyable ride through different emotions. On the opening track Pearl, featuring Jahleel, the passionate lyrics and delivery take this song through different waves of emotion.
Read More...
Gig Review: Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019
09 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem