31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kings - Single Review: Flex

09 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping. This track definitely shows his Flex.

Lyrically, it addresses that concept of day one fans versus the 'jump on the bandwagon now' fans while at the same time it seems like a bit of a boast, pretty much what most hip-hop music has become. While it certainly, isn't my thing, I can see the appeal it would have with others. The beat is catchy and upbeat, while the chorus has the repeating champagne popping line that would go down well with fans at a show.

Flex has everything you would expect in a song of this genre, but with a touch of Kings' personal style. Developing as a unique artist in today's world of hip-hop can be a hard thing, but with his collaboration with 10A, Kings has got himself a track that many Kiwis can relate to.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kings

New Zealand born producer, rapper, singer, songwriter, Kings burst onto the music scene in 2016 with the release of his debut single Don’t Worry ‘Bout It.

The track went on to become the biggest local release that year and surpassed the record for longest #1 on the New Zealand Singles Chart, spending 33 consecutive weeks at the top. Written, recorded, mixed and mastered by Kingdon (Tuhoe, Te Arawa), like all of his music, the same went for the DIY music video, which he filmed impromptu in Fiji and then edited on the plane ride home. Don’t Worry ‘Bout It went on to sell double platinum, has had over 8 million streams and 1.5 million video views, and took home the Highest Selling New Zealand Single and Radio Airplay Record of the Year awards at the 2017 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Kings’ followed up Don’t Worry ‘Bout It with his self-titled debut EP, which also included the singles What We Supposed To Do and Someday. Kings then cemented his big year by taking home Breakthrough Artist of The Year at the 2016 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, as well as Best Pacific Male Artist, Best Urban Artist and Best Producer at the Vodafone Pacific Music Awards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kings

Releases

Smoke & Mirrors
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Two
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Chapter One
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem