24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Shakes and the Troublemakers - Gig Review: Mid-Winter Shin-Dig @ Waitati Hall, Waitati - 29/06/19

Shakes and the Troublemakers - Gig Review: Mid-Winter Shin-Dig @ Waitati Hall, Waitati - 29/06/19

30 Jun 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Waitati is a seaside village 30 minutes’ drive north of Dunedin. It’s a melting pot of alternative life-stylers, academics and a plethora of other folk. It has its own publication, The Blueskin News, and tonight’s ‘Mid-Winter Shin-Dig‘ was a fundraiser for the community paper.

Waitati local Mandy Mayhem is the main driver of the event, and after a couple of raffles were drawn, 5-piece band Barracuda open up the evening.

The third song in was perfect for the chilly Dunedin evening; the aptly named I'm Not Smoking, I'm On Fire. It's great to see an old school open handed drummer, I could have just watched him all night.

Barracuda have a fiddle player, acoustic guitar, lead guitar, bass player and drummer. Their sound is tough to pigeonhole, there’s elements of reggae, blues and at least one of the tunes had a touch of Nick Cave.

It's always great to see musicians having a great time, and Barracuda's drummer definitely looked like he was having the time of his life.

Towards the end of their set, they pulled out a few country numbers which had people dancing to the brisk 2/4. It’s also great watching people who can dance well, swinging each other around the hall.

After an interlude, while more raffles were drawn with brewery and local art prizes going to lucky ticket holders, Bulletproof Convertible came on. They're a three-piece, firmly set in the rockabilly rhythm and blues vein with a double bass, guitar and drums. They had more than half of the crowd dancing.

Bulletproof Convertible gradually increased the tempo throughout their set, going out on a high note with a full dance floor clapping for them.

Then Shakes and the Troublemakers hit the stage - they're the polar opposite of Bulletproof Convertible. Loose and messy with dirty rock and roll. Their set consisted of brilliant originals songs penned by Chris Shakes Prendergast. The fourth song in, Motorbike, is a song he's been playing for around 20 years. It gets an extended workout.

Another pinot noir raffle draw later then the liquidated three piece lurched into a demolition of Chris Issac's Wicked Game, while (Take Me) Back To The Sea had the remaining dancers swaying.

I Could Not See was a faster track with a great off beat guitar part, that most of the remaining people dancing. Pottley and Shakes swap bass and guitar for a classic surf tune, which they followed with the final track from the night, Crimson and Clover.

Throughout the night, the Troublemakers played many great tunes that they have also played at various other venues around the South Island recently.


Photos courtesy of Adam Binns Photography.

 

Releases

Shakes and the Troublemakers
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem