18 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ahjay Stelino - EP Review: Makes Me Smile

25 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Ahjay Stelino has written some fantastic songs that require to chill, find a comfy couch and listen to the way the music tells a story in each song. The is a lot of space, dynamically and instrumentally to allow for each song to breath. It is something I haven’t heard in a while. It's clear, clean and enjoyable.

The first song Are We Home Yet feels like a song a kid would be singing to themselves. It's a wonderful flashback to the times of being young again, when we didn’t know the world was what it is now. Innocence.

While short and sweet, Makes Me Smile is a soft little ditty that certainly makes me smile. My only complaint here was that at just under two minutes, I would have loved to have heard more.

Eating My Mortgage For Breakfast brings the rock in a bluesy sort of way. A complete 180 to what we had heard in the first two songs. Crack up lyrics that I can relate to, it works well with a guitar solo to boot.

Book Of Love returns back to the softer side of things and showcases Ahjay’s guitar playing again. Strings and softly tapped drums lay down the foundation for this song. Its fantastic stuff.

Finally, Happy Holidays is a song played mainly on Ukulele. It is a song that Ahjay won an award at the adult category of the NZ Ukulele Songwriting Awards. Again, a soft little song that would make you smile and be happy.

Overall, I really enjoyed the amount of depth to this EP. Lyrically, it is a joy. Such descriptive and story like lyrics that are backed up by the perfectly arranged lyrics. It is something I would enjoy listening to in my car after a terrible day to cheer me up. It is something I would listen to when I feel on top of the world and want to keep that feeling going.

Well done Ahjay. I thoroughly enjoyed this and would love to hear more.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ahjay Stelino

Ahjay Stelino is a professional songwriter, music producer and registered music therapist from Auckland, New Zealand.

He has released 3 albums to date. His latest release EP, Makes Me Smile is a singer-songwriter album that entwines his understanding of life from working as music therapist with his years a professional songwriter to create an album for the everyday person.

His EP, Wanna Be Like a Kiwi is a collection of original Kiwi kids song. His album, Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids is a collection of songs especially composed for kids with special needs based upon his years of experience in working in this field.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ahjay Stelino

Releases

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem