22 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ahjay Stelino - EP Review: Makes Me Smile

25 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Ahjay Stelino has written some fantastic songs that require to chill, find a comfy couch and listen to the way the music tells a story in each song. The is a lot of space, dynamically and instrumentally to allow for each song to breath. It is something I haven’t heard in a while. It's clear, clean and enjoyable.

The first song Are We Home Yet feels like a song a kid would be singing to themselves. It's a wonderful flashback to the times of being young again, when we didn’t know the world was what it is now. Innocence.

While short and sweet, Makes Me Smile is a soft little ditty that certainly makes me smile. My only complaint here was that at just under two minutes, I would have loved to have heard more.

Eating My Mortgage For Breakfast brings the rock in a bluesy sort of way. A complete 180 to what we had heard in the first two songs. Crack up lyrics that I can relate to, it works well with a guitar solo to boot.

Book Of Love returns back to the softer side of things and showcases Ahjay’s guitar playing again. Strings and softly tapped drums lay down the foundation for this song. Its fantastic stuff.

Finally, Happy Holidays is a song played mainly on Ukulele. It is a song that Ahjay won an award at the adult category of the NZ Ukulele Songwriting Awards. Again, a soft little song that would make you smile and be happy.

Overall, I really enjoyed the amount of depth to this EP. Lyrically, it is a joy. Such descriptive and story like lyrics that are backed up by the perfectly arranged lyrics. It is something I would enjoy listening to in my car after a terrible day to cheer me up. It is something I would listen to when I feel on top of the world and want to keep that feeling going.

Well done Ahjay. I thoroughly enjoyed this and would love to hear more.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ahjay Stelino

Ahjay Stelino is a professional songwriter, music producer and registered music therapist from Auckland, New Zealand.

He has released 3 albums to date. His latest release EP, Makes Me Smile is a singer-songwriter album that entwines his understanding of life from working as music therapist with his years a professional songwriter to create an album for the everyday person.

His EP, Wanna Be Like a Kiwi is a collection of original Kiwi kids song. His album, Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids is a collection of songs especially composed for kids with special needs based upon his years of experience in working in this field.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ahjay Stelino

Releases

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem