26 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ahjay Stelino - EP Review: Makes Me Smile

25 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Ahjay Stelino has written some fantastic songs that require to chill, find a comfy couch and listen to the way the music tells a story in each song. The is a lot of space, dynamically and instrumentally to allow for each song to breath. It is something I haven’t heard in a while. It's clear, clean and enjoyable.

The first song Are We Home Yet feels like a song a kid would be singing to themselves. It's a wonderful flashback to the times of being young again, when we didn’t know the world was what it is now. Innocence.

While short and sweet, Makes Me Smile is a soft little ditty that certainly makes me smile. My only complaint here was that at just under two minutes, I would have loved to have heard more.

Eating My Mortgage For Breakfast brings the rock in a bluesy sort of way. A complete 180 to what we had heard in the first two songs. Crack up lyrics that I can relate to, it works well with a guitar solo to boot.

Book Of Love returns back to the softer side of things and showcases Ahjay’s guitar playing again. Strings and softly tapped drums lay down the foundation for this song. Its fantastic stuff.

Finally, Happy Holidays is a song played mainly on Ukulele. It is a song that Ahjay won an award at the adult category of the NZ Ukulele Songwriting Awards. Again, a soft little song that would make you smile and be happy.

Overall, I really enjoyed the amount of depth to this EP. Lyrically, it is a joy. Such descriptive and story like lyrics that are backed up by the perfectly arranged lyrics. It is something I would enjoy listening to in my car after a terrible day to cheer me up. It is something I would listen to when I feel on top of the world and want to keep that feeling going.

Well done Ahjay. I thoroughly enjoyed this and would love to hear more.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ahjay Stelino

Ahjay Stelino is a professional songwriter, music producer and registered music therapist from Auckland, New Zealand.

He has released 3 albums to date. His latest release EP, Makes Me Smile is a singer-songwriter album that entwines his understanding of life from working as music therapist with his years a professional songwriter to create an album for the everyday person.

His EP, Wanna Be Like a Kiwi is a collection of original Kiwi kids song. His album, Music Therapy Songs for Special Kids is a collection of songs especially composed for kids with special needs based upon his years of experience in working in this field.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ahjay Stelino

Releases

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem