19 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Freaky Meat - Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019

20 May 2019 // A review by Shade

Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland.

I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.

Conveniently, Fugu went live on all digital platforms the day of the show, so there was no excuse not to check it out beforehand. I like to listen before a gig, just like you might enjoy reading a book before you see the movie, it means you get the full experience.

With Fugu, it's four tracks are akin to treating yourself to an audio book of short stories that just so happens to come with an amazingly beautiful, diverse and animated soundtrack at no extra charge.

But Freaky Meat in EP format is just one facet of this incredible beast. Like most bands, the live show is a very different experience and a great chance to explore the musical side in a way I have yet to hear captured on a recording.

In the live sphere, John McNab (guitar), Julian Pettitt (bass) and Rod Redgrave (drums) do not disappoint, this band is tight, impressive, very well-seasoned; the vibe is inspiring and addictive. If you're in a band and want some tips, these guys consistently serve up a live performance masterclass with ease.

Then add front man, Shane Hollands, painting poetic, lyrical landscapes that become the icing on the cake of the genre defying, intricately crafted musical delicacies presented by the band. Intelligent, unafraid, raw, honest, and real, yet polished and experienced; Freaky Meat explore and combine both musical and spoken word elements in quite a unique manner. You’ll discover rocky, jazzy, groovy licks that tumble into darker, intensely satisfying guitar melodies that then craftfully tumble on to the next adventure without batting an eyelid. All while providing the canvas for gruff, gritty observation and, at moments, snapshots of reality. It's just a bit clever.

If you’ve never experienced Auckland’s local live scene – good news! There is life beyond your couch, Spotify playlist, and ability to binge watch the latest TV series. All your favourite artists started where bands like Freaky Meat currently are. Hundreds of bands are working hard to produce new creative, fun experiences to enhance our lives.

But with few Auckland venues left, the time is now. Be brave. Check out the same venue on different nights without knowing what is on. Find a venue you like and make it your local. Stand up the front, ear plugs in and head bang until your neck hurts. Or stand at the back discretely nodding in time to the bits that take your fancy. Your efforts will be appreciated.

And when you find a band you like, stay loyal and support them. Invest in this joy. Buy the CD, wear the t-shirt with pride. Bands appreciate this and in return you will be rewarded – venues will thrive, bands will be inspired, nightlife entertainment restored. And you, as an audience, will have more fun in your life. Try it out. What’s the worst that could happen? The result sounds like a good deal to me.

Freaky Meat’s full discography is available now on iTunes, Apple Music, Spotify and Bandcamp. Freaky Meat would like to thank King Ketchup and the Red Light Runners for playing epic live support at the Fugu release party. Find them on Facebook and all good streaming platforms.

Posted by Superduck 19/05/2019

 

About Freaky Meat

Freaky Meat are a dynamic and innovative act who have successfully combined elements of Jazz, Funk and Rock with beat-speak styles inspired by Jack Kerouac, C. R. Avery, Gill Scot Heron and Captain Beefheart.

Their performance will capture you with mesmerizing narratives of life, travels, experiences and people with front man, premiere Auckland beat-poet Shane Hollands, drawing from his most diverse, exciting and personal adventures.

Freaky Meat are seasoned performers in Auckland's live scene, recently joining forces with the likes of Andrew Fagan and The People, Black Sand Diva and The Neo-Kalashnikovs. They have also performed live on Kiwi FM's 31 Bands in a Box, at Auckland University Orientation and featured twice at Titirangi Music Festival and Prana New Year’s Festival, Coromandel.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Freaky Meat

Releases

Delicatessen
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Latenight Kebab
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018
14 Jun 2018 // by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: 'U Say'
17 Sep 2017 // by Shade
When we think of Kiwi Hard Rock bands that have shaped our musical landscape over the past 3 decades, survived devastating real life storms, re-united us with graphic memories of the same shaky ground we’ve all stood on before, and been there since the dawn of 1980’s Kiwi Hard Rock… one name does not escape. Knightshade.
Read More...
Gig Review: Wallace @ Meow, Wellington - 11/06/17
24 Jul 2017 // by Shade
With a much deprived passion for a live music experience and pushed on by a resemblance of the gigs poster to a singer of the same genre I was at Meow on Sunday night for Wallace. Unaware of the company I'd share the night with, equally anticipating hip hop heads or those on the jazz fest circuit  (it was mainly the latter), contemplating my week if I had not gone along is an existence I know I would have been poorer for.
Read More...
Cybiont Reviews
29 Aug 2010 // by Shade
Angels & Demons2010Musical Bricolage as Metaphor“You see things; and you say, 'Why?' But I dream things that never were; and I say, 'Why not?
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem