22 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field

11 May 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.

Escape are a four-piece rock band from Auckland, who are influenced by such bands as Oasis, The Beatles, Stereophonics, and The Who. They describe themselves as being their own fun mash of hooky rocky goodness.

Escape also say their songs are about: "reminiscing good times, childhood memories, self-confidence and mental health", which are all admirable things to write about.

Their musicianship is tight and well-rehearsed, there is not a note or beat out of place. Many of the tracks on this album could be classed as being 'radio-friendly', and it is likely to garner a lot of fans for Escape.

However, this particular release just didn't grab my attention.

The Oasis influence is evidently very strong, especially in the track Nan’s For Tea; there is a definite Mancunian lilt in the singer’s voice which could make this track rather attractive to fans of such UK acts.

I believe Escape would benefit greatly by experimenting more with their lyrics. While their lyrics could invoke an audience sing-a-long, they lacked somewhat in subtlety. This was the one reoccurring issue I had throughout Take Me To The Field.

Put it this way: songs don’t have to rhyme all the time. Having some rhyming is essential to most songs, but I felt there was a bit of overkill with it on this release.

Musically it’s a little obvious, not bad per se; the musicianship is good, and the singing is in tune, but overall I thought it didn't sound well thought out, or original.

It's 3 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Escape

4 piece Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Our influences: The Beatles, Oasis, Powderfinger, The Who, etc


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Escape

Releases

Take Me To The Field
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem