20 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field

11 May 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.

Escape are a four-piece rock band from Auckland, who are influenced by such bands as Oasis, The Beatles, Stereophonics, and The Who. They describe themselves as being their own fun mash of hooky rocky goodness.

Escape also say their songs are about: "reminiscing good times, childhood memories, self-confidence and mental health", which are all admirable things to write about.

Their musicianship is tight and well-rehearsed, there is not a note or beat out of place. Many of the tracks on this album could be classed as being 'radio-friendly', and it is likely to garner a lot of fans for Escape.

However, this particular release just didn't grab my attention.

The Oasis influence is evidently very strong, especially in the track Nan’s For Tea; there is a definite Mancunian lilt in the singer’s voice which could make this track rather attractive to fans of such UK acts.

I believe Escape would benefit greatly by experimenting more with their lyrics. While their lyrics could invoke an audience sing-a-long, they lacked somewhat in subtlety. This was the one reoccurring issue I had throughout Take Me To The Field.

Put it this way: songs don’t have to rhyme all the time. Having some rhyming is essential to most songs, but I felt there was a bit of overkill with it on this release.

Musically it’s a little obvious, not bad per se; the musicianship is good, and the singing is in tune, but overall I thought it didn't sound well thought out, or original.

It's 3 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Escape

4 piece Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Our influences: The Beatles, Oasis, Powderfinger, The Who, etc


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Escape

Releases

Take Me To The Field
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019
14 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015. While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room.
Read More...
Alae - Single Review: Help You Now
10 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alae have released their new single Help You Now. It’s the first track to be issued since the release of the Henry St album last year.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Thanks for the Advice
07 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland band Repairs have dropped a blistering hot new song Thanks For The Advice. In their press the band describe Thanks For The Advice as “Power-emo-post-pop”.
Read More...
Caroline Easther and the Cinnamon Girls - Album Review: Lucky
03 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The name Caroline Easther has been in the lexicon of New Zealand’s music industry since the heady Flying Nun days when she drummed with The Chills and the Verlaines. Now after a career behind a drum kit she’s staking a place centre stage as a songwriter with her debut album Lucky.
Read More...
Album Review: Armchair Insomniacs
25 Mar 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Originally released a year ago, this is still a solid and credible album, with the band deciding to put it on 180 gram vinyl.In an age when the word ‘diverse’ is rapidly becoming overused, this is a diverse album.
Read More...
Bartells - Single Review: Mistaken
17 Mar 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland’s Sam Bartell, who plays under the name Bartells, is a contemporary singer-songwriter with a country streak as wide as the Mississippi. He’s working towards an Australisian tour next year and is dropping new tunes like leaves drop in Autumn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem