17 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field

11 May 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.

Escape are a four-piece rock band from Auckland, who are influenced by such bands as Oasis, The Beatles, Stereophonics, and The Who. They describe themselves as being their own fun mash of hooky rocky goodness.

Escape also say their songs are about: "reminiscing good times, childhood memories, self-confidence and mental health", which are all admirable things to write about.

Their musicianship is tight and well-rehearsed, there is not a note or beat out of place. Many of the tracks on this album could be classed as being 'radio-friendly', and it is likely to garner a lot of fans for Escape.

However, this particular release just didn't grab my attention.

The Oasis influence is evidently very strong, especially in the track Nan’s For Tea; there is a definite Mancunian lilt in the singer’s voice which could make this track rather attractive to fans of such UK acts.

I believe Escape would benefit greatly by experimenting more with their lyrics. While their lyrics could invoke an audience sing-a-long, they lacked somewhat in subtlety. This was the one reoccurring issue I had throughout Take Me To The Field.

Put it this way: songs don’t have to rhyme all the time. Having some rhyming is essential to most songs, but I felt there was a bit of overkill with it on this release.

Musically it’s a little obvious, not bad per se; the musicianship is good, and the singing is in tune, but overall I thought it didn't sound well thought out, or original.

It's 3 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Escape

4 piece Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Our influences: The Beatles, Oasis, Powderfinger, The Who, etc


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Escape

Releases

Take Me To The Field
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Gig Review: Tiny Ruins with Jen Cloher @ Town Hall, Port Chalmers - 14/09/2019
15 Sep 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers; an industrial port and one-time place to buy cheap real-estate, making it a hub for many a Dunedin musician. One could argue, Port Chalmers is the home of the ‘Dunedin sound’.
Read More...
David Kilgour and the Heavy Eights - Single/Video Review: Smoke You Right Out Of Here
31 Jul 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin’s David Kilgour has a music career longer than a pro basketballer’s arm. At a guess 90% of you know his backstory, so I’m not going to write it her, just google ‘David Kilgour Clean Dunedin’, and you’ll see he’s been one of the most influential songwriters to come out of Dunedin.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - EP Review: Journey To The High Road
27 Jul 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan’s Journey To The High Road EP follows an album he released a while back. It’s a great follow up, sticking with his style of writing in a country tinged way, while hinting at broadening the styles of music he’s been listening to.
Read More...
Will Saunders - EP Review: All That Has Ever Been
24 Jul 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Will Saunders’ 5-track EP All That Has Ever Been opens with Come On Down, a raucous indie pop tune, either written from the perspective of a child looking up at a balloon as it floats away, or potentially a person who sees a friend who’s constantly out of it. It’s a ripping song; guitars, drums, words and noises all chugging along at around 100 beats a minute, until the wailing guitar feedback finishes.
Read More...
Shakes and the Troublemakers - Mid-Winter Shin-Dig @ Waitati Hall, Waitati - 29/06/19
30 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waitati is a seaside village 30 minutes’ drive north of Dunedin. It’s a melting pot of alternative life-stylers, academics and a plethora of other folk.
Read More...
Hobnail - Album Review: Boots And All
29 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington band Hobnail is celebrating 25 years of making music with an album called, Boots and All. The LP spanning the band’s first quarter of a century is out this week and the band is set to tour the country in July.
Read More...
ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem