26 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field

11 May 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.

Escape are a four-piece rock band from Auckland, who are influenced by such bands as Oasis, The Beatles, Stereophonics, and The Who. They describe themselves as being their own fun mash of hooky rocky goodness.

Escape also say their songs are about: "reminiscing good times, childhood memories, self-confidence and mental health", which are all admirable things to write about.

Their musicianship is tight and well-rehearsed, there is not a note or beat out of place. Many of the tracks on this album could be classed as being 'radio-friendly', and it is likely to garner a lot of fans for Escape.

However, this particular release just didn't grab my attention.

The Oasis influence is evidently very strong, especially in the track Nan’s For Tea; there is a definite Mancunian lilt in the singer’s voice which could make this track rather attractive to fans of such UK acts.

I believe Escape would benefit greatly by experimenting more with their lyrics. While their lyrics could invoke an audience sing-a-long, they lacked somewhat in subtlety. This was the one reoccurring issue I had throughout Take Me To The Field.

Put it this way: songs don’t have to rhyme all the time. Having some rhyming is essential to most songs, but I felt there was a bit of overkill with it on this release.

Musically it’s a little obvious, not bad per se; the musicianship is good, and the singing is in tune, but overall I thought it didn't sound well thought out, or original.

It's 3 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Escape

4 piece Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Our influences: The Beatles, Oasis, Powderfinger, The Who, etc


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Escape

Releases

Take Me To The Field
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

David Sutton - Album Review: Eternal Memory
03 Jan 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dad, or maybe Granddad, rock is alive and well. Looking on Bandcamp, Eternal Memory appears to be David Sutton’s 8th release, following titles such as Upside-Down World, Binary, V, 40 and more.
Read More...
Malchicks - Single review: Head to Head
16 Dec 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland band Malchicks were ahead of their time in the early 1990's, riding the wave of sonic charged guitar driven rock and roll genre which would eventually be called ‘shoegaze’. Now around 30 years later, a collection of all of their recorded works called Everything is set to be released.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Weeping
07 Dec 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Dueling divas Iveta & Simone have dropped the single Weeping, and it’s a power ballad with production values and a sense of drama which could make Jim Steinman or a drag queen blush. If production values were shoes, this tune would be an 8“ sparkly pink platform stiletto.
Read More...
Urlwyn and Friends - Album Review: Seascape
06 Dec 2019 // by Darryl Baser
It’s always a joy to hear players with more chops than a butchery. This album features some of the finest musicianship I’ve heard in years, and is like the fillet steak of chops, at the risk of mixing my meaty metaphors.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single/Video Review: Sexy Rock
15 Nov 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Well it’s always good to have a little levity in life, and Bingo Fighter’s video and single release fits that brief to a tee. There have been some great piss-taking bands and musicians over the years, from the great Victor Borge, to ‘Weird’ Al Yankovic.
Read More...
The Crystal Project - EP Review: Love's Dark Ways
13 Nov 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The Crystal Project is a Hawkes Bay based musical collaboration blending pop, rock and folk music with a sneaky, yet well placed, cello. This four-piece released their debut EP, Love’s Dark Ways at the end of October this year, and what a superb release it is.
Read More...
EP Review: Shakes and the Troublemakers
31 Oct 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Chris ‘Shakes’ Prendergast has been around the Dunedin music scene since before spending time in the city’s punk instigators The Enemy in the late 1970's. He now fronts this combo with Pottley on bass and at times guitar, along with Red on drums.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mermaidens @ The Cook, Dunedin - 12/10/2019
14 Oct 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Soaked Oats took to the stage shortly after 9.30pm, opening with the dreamy tune Don't Chew, which flowed over the half full Captain Cook crowd like a perfect wave, with surfers taking turns dropping into its face.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem