17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field

11 May 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.

Escape are a four-piece rock band from Auckland, who are influenced by such bands as Oasis, The Beatles, Stereophonics, and The Who. They describe themselves as being their own fun mash of hooky rocky goodness.

Escape also say their songs are about: "reminiscing good times, childhood memories, self-confidence and mental health", which are all admirable things to write about.

Their musicianship is tight and well-rehearsed, there is not a note or beat out of place. Many of the tracks on this album could be classed as being 'radio-friendly', and it is likely to garner a lot of fans for Escape.

However, this particular release just didn't grab my attention.

The Oasis influence is evidently very strong, especially in the track Nan’s For Tea; there is a definite Mancunian lilt in the singer’s voice which could make this track rather attractive to fans of such UK acts.

I believe Escape would benefit greatly by experimenting more with their lyrics. While their lyrics could invoke an audience sing-a-long, they lacked somewhat in subtlety. This was the one reoccurring issue I had throughout Take Me To The Field.

Put it this way: songs don’t have to rhyme all the time. Having some rhyming is essential to most songs, but I felt there was a bit of overkill with it on this release.

Musically it’s a little obvious, not bad per se; the musicianship is good, and the singing is in tune, but overall I thought it didn't sound well thought out, or original.

It's 3 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Escape

4 piece Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Our influences: The Beatles, Oasis, Powderfinger, The Who, etc


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Escape

Releases

Take Me To The Field
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Shakes and the Troublemakers - Mid-Winter Shin-Dig @ Waitati Hall, Waitati - 29/06/19
30 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waitati is a seaside village 30 minutes’ drive north of Dunedin. It’s a melting pot of alternative life-stylers, academics and a plethora of other folk.
Read More...
Hobnail - Album Review: Boots And All
29 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington band Hobnail is celebrating 25 years of making music with an album called, Boots and All. The LP spanning the band’s first quarter of a century is out this week and the band is set to tour the country in July.
Read More...
ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Album Review: Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds
01 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Hailing from the late 1980's, Hallelujah Picassos have a bunch of history, having released a mini album on cassette in 1989. Fast forward to 2019 the band’s 5th album Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds follows reissues in 2011/2012, which saw Hallelujah Picassos returned to the live scene, playing a handful of shows with the likes of The Drab Doo Riffs and Labretta Suede and the Motel Six.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019
14 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015. While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem