4 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field

11 May 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.

Escape are a four-piece rock band from Auckland, who are influenced by such bands as Oasis, The Beatles, Stereophonics, and The Who. They describe themselves as being their own fun mash of hooky rocky goodness.

Escape also say their songs are about: "reminiscing good times, childhood memories, self-confidence and mental health", which are all admirable things to write about.

Their musicianship is tight and well-rehearsed, there is not a note or beat out of place. Many of the tracks on this album could be classed as being 'radio-friendly', and it is likely to garner a lot of fans for Escape.

However, this particular release just didn't grab my attention.

The Oasis influence is evidently very strong, especially in the track Nan’s For Tea; there is a definite Mancunian lilt in the singer’s voice which could make this track rather attractive to fans of such UK acts.

I believe Escape would benefit greatly by experimenting more with their lyrics. While their lyrics could invoke an audience sing-a-long, they lacked somewhat in subtlety. This was the one reoccurring issue I had throughout Take Me To The Field.

Put it this way: songs don’t have to rhyme all the time. Having some rhyming is essential to most songs, but I felt there was a bit of overkill with it on this release.

Musically it’s a little obvious, not bad per se; the musicianship is good, and the singing is in tune, but overall I thought it didn't sound well thought out, or original.

It's 3 stars from me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Escape

4 piece Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Our influences: The Beatles, Oasis, Powderfinger, The Who, etc


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Escape

Releases

Take Me To The Field
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Mojo Crow - EP Review: The Badlands
15 Jun 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland’s Mojo Crow have been around since 2012 in one form or another, and have just released their brand new EP, The Badlands. Right from the start of the opening track, High Plains Drifter, Mojo Crew’s up tempo country sound is to the fore.
Read More...
The Roulettes - EP Review: Rocket To You
29 May 2020 // by Darryl Baser
The Rocket To You EP is dedicated to Dunedin musician Andrew Brough (Straitjacket Fits, Bike) who passed away at his Dunedin home in February this year. Two members of this three-piece have close ties with Andrew Brough, Justin McLean is Andrew’s stepbrother, and Ben Grant was (along with Justin) played in the band Funhouse, for whom Andrew was a mentor.
Read More...
MEDaL - Album Review: Replica
25 May 2020 // by Darryl Baser
When it comes to bands having quality pedigree, Lyttelton based MEDaL are the equivalent of a top quality show cat. Dave Mulcahy (JPSE, Superette), with Mark Whyte and John Billows who have been in bands like Into The Void and The Renderers, among others.
Read More...
Superturtle - Single review: WTFRU
21 May 2020 // by Darryl Baser
WTFRU, or, Who The Fuck Are You is the new single by Superturtle. It’s not often that the scant information in a release about a band’s single is so spot on.
Read More...
Tim Allen - Album Review: The Last Bastion of A Lad
10 May 2020 // by Darryl Baser
‘Lad’ culture has its roots in Northern England, just like recently transplanted musician Tim Allen. The Last Bastion of A Lad is the sophomore album from now New Zealand resident Tim Allen, and he’s got some high-calibre Kiwi musicians on board.
Read More...
Vox Venus - EP Review: Rise & Shine
20 Apr 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Rise & Shine is from the first phase of Vox Venus.The four song EP was recorded with Heather Bolton 's brother Geoff 'Paddy' Bolton on drums.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Don’t Take Me Back
19 Apr 2020 // by Darryl Baser
LA Thompson is a seasoned campaigner, with a solid history in the music industry and her newest single Don’t Take Me Back is another well-crafted song, which has been recorded and produced suitably. Her voice sits on top of a lush but sparse mix of rhythm and melodic guitars, electronic drums and subtle bass, and her vocal line begins after a couple of bars.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Taking A Chance
22 Mar 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Taking a Chance is the third single from Tony Lee's upcoming new album Man on Mars. Lyrically the song is about getting out and making the most of things and taking necessary risks to get ahead.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem