7 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Repairs - Single Review: Thanks for the Advice

07 Apr 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Auckland band Repairs have dropped a blistering hot new song Thanks For The Advice. In their press the band describe Thanks For The Advice as “Power-emo-post-pop”.

From the brief wail of guitar feed back to the tight cadence after a mere 1:40 this song delivers a quick slap to the cheek, in speed, tune and lyrics.

The band’s sound is unashamedly post pop punk; tuneful yet visceral.

Repairs formed when members of God Bows To Math and Lost Rockets came together following our previous bands’ respective ends. Band members are simply identified as James on drums, Nic on bass and Marty on guitar.

Nic sings Thanks For The Advice from a woman’s perspective, after hearing what I can only guess was a bout of epic mansplaining. It’s kind of a ‘thanks but get fucked’ lyric and vibe.

It’s a great song which is already garnering good media attention and student radio airplay, and quite deservedly so. A little research shows they played in Dunedin, but to my great disappointment I didn’t see them. Y’all wanna hurry back down soon?

Damn fine song, and I’m guessing there’s a few more in the arsenal.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Repairs

"We play high-tempo, loud, emotional music together for fun. We are a band, but first and foremost we are friends. We are also three people, but only two of us are married to each other. We all used to perform variations of pitch, tone and rhythm with other people under different names – some too embarrassing to mention, and some that aren’t – but in the interest of fairness, we won’t mention any of them here. We are situated in a city called Auckland, which is itself situated in a country called New Zealand. This informs the music we make, but nationalism is still stupid. One of the band is Scottish, of which she is very proud in spite of the previous sentence. Our contradictions define us.

We love playing live shows and are lucky to have played lots of gigs with many good friends. Recordings are less numerous, with a handful of singles to date, but 2020 will see a marked increase in the lead up to our debut album."


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Repairs

Releases

Repeat, Repeat
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Repairs / FADOHT
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Repairs! The Band!
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

MEDaL - Album Review: Sequela
14 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Christchurch trio MEDaL are a combination of many years of New Zealand musical history. Singer and guitar slinger David Mulcahy was in JPSE and Superette, bass player John Billows has spent time with The Renderers and Dark Matter and drummer Mark Whyte is part of Into The Void.
Read More...
The Bobby Holidays - Album Review: At The Beach
13 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The Bobby Holidays' At The Beach opens with the song Jane, syncopation is to the fore with a great horn section blowing against bass, drums and guitar. The song has an up tempo happy summer vibe.
Read More...
Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem