27 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Repairs - Single Review: Thanks for the Advice

07 Apr 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Auckland band Repairs have dropped a blistering hot new song Thanks For The Advice. In their press the band describe Thanks For The Advice as “Power-emo-post-pop”.

From the brief wail of guitar feed back to the tight cadence after a mere 1:40 this song delivers a quick slap to the cheek, in speed, tune and lyrics.

The band’s sound is unashamedly post pop punk; tuneful yet visceral.

Repairs formed when members of God Bows To Math and Lost Rockets came together following our previous bands’ respective ends. Band members are simply identified as James on drums, Nic on bass and Marty on guitar.

Nic sings Thanks For The Advice from a woman’s perspective, after hearing what I can only guess was a bout of epic mansplaining. It’s kind of a ‘thanks but get fucked’ lyric and vibe.

It’s a great song which is already garnering good media attention and student radio airplay, and quite deservedly so. A little research shows they played in Dunedin, but to my great disappointment I didn’t see them. Y’all wanna hurry back down soon?

Damn fine song, and I’m guessing there’s a few more in the arsenal.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Repairs

"We play high-tempo, loud, emotional music together for fun. We are a band, but first and foremost we are friends. We are also three people, but only two of us are married to each other. We all used to perform variations of pitch, tone and rhythm with other people under different names – some too embarrassing to mention, and some that aren’t – but in the interest of fairness, we won’t mention any of them here. We are situated in a city called Auckland, which is itself situated in a country called New Zealand. This informs the music we make, but nationalism is still stupid. One of the band is Scottish, of which she is very proud in spite of the previous sentence. Our contradictions define us.

We love playing live shows and are lucky to have played lots of gigs with many good friends. Recordings are less numerous, with a handful of singles to date, but 2020 will see a marked increase in the lead up to our debut album."


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Repairs

Releases

Repeat, Repeat
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Repairs / FADOHT
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Repairs! The Band!
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
This Little Badge - Single Review: Think of A Number
01 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Think of A Number is the first of a series of seven singles being released by This Little Badge, a project led by Dave Pope. This song is an upbeat little number, based around the house lyrical phrase "think of a number", with the title line being repeated for the chorus.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: X
11 Mar 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington based songwriter David Sutton has been regularly releasing albums of his original songs for a good few years now. This year he’s changed tack a bit and released a covers album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem