25 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Undercut - Single Review: Luckily

27 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.

The three members of Undercut have a history and formed this band back in 2015. I had a listen to the earlier releases as I hadn't seen them gig and in my opinion new single Luckily has taken their music to another level.

The guitar work is punchy the vocals are just right sitting in the mix laced with a distorted effect and song races by with an energy that is kind of like that pre-night out, pre-gig buzz you get before you finally tip the balance and get too drunk to remember what happened. It is powerful, exciting but also controlled and focused. It kind of reminds me of 90's Alt/industrial almost legends Filter.

The pace of the track is steady but crank the volume and the beat is pushing along riff after building riff. It is catchy as well but Luckily avoids any cliched sing along chorus or over the top, "look at me", lead breaks or solos.

Undercut know when less is more and also know how to craft a song that is just the right side of rock and left-field side of indie. It will be interesting to see where they go from here and if new songs are going to continue in a similar vein. I hope so.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Undercut

Undercut is newly formed from experienced Auckland music scene musicians, Mike Crowhen, John Hancock and Dave Crowhen who have between them performed with 12 bands. Reforming after a twenty year hiatus, this experience shines through in their live performances and on their recently released E.P.

Undercut builds on their 90's collaboration - an industrial band called Seat Bee Sate, with a new sound harking back to their grunge, indie, rock and metal roots. Undercut's style as a band is raw, punchy and lyrical, tackling real-life dilemmas.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Undercut

Releases

Luckily
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Blue Nurse
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Take The Wheel
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem