29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Undercut - Single Review: Luckily

27 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.

The three members of Undercut have a history and formed this band back in 2015. I had a listen to the earlier releases as I hadn't seen them gig and in my opinion new single Luckily has taken their music to another level.

The guitar work is punchy the vocals are just right sitting in the mix laced with a distorted effect and song races by with an energy that is kind of like that pre-night out, pre-gig buzz you get before you finally tip the balance and get too drunk to remember what happened. It is powerful, exciting but also controlled and focused. It kind of reminds me of 90's Alt/industrial almost legends Filter.

The pace of the track is steady but crank the volume and the beat is pushing along riff after building riff. It is catchy as well but Luckily avoids any cliched sing along chorus or over the top, "look at me", lead breaks or solos.

Undercut know when less is more and also know how to craft a song that is just the right side of rock and left-field side of indie. It will be interesting to see where they go from here and if new songs are going to continue in a similar vein. I hope so.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Undercut

Undercut is newly formed from experienced Auckland music scene musicians, Mike Crowhen, John Hancock and Dave Crowhen who have between them performed with 12 bands. Reforming after a twenty year hiatus, this experience shines through in their live performances and on their recently released E.P.

Undercut builds on their 90's collaboration - an industrial band called Seat Bee Sate, with a new sound harking back to their grunge, indie, rock and metal roots. Undercut's style as a band is raw, punchy and lyrical, tackling real-life dilemmas.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Undercut

Releases

Luckily
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Blue Nurse
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Take The Wheel
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem