13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Undercut - Single Review: Luckily

27 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.

The three members of Undercut have a history and formed this band back in 2015. I had a listen to the earlier releases as I hadn't seen them gig and in my opinion new single Luckily has taken their music to another level.

The guitar work is punchy the vocals are just right sitting in the mix laced with a distorted effect and song races by with an energy that is kind of like that pre-night out, pre-gig buzz you get before you finally tip the balance and get too drunk to remember what happened. It is powerful, exciting but also controlled and focused. It kind of reminds me of 90's Alt/industrial almost legends Filter.

The pace of the track is steady but crank the volume and the beat is pushing along riff after building riff. It is catchy as well but Luckily avoids any cliched sing along chorus or over the top, "look at me", lead breaks or solos.

Undercut know when less is more and also know how to craft a song that is just the right side of rock and left-field side of indie. It will be interesting to see where they go from here and if new songs are going to continue in a similar vein. I hope so.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Undercut

Undercut is newly formed from experienced Auckland music scene musicians, Mike Crowhen, John Hancock and Dave Crowhen who have between them performed with 12 bands. Reforming after a twenty year hiatus, this experience shines through in their live performances and on their recently released E.P.

Undercut builds on their 90's collaboration - an industrial band called Seat Bee Sate, with a new sound harking back to their grunge, indie, rock and metal roots. Undercut's style as a band is raw, punchy and lyrical, tackling real-life dilemmas.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Undercut

Releases

Luckily
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Blue Nurse
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Take The Wheel
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem