25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean

27 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.

Some great live shows with a mixture of bands has expanded their influences and one of the most exciting aspects of She Loves You is you can expect the unexpected. Their new single Dirty Orlean is a sassy, rockabilly tinged affair with one of the best intro's I have heard in a long time. It is simple and effective as the guitars stab in over a rocking drum beat and immediately you are swept up in this song that is almost too hot to handle.

It is primal as the song twists and turns and I challenge anyone to stand still while listening. Dirty Orlean is an instant mood changer and one of those songs where everything is close to perfection. All the musical elements are combined in a way that no one thing stands out above the rest. Sure, the vocals are amazing but so is the drumming, the guitars, the songwriting. There is so much going on. Blues melds into that rockabilly beat all pushed along with an indie rock sensibility Dirty Orlean knows when push and when to hold back it knows when to tease and when to explode.

It is all over too soon and leaves you wanting more.

She Loves You have done it again. They are constantly evolving, pushing the boundaries but where they have an advantage is they know how to write great songs like this. Simple, effective songs that make you feel something. They are getting better all the time and Dirty Orlean is a classic which, if it gets played too much, could be the cause of a small population boom in NZ.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About She Loves You

The Alt Rock mind child spawned out of the loins that are 2am screamers, late night wine-o's, drunken demos, Thai take out, and a deep appreciation for that questionable but lovable 2008 emo phase and you get the eclectic sound of these SLY babes.

She Loves You hail from New Zealand. A fast-talking all-action girl group that are changing everything you think you know about females playing rock & roll.

Inspired by late nights, wine, and a mutual love for the Arctic Monkeys, this electrical storm came together in early 2014 when founding members Madeline Berry, Jessie Booth and previous members, Tash Easey and Anna Loveys wanted to create a loud avenue of musical exploration and madness.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for She Loves You

Releases

There are no releases to display for She Loves You.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem