18 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?

02 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal. So this new track by Wellington based A.U.R.A aka Albert Mikolaj was a leap of faith for me and one I am glad I took. This is a truly stunning piece of work.

The artistry and imagery all perfectly collide. It is both simple and complex, pure, hopeful and reflective. That all these feelings are stirred in me in just over 3 mins is an experience. Apparently the subject matter was inspired by all the random advertising that surrounds us 24/7 and hence asks the question Who Decides?

Albert's intricate guitar work, mixes with cello from Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots) as the vocals float throughout. The balance is perfect. This is timeless music.

The accompanying video was shot in an abandoned hotel in Buenos Aires and at first I thought the music had just been added to some old footage. It was actually recently filmed by Argentine musician Nicolas Quiroga on an 80's camera giving it a grainy retro effect that again sits perfectly with the song.

The imagery just like the music pulls you in even though not much is happening, A guy strumming a guitar smiling for the camera, cigarette dangling from the corner of his mouth as a couple of girls wade in a paddling pool. I can't put my finger on why, but it is the perfect complement to this song.

Albert Mikolaj aka A.U.R.A is someone you may not have heard of, but he is someone you need to see and hear. I think he is one of the most talented musicians I have heard in a long time and with this release has created a stunning piece of art. Take a look and listen then you decide.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About A.U.R.A

A.U.R.A is the solo project of New Zealand born singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Albert Miko?aj. G.I Wonder the first single from A.U.R.A’s upcoming work Secret Intelligent Light, which was premiered by Impose Magazine on March 8th. G.I Wonder was since featured on Apple Music's New Alternative releases as well as the Best of the Week playlist for Apple Music Japan. Produced by Ben Lemi of TrinityRoots and French for Rabbits, Secret Intelligent Light is due for release via his Los Angeles based record label Cosmic Dreamer in 2018.

"Mikolaj’s vocal patterns are out of this world, as they are highly memorable in the first thirty seconds of the song. G.I. Wonder is enthralling because we can’t hear a continuous genre being played, it’s like a huge mix up of world and pop music with hints of indie rock with a bit of folk, which we think is unique. G.I. Wonder will leave you breathless." - Impose Magazine

"One of New Zealand's greatest hidden talents..." - Grayson Gilmour

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for A.U.R.A

Releases

Secret Intelligent Light
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem