16 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Ruegg - EP Review: The Journey

13 Jan 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Wow, where did this beauty come from?

Just 66 likes on Ben Ruegg’s Facebook page and little all else to go on. Also, a clichéd title like The Journey using the image of an open road meant I wasn’t expecting much.

30 seconds into opening track The Start and I am clicking on the download button on Spotify

It sounds like early 30 Seconds to Mars and Ben has a brilliant voice. I don’t know who else is playing on here or if Ben is another Dave Grohl and played everything himself, but this is exceptional.

The next track The Dream is a trippy blast, the kind that made a career for Filter in the Noughties. It soars and drives while the vocals sandblast the canvas laid smooth by the chugging guitars.

The Angel is a heart on the sleeve anti-ballad that places the lyrics at the forefront.

Ben knows how to craft a song. Seriously if you have read this far, you need to check him out.

Huge choruses, a delivery that avoids bullshit and screams honesty and even though I generally hate guitar solos, they are nailed perfectly. The Angel is going to be a favourite when played live.

Finally at the end of The Journey EP (if Ben can do clichés this well, I will join him) we have The End (told ya).

This is a mid-paced sing-along that would make Shihad proud.

Honestly, I wrote this review from mid-way through the opening track - spilling my thoughts as I was listening. It took 10 minutes. It was exhilarating. A blast. I didn't have to think about it. I felt it. That is rare.

Ben Ruegg who are you? Where did you come from and how the hell has your profile page only got 65 likes?

Get on this people. Ben Ruegg needs to be everywhere. Honestly, what a blast! You should like his Facebook Page.

No apologies for a short review. Enough said. Listen to this EP and you will understand.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Ruegg

My name is Ben Ruegg. I have been writing and performing since I was around 8. My love for music is endless. I don't say I like just one style of music because all music is different and reflects an artists current state of mind. That is exactly what my music does.
I love to tap into my inner self and reveal things I even keep secret from myself.

I hope you enjoy the passion as much I enjoy getting it to come out and end up in the recording and songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Ruegg

Releases

If I Had A DeLorean
Year: 2019
Type: EP
The Road - Remastered
Year: 2019
Type: Album
The Journey
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem