27 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Gravel Pit - EP Review: Gravel Pit

03 Jan 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard
Speed...... the faster you go, the harder the hit. The faster you go, the more energy it creates. Without speed life would be pretty dull.

Gravel Pit know all about speed. They don’t slowly build up to it they just explode from the get go and stay there. The four songs on this debut EP are like the aural equivalent of being hit in the face by a flurry of punches from Conor McGregor

"Anger is an energy" and there is plenty of anger and attitude in the vocals from Bailey. Her voice is the perfect fuel to keep this blast of hardcore punk ‘n’ roll burning. The music is brutal with a relentless thrashing of drums and guitars. The four tracks are over in a 9 minute blur of high energy. It is a vitriolic release of emotions.

After one listen I decided to dust myself off and go for round 2. The volume was upped a few notches and that's where the magic happened. When you dig a little deeper into the pit you find layers, depth and even melody. There is something about Gravel Pit that I can't quite put my finger on. They have huge potential and as this is a debut EP there are parts that don't quite gel. One example is the guitar break on The Horn. Maybe I am being picky (excuse the pun) but it just doesn't work for me. Of course a Slash-esque bit of guitar wankery would sound completely out of place on a song like this but the guitar break here veers too far in the opposite direction and comes across as trying too hard not to be a guitar solo.

It would be lazy to label Gravel Pit as just another Hardcore Punk band. Get past the initial adrenaline rush and you will feel something else. There is no sing along anthem on here but snippets of lyrics will creep up on you slowly underneath the jet blast sonics. A middle finger seems to be stuck firmly in the air on all these tracks but there is more to Gravel Pit. A hint that they could go off in any direction. Whilst that doesn't happen during this EP, should they choose to, they could develop into something special, even let the throttle off from time to time without losing any of the excitement or buzz.

Overall, Gravel Pit are a shot in the arm and something we need especially in the tight knit scenes we tend to create and destroy in cities like Wellington and Auckland.

Love it or hate it (I love it) this EP shows that Gravel Pit have what it takes to create something new in a genre that is often dismissed as being very one dimensional. Whilst I do love this EP I am more excited about the potential that lies underneath that raw, rough edge.

You should buy this EP and hopefully Gravel Pit will aim to get one step ahead of the pack, stay true to their core and look back as others follow.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Gravel Pit

Gravel Pit is a 4 piece hardcore punk rock band from Wellington, featuring Bailey Palmer (vocals), Dave Hampton (guitar), Matt Mason (bass) and Jason Gascoigne (drums). The band draws on a range of influences from Punk, Hardcore and Thrash Metal to form the foundation of their sound.

Members of Gravel Pit have played in a range of previous New Zealand bands, including Brubeck, Razorwyre, Basura Blanca, Still Nothing and Strangers.

Having honed their sound over a lengthy incubation period, the band recorded their self-titled debut 4 song EP with Vanya Vitali in August/September of 2018 and have since launched themselves in the live space.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gravel Pit

Releases

Gravel Pit
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem