19 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Wendyhouse - Album Review: Banana Wine

22 Dec 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

It’s not often you put on an album and there’s no two songs which sound the same, but that is especially true for Wendyhouse’s Banana Wine CD.

The 24-track album opens with a brief but wonderful song Lucky. The song is an acoustic guitar driven particularly bent folk ditty. I write ditty as it is one of many songs on the LP which is long enough to be a song, but at around two minutes it’s never going to bore a listener.

Track two, Reason to Live, is based around a piano riff which carries the song along, hooking the listener in.

As well as a diverse and charming sound, Wendyhouse are also known for quirky and at time irreverent words. Who can forget Suit Suit Kill Kill, or a student radio favourite of the early 1990’s We’re All Going To Die A Horrible Fucking Death.

Track 3, Friends, and the music is different yet again, organ or synth driven, then the fourth song Mogodon Blues, has a reggae vibe about with off-beat keyboard chords playing against the rhythm.

As I wrote earlier there isn’t a cohesive sound tying this LP together, and that is kind of its charm. Sure, there’s the same two voices on the songs, namely, EE Monk and Mr Pudding.

On Banana Wine’s 24 songs there are fuzzed our guitar tunes, synth-based numbers, 70’s and 80’s drum machines, early synths, pianos, organs, and more. Although I don’t think I heard a kitchen sink.

There are full length songs and song sketches. One example is track 16 Fuck, which has a ‘fuck the man’ chorus in its very short length

At times it kind of reminds me of a Tall Dwarfs LP, but it’s even more left of centre than that.

It is a wonderfully charming LP, and the fanzine which houses the CD is an A5 photocopied magazine with lyrics and or cartoons to illustrate of otherwise explain the tunes.

Wendyhouse’s Banana Wine is one of my favourite releases of 2018. It will be one of my soundtracks of the summer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Wendyhouse

Wendyhouse formed in 1992 as a one-off art installation for Soundwatch '92, Artspace, Auckland.

Twenty-six years later and the band is still going. Existing around core members Bryce 'Mr Pudding' Galloway and EE Monk, Wendyhouse have often added personnel to flesh out recordings and live appearances.

Wendyhouse make sporadic appearances live or on recent CD/Comics. The most recent project by the duo is Banana Wine; a CD/Comic released in conjunction with the Audio Foundation and funded by Massey University's College of Creative Arts. The official launch for Banana Wine @ The Audio Foundation December 19, with Wendyhouse in residence to write and record NEW material. Banana Wine is available for NZ$10 + postage by emailing a.b.galloway@massey.ac.nz or posting PO Box 27527, Wellington 6141, NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Wendyhouse

Releases

Banana Wine
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Wendyhouse Christmas Album
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Pan
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Utopia Metopia
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Live From The Pillow
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Hot Action Plastic
Year: 1994
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Bartells - Single Review: Mistaken
17 Mar 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland’s Sam Bartell, who plays under the name Bartells, is a contemporary singer-songwriter with a country streak as wide as the Mississippi. He’s working towards an Australisian tour next year and is dropping new tunes like leaves drop in Autumn.
Read More...
Rob Joass - Album Review: Pencarrow
28 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Pencarrow is the third album released by musician Rob Joass, who calls the Kapiti Coast home, or Turangawaiwai, if you will. With more than 25 years as a musician under his belt he’s no stranger to writing, playing and recording music to a high standard.
Read More...
Seafog - Album Review: Animal Lovers
27 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band Seafog have been together through the mists of time in one way, shape, form or another for many years with singer and guitarist Robin Sharma. Animal Lovers is the third album from Seafog and was released by Zelle Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Abby Wolfe @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 23/02/2019
24 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Abby Wolfe, along with her drummer and keyboardist took to the stage about 10.30pm.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ciaran McMeeken & Dan Sharp @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 16/02/2019
17 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a disclaimer, I knew absolutely nothing about neither Ciaran McMeeken nor Dan Sharp prior to the gig, so I arranged my +1 to be Dunedin songwriter Bronwyn Halley. She’s in the same generational band as Ciaran, and as it turned out, was a very knowledgeable accomplice.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Cloudwatcher’s Soul
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The debut album from brothers Matthew & Ben Furniss, is a concept album with a single loosely themed narrative of the kidnapping of the muse 'Cloudwatcher' and the eventual reuniting with the central character. The melody and lyrics manage to tie the theme together quite well.
Read More...
Little Dove - EP Review Buried in the Backyard
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Not particularly loquacious, and certainly not overly verbose, are probably the best ways to describe the web pages of an Auckland 17-year-old woman who’s recording music as Little Dove. Her Bandcamp page says “This EP is a collection of music made, entirely and messily in my little sleep out, by myself.
Read More...
Tiny Ruins - Album Review: Olympic Girls
15 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a proud owner of the Tiny Ruins mini LP Hurtling Through, which was recorded with Hamish Kilgour (The Clean, The Great Unwashed etc) my anticipation levels for this LP were high. Not quite Johnny Cash eating cake in a bush high, but pretty up there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem