4 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Bartells - Single/Video Review: Extraordinary Girl

06 Dec 2018 // A review by darryl baser

There’s something pretty cool about the whole DIY ethic, from the early Flying Nun years, and now with many artists producing their own material.

Sam Bartells, who creates music under his last name, has just released the single Extraordinary Girl with an accompanying self-filmed video.

Like all good videos it tells a story which is congruent with the song’s lyrics, and it becomes rapidly apparent that the song is a father singing to a daughter.

In a media release he says: “Extraordinary Girl is a song about any special girl in your life that brightens things up. I really wrote it for my girls and my youngest daughter who was a big part of my early sobriety and gave me hope in despairing time. It’s my way of saying thank you to them.”

Throughout the song, and video the love he has for his youngsters is obvious.

Lyrically it is refreshingly obvious, but not in the slightest bit trite, dull, or preachy. It captures a feeling at the time. Kind of a Not Given Lightly (Chris Knox) for a new generation.

Bartells' composition is pop songwriter gold, structured well, and it flows well, weaving its melodic and lyrical journey for a radio compatible three minutes and features a great balance of instruments which are mixed well. This is a potential career-making song.

The video opens up with him holding a selfie stick filming himself while skating, then there’s shots of him through long grass, it’s quite artistic, but without being pretentious in any way.

The video is interspersed with images of his daughter and either other family members or friends. It really is a proud dad moment turned into a song, where the musician is grateful for the positive changes brought about by having children.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Let's Go
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By darryl baser

MEDaL - Album Review: Sequela
14 Dec 2022 // by darryl baser
Christchurch trio MEDaL are a combination of many years of New Zealand musical history. Singer and guitar slinger David Mulcahy was in JPSE and Superette, bass player John Billows has spent time with The Renderers and Dark Matter and drummer Mark Whyte is part of Into The Void.
Read More...
The Bobby Holidays - Album Review: At The Beach
13 Dec 2022 // by darryl baser
The Bobby Holidays' At The Beach opens with the song Jane, syncopation is to the fore with a great horn section blowing against bass, drums and guitar. The song has an up tempo happy summer vibe.
Read More...
Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by darryl baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by darryl baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by darryl baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by darryl baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by darryl baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by darryl baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
View All Articles By darryl baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem