14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fables - EP Review: Portraits

11 Sep 2018 // A review by hailtree

Fables latest release Portraits is absolutely stunning – for a release that was originally meant to be a 4 song EP recorded at Wine Cellar, adding the extra 3 songs may have been a risk in quantity over quality. However, this release definitely doesn’t disappoint.

Jess Bailey is still adamant that this is an EP though – referring to it as an ‘Experimental Project’ rather than an album – and experimental it is, with the line-up of musicians contributing to the release including James Geluk on Double Bass, Laurence Diack on Cello and Backing Vocals, Peter Guidera on Drums, Cameron Burnell on Electric Guitar (and Mandolin!), Chris Dent on Electric Guitar and Backing Vocals, Pearl Hindley on the Violin, Finn McLennan-Elliott on Clarinet, and Victoria Vigenser and Bianca Bailey helping out with more Backing Vocals.

The album starts as it means to go on, with clever lyrics such as ‘here’s to all the fools in bars, standing outside sucking in tar’ – the entire album has the feel of a live show, even down to the way that it has been mixed. It’s reminiscent of a high-quality live session, and this contrasts beautifully with how continuously playful yet relatable the lyrics are – one that made me chuckle a little was ‘symmetry won’t come easy to me, I’ve got liquid eyeliner in my eye.’

Portraits is a beautiful release, and available to stream online now – or download via Bandcamp.

You can also catch Fables on their upcoming tour – there’s 16 dates all over both islands, including two of the infamous Interislander gigs.


Review written by Amanda Hailwood

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fables

Fables, a musical ensemble from the outskirts of Auckland. Fronted by Jess Bailey and accompanied by a cast of many talents. Fables produce a gentle and heartfelt indie-folk sound which could warm even the coldest of hearts.

The small ensemble has shared the stage with modern folk notables Great North, The Remarkables, Chris Priestley and Nadia Reid, with performances at the home of Auckland folk, The Bunker.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fables

Releases

Portraits
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By hailtree

Julia Deans @ Tuning Fork, Auckland
03 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a quiet Saturday evening down in Auckland, and I’m a little worried I’ve come to the wrong venue – as there isn’t a single soul outside. I make my way up to the door and am greeted by a couple of friendly security guards, who quickly usher me in as the show is about to start.
Read More...
Lookin Up - Single Review: Enough
15 Aug 2018 // by hailtree
I want to be / Everything and more… / … But I forget / I was raised by a world that didn’t care Fast paced, self-aware, yet self-absorbed, but most of all - hella catchy. Lookin Up’s first release in 4 years hit the internet just over a month ago - after taking a hiatus for a few years, the band is back with a whole new sound, and a whole lot of drive to get things done.
Read More...
The Adults - Album Review: Haja
30 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Okay first up. This album will make you want to dance, and I don’t even like dancing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Galatos, Auckland - 27/07/2018
29 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night and every nook and doorway of Galatos Street is packed with kids hiding away smoking ciggies and drinking wine straight out of the bottle. I wonder how many of them came down with intentions of getting door sales – as Soaked Oats had announced during the day that they would have 20 available on the night – but by the time we get there, just eight minutes after the doors had opened, they’d already sold out.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Āio
27 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Āioʻ - ʻto be at Peaceʻ. Āio is what we strive for in our own minds, Āio is what nature is calling for and Āio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 13/07/2018
16 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night, and as I climb up the dark stairwell to the gig room at Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland, I can hear the first band Downfall of Humanity already playing – honestly since when did bands get this organised? I swear a few years ago a show that opened its doors at 8 wouldn’t ever start until after 9.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: Untitled
13 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Churlington are a band that were formed out of a desire to create a band with as minimal effort as possible. They pride themselves on this and used it proudly in their video to advertise their latest EP - which funnily enough, doesn’t even have a name.
Read More...
New Age Leper - Single Review: The Tragic Tale of a Self Obsessed Man
08 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
New Age Leper's latest single is a little bit of ode to anyone who thinks a little differently. To me, it expresses perfectly that selfish cycle of believing that you've got the answers, and so everyone should believe what you believe...
Read More...
View All Articles By hailtree

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem