4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fables - EP Review: Portraits

11 Sep 2018 // A review by Shade

Fables latest release Portraits is absolutely stunning – for a release that was originally meant to be a 4 song EP recorded at Wine Cellar, adding the extra 3 songs may have been a risk in quantity over quality. However, this release definitely doesn’t disappoint.

Jess Bailey is still adamant that this is an EP though – referring to it as an ‘Experimental Project’ rather than an album – and experimental it is, with the line-up of musicians contributing to the release including James Geluk on Double Bass, Laurence Diack on Cello and Backing Vocals, Peter Guidera on Drums, Cameron Burnell on Electric Guitar (and Mandolin!), Chris Dent on Electric Guitar and Backing Vocals, Pearl Hindley on the Violin, Finn McLennan-Elliott on Clarinet, and Victoria Vigenser and Bianca Bailey helping out with more Backing Vocals.

The album starts as it means to go on, with clever lyrics such as ‘here’s to all the fools in bars, standing outside sucking in tar’ – the entire album has the feel of a live show, even down to the way that it has been mixed. It’s reminiscent of a high-quality live session, and this contrasts beautifully with how continuously playful yet relatable the lyrics are – one that made me chuckle a little was ‘symmetry won’t come easy to me, I’ve got liquid eyeliner in my eye.’

Portraits is a beautiful release, and available to stream online now – or download via Bandcamp.

You can also catch Fables on their upcoming tour – there’s 16 dates all over both islands, including two of the infamous Interislander gigs.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fables

Fables, a musical ensemble from the outskirts of Auckland. Fronted by Jess Bailey and accompanied by a cast of many talents. Fables produce a gentle and heartfelt indie-folk sound which could warm even the coldest of hearts.

The small ensemble has shared the stage with modern folk notables Great North, The Remarkables, Chris Priestley and Nadia Reid, with performances at the home of Auckland folk, The Bunker.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fables

Releases

Portraits
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem