12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Huia - EP Review: Āio

27 Jul 2018 // A review by hailtree

Āioʻ - ʻto be at Peaceʻ.

Āio is what we strive for in our own minds,

Āio is what nature is calling for and

Āio is what the world needs

Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi. I personally hate this, and really wish that we were taught Te Reo as a compulsory subject in school in order to preserve our countries native language.

However, this isn't a piece about me, and where I think our country could do better, instead this is a piece written for Huia, an Auckland artist, who's EP Āio has just dropped. A quick glance over Huia's artist page on Facebook makes me smile, as she lists her genre as 'World Fusion/Soul/Reggae/Acoustic/Conscious' - her band interests include 'Happiness' - and her influences are 'You... the world and beyond.'

Āio itself is an absolute breath of fresh air in today's music scene - a scene that (although I love) is often inundated with songs about getting lit, and having your heart broken - instead Huia leans more towards a perfect little blend of taking care of your inner self, and also of the natural world that we are surrounded by.

Described as 'electro-haka' - her sound is reminiscent of traditional Māori songs, but also borrows influences from several other genres. It conjures up such a beautiful peaceful feeling, that reminds me of the peace I feel wandering throughout our native land. So, I downloaded the EP to my phone, and went for a wander through the trees with my earbuds in - and whoa, that certainly taught me Āio.

Huia's beautiful little interpretation of the world around her is deeply moving, inspirational, and a reminder to look after the earth we are given - all strong values of the Māori, and all strong values that we should remember in our day to day lives. I encourage you all to give it a little listen.


Review written by Amanda Hailwood
 

About Huia

With electronic beats, organic percussion, live guitars and deep harmonies, Huia has an easy sound with conscious lyrical content. From ambient te reo Māori through to Drum and Bass, her music is deeply embedded with culture, aroha and manaaki.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Huia

Releases

There are no releases to display for Huia.

Other Reviews By hailtree

Fables - EP Review: Portraits
11 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
Fables latest release Portraits is absolutely stunning – for a release that was originally meant to be a 4 song EP recorded at Wine Cellar, adding the extra 3 songs may have been a risk in quantity over quality. However, this release definitely doesn’t disappoint.
Read More...
Julia Deans @ Tuning Fork, Auckland
03 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a quiet Saturday evening down in Auckland, and I’m a little worried I’ve come to the wrong venue – as there isn’t a single soul outside. I make my way up to the door and am greeted by a couple of friendly security guards, who quickly usher me in as the show is about to start.
Read More...
Lookin Up - Single Review: Enough
15 Aug 2018 // by hailtree
I want to be / Everything and more… / … But I forget / I was raised by a world that didn’t care Fast paced, self-aware, yet self-absorbed, but most of all - hella catchy. Lookin Up’s first release in 4 years hit the internet just over a month ago - after taking a hiatus for a few years, the band is back with a whole new sound, and a whole lot of drive to get things done.
Read More...
The Adults - Album Review: Haja
30 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Okay first up. This album will make you want to dance, and I don’t even like dancing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Galatos, Auckland - 27/07/2018
29 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night and every nook and doorway of Galatos Street is packed with kids hiding away smoking ciggies and drinking wine straight out of the bottle. I wonder how many of them came down with intentions of getting door sales – as Soaked Oats had announced during the day that they would have 20 available on the night – but by the time we get there, just eight minutes after the doors had opened, they’d already sold out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 13/07/2018
16 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night, and as I climb up the dark stairwell to the gig room at Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland, I can hear the first band Downfall of Humanity already playing – honestly since when did bands get this organised? I swear a few years ago a show that opened its doors at 8 wouldn’t ever start until after 9.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: Untitled
13 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Churlington are a band that were formed out of a desire to create a band with as minimal effort as possible. They pride themselves on this and used it proudly in their video to advertise their latest EP - which funnily enough, doesn’t even have a name.
Read More...
New Age Leper - Single Review: The Tragic Tale of a Self Obsessed Man
08 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
New Age Leper's latest single is a little bit of ode to anyone who thinks a little differently. To me, it expresses perfectly that selfish cycle of believing that you've got the answers, and so everyone should believe what you believe...
Read More...
View All Articles By hailtree

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem