24 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Huia - EP Review: Aio

27 Jul 2018 // A review by Shade

Aio - to be at Peace.

Aio is what we strive for in our own minds,

Aio is what nature is calling for and

Aio is what the world needs

Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi. I personally hate this, and really wish that we were taught Te Reo as a compulsory subject in school in order to preserve our countries native language.

However, this isn't a piece about me, and where I think our country could do better, instead this is a piece written for Huia, an Auckland artist, who's EP Aio has just dropped. A quick glance over Huia's artist page on Facebook makes me smile, as she lists her genre as 'World Fusion/Soul/Reggae/Acoustic/Conscious' - her band interests include 'Happiness' - and her influences are 'You... the world and beyond.'

Aio itself is an absolute breath of fresh air in today's music scene - a scene that (although I love) is often inundated with songs about getting lit, and having your heart broken - instead Huia leans more towards a perfect little blend of taking care of your inner self, and also of the natural world that we are surrounded by.

Described as 'electro-haka' - her sound is reminiscent of traditional Maori songs, but also borrows influences from several other genres. It conjures up such a beautiful peaceful feeling, that reminds me of the peace I feel wandering throughout our native land. So, I downloaded the EP to my phone, and went for a wander through the trees with my earbuds in - and whoa, that certainly taught me Aio.

Huia's beautiful little interpretation of the world around her is deeply moving, inspirational, and a reminder to look after the earth we are given - all strong values of the Maori, and all strong values that we should remember in our day to day lives. I encourage you all to give it a little listen.

 

About Huia

With electronic beats, organic percussion, live guitars and deep harmonies, Huia has an easy sound with conscious lyrical content. From ambient te reo Māori through to Drum and Bass, her music is deeply embedded with culture, aroha and manaaki.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Huia

Releases

Matariki 2023
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Aio
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Ata
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Maggie Cocco's Science for Sociopaths - Gig Review: Maggie Cocco @ Lopdell Theatre, Tititrangi - 22/11/2023
27 Nov 2023 // by Shade
Whatever came out of the pandemic, it stranded some amazing talent here long enough for them to enrich our musical world. Down into the Lopdell labyrinth, a buzz of age-spanning expectancy waited for two of these: Maggie Cocco and her accompanist for the tour Bonnie Schwarz who would add much more than just ‘sad cello’ to tonight’s epic cycle of piano songs.
Read More...
Eve Kelly @ Jam Factory, Tauranga - 03/03/2023
08 Mar 2023 // by Shade
The ‘Sold Out’ sign is a good sign and it went up several days before Eve Kelly’s first show at The Jam Factory in Tauranga’s Historic Village. Whakatane-based Eve Kelly is a star on-the-rise and she put on a show that left her audience, old and new, elated and begging for more.
Read More...
Banks Arcade - Album Review: Future Lovers
28 Jul 2022 // by Shade
For the last 23 years I've been completely immersed in New Zealand music, soaked through to my inner core. I've been living it, breathing it and drinking it in.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem