16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Decades - Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18

23 Jul 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue. 

The addition of Mark Petersound as the in-house engineer means the sonics are in safe hands and as She Loves You open up the night with their perfect mix of attitude and melody the place immediately brightens. Maddie told me just before they took the stage that she was “knackered” but you wouldn’t have guessed. She has one of those almost pitch-perfect voices and reminds me of the late great Mia Zapata from Seattle band The Gits. Tonight, a bum note is not hit (unless you count the banter with a certain Hobo on the drums).

The set runs fast and smooth with no let-up or drop in the quality of the songs or the performance. This is rock music with a wink and a smile as the band entertain and excite in equal measure. Texas on drums is faultless and would be hard shoes to fill if ever he leaves the stool (shit did I just say leaves a stool and shit in the same line) but let’s hope She Loves You have their sights set overseas as they are ready to take on the world. They say to make it to the top (whatever that is) you need to rise to the top in your own backyard first. Auckland take note She Loves You and I do too.

Things take on a trippier vibe when Lexxa take the stage. They create a kind of EDM with an indie vibe bolstered by some excellent songwriting. Maybe it’s because of their connection as twins but this music is at times hypnotic with a synchronicity that syncs into your soul.

The harmonies are balanced if occasionally equally off pitch and a genuine connection with the crowd is made especially after some intersong banter while some equipment issues are sorted.

Overall there is still a long road to travel when it comes to the performance but with songwriting like theirs, they can easily hone the live show into shape. There is a sublime moment when as a musician and audience the music can take over and seem more than the people creating it. Lexxa hit that moment a few times tonight.

I didn’t realise that Decades have been around in various guises for more than a decade. If you drive or listen to any decent radio station at work you will be familiar with their brand of chart-bothering rock. The first two songs tonight fall into that familiar radio-friendly unit shifting territory but then the third song kicks in and everything gets a little darker and dangerous without losing that unique vocal that Emma has. It reverberates off every crevice in Whammy and as the song crescendos to a halt she sums it up nicely breathing “fuck” into the microphone.

Next up is a track that would sit happily bouncing along on Flava FM, the hip-hop vibe mixing perfectly with a dark underbelly of a chorus. Things are getting interesting and as it’s a new song let’s hope they channel more on this frequency.

Then it’s onto Rock FM territory as the band let rip and seem at their most comfortable. A cover of the Cranberries Zombie could have gone horribly wrong but with just an acoustic guitar it is delivered with genuine passion and a voice that can carry it off. The heavy female presence on this tour is something we need more off. It's a simple fact that we need more women to form bands and the message is delivered loud and clear.

Unlike the Zombie cover though, the blast through RATM should have been avoided. It’s a great song by a great band but also probably the most covered song ever so why bother when you create your own music that would have been just as entertaining in that slot. Watching Decades, you get the feeling they have one foot back where they started and one in what the future holds. They just need to focus on the future and leave the past behind.

Set closer The Truth (I think) is the perfect mix of radio-friendly blaster and heartfelt passion. It feels fresh and relevant. Tonight was a show I will remember for lots of different reasons but mainly because I got to see some amazingly talented bands in a great venue who truly believe in what they are creating. Tune in to a radio station near you to hear it soon.

Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Decades

Formerly known as Ashei, there are a myriad of ways to describe NZ rock outfit, Decades, but one word that really summarises their so-far 5 year journey in sharing their music is simply: determination. Bursting on to the scene in 2009 led by a unique female voice that reaches both the gritty angst and delicate reservedness of the vocal spectrum, Decades have shown they are an independent Kiwi rock band to really watch with their shared passion for intense live performance and honest song writing.

Members Emma Cameron (vox/guitar), Liam Muir (guitar), Daniel Perry (drums) and Curtis Booth (bass) have spent the last several years focussing on honing in on their unique sound, independently releasing a scattering of singles and music videos to varying levels of local success, playing as many local shows as they could muster around their full-time day jobs, and supporting larger national and international acts such as Midnight Youth (NZ), Villainy (NZ), The Ataris (US), and Scary Kids Scaring Kids (US).

In 2013, Decades knew they were at a point of ‘go big or go home’, and so they began to envision what the next couple of years should look like, and how they were going to reach these milestones. Early 2013 saw Decades lock in with producer Matt Bartlem of Loose Stones Studios in QLD to create their debut record. Faced with the many obstacles of an independent band, the band launched - and achieved - a $10,000USD indiegogo crowd funding campaign in mid-2013, to head over to the studio in Australia to complete a 5-track EP.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Decades

Releases

The Truth and Other People
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Music Is Boring
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Nine To Twelve
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Light And Live
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem