20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over

17 Jul 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock. This base has seen the band build a large following both here in NZ and also in their current base across the ditch in Aussie. Their growth has been steady and has lasted as they have developed their sound in an organic way. I think the chances of ever hearing These Four Walls make a Techno EDM track are pretty slim. Like most great bands who have lasted you kind of know what to expect.

Their new track Over and Over is a slick full-on anthemic blast of melody meets attitude. It has a familiarity and you can almost visualize guitars being span round the back of the neck, but the song doesn't sound dated. The vocals are some of the best you will hear, and the overall feel is reminiscent of something Shihad might come up with. Huge chorus, massive riffs this is what These Four Walls were built to do, and they do it well.

The accompanying video is just as slick and shows a reflects real confidence, These Four Walls know their strengths and limitations and appear to be very comfortable with their art. It is a simple statement with the band performing in front of an ever-changing backdrop of black and white/red filters interspersed with snippets of lyrics. It's not going to set the world on fire in terms of innovation, but it fits the song perfectly. The production of both the song and the video is excellent and again what we have come to expect from these guys.

The Four Walls have been around for a long time and the longer a band is together the more difficult it can become to remain relevant and exciting but with songs like Over and Over they continue to move forward and there is no reason These Four Walls won't be standing for a long time to come.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About These Four Walls

These Four Walls have achieved a lot in the last two and a half years. Since releasing their debut album Down Falls An Empire in September 2009, they have had two songs reach the Top 10 on the Rock Charts (Sweet December, Lay it Out), the album itself reached #22 on the Album charts, and also set a record for pre-orders on www.amplifier.co.nz, beating the previous record set by Fat Freddy’s Drop.

The band has supported international acts such as Disturbed, Nickelback, Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect; they’ve toured Australia and undertaken multiple headlining tours of New Zealand, consistently growing their fanbase.

And most impressively, they’ve done all of this as an unsigned, independent act. Their successes to date have been the result of hard work, a dedication to crafting great rock songs, and an impressive live show that incorporates their powerful, heavy riffing with soaring melodies and a tight, energetic performance.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Four Walls

Releases

Live At Loose Stones Studios
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Living To Write The End
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Down Falls An Empire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
These Four Walls
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem