9 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget

23 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.

I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott. Same era, similar genres so was this new song going to sound fresh or like it could have been created 15 years ago?

I needn’t have worried. The opening barrage of drums kick in with an urgency and energy that permeates the whole song. The production is awesome and the drums sound huge. The guitars emerge with the subtly of a jet engine taking off and then we have Chris’s vocal intro distorted and adding a growing sense of menace. There is no messing around, Meteract have come to play and are taking no prisoners. The song’s message about facing adversity and not backing down is clear and reflected in the music.

The pace never lets up. Chris’s vocals are both powerful and melodic as he moves through the full metal vocal arsenal, growls, grunts, screams and a soaring chorus. The song is instantly memorable and should be a huge favourite at the live shows.

The rest of the band are tight and Clayton Gould on drums gets a brutal workout. The past influences are still there as the base root of the music but there is a fresh energy and drive that could take this band in new exciting directions.

The accompanying video is polished and simple and whilst there is nothing wrong with it I would say it is not as memorable as the song itself. Maybe that’s a good thing? If you like your music, loud, fast, fun and in your face, this one is best played with the volume up full and your eyes shut. Lose yourself in the music.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Metaract

Metaract combines edge crushing riffs, stomping grooves and hook-laden melodies, paying tribute to all eras of metal – while carving out their own unique path in New Zealand metal. Coupled with a ferocious, super high energy live show, Metaract leaves the audience gasping for air while still wanting more.

Metaract’s sound pulls from various sources of inspiration as all of the members hail from different sections of the hard rock and metal spectrum. Not wanting to sound specific to any sub-genre of metal, they embrace whatever comes out during the writing process: speed/thrash, 80’s raunch, hard rock, punk, nu metal and more.

“Our debut single, CPR (Start Again), is basically about the madness happening in the world. We can either passively watch and do nothing, or actively do something to fix the mistakes of the past,” says Chris.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Metaract

Releases

There are no releases to display for Metaract.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem