17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget

23 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.

I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott. Same era, similar genres so was this new song going to sound fresh or like it could have been created 15 years ago?

I needn’t have worried. The opening barrage of drums kick in with an urgency and energy that permeates the whole song. The production is awesome and the drums sound huge. The guitars emerge with the subtly of a jet engine taking off and then we have Chris’s vocal intro distorted and adding a growing sense of menace. There is no messing around, Meteract have come to play and are taking no prisoners. The song’s message about facing adversity and not backing down is clear and reflected in the music.

The pace never lets up. Chris’s vocals are both powerful and melodic as he moves through the full metal vocal arsenal, growls, grunts, screams and a soaring chorus. The song is instantly memorable and should be a huge favourite at the live shows.

The rest of the band are tight and Clayton Gould on drums gets a brutal workout. The past influences are still there as the base root of the music but there is a fresh energy and drive that could take this band in new exciting directions.

The accompanying video is polished and simple and whilst there is nothing wrong with it I would say it is not as memorable as the song itself. Maybe that’s a good thing? If you like your music, loud, fast, fun and in your face, this one is best played with the volume up full and your eyes shut. Lose yourself in the music.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Metaract

Metaract combines edge crushing riffs, stomping grooves and hook-laden melodies, paying tribute to all eras of metal – while carving out their own unique path in New Zealand metal. Coupled with a ferocious, super high energy live show, Metaract leaves the audience gasping for air while still wanting more.

Metaract’s sound pulls from various sources of inspiration as all of the members hail from different sections of the hard rock and metal spectrum. Not wanting to sound specific to any sub-genre of metal, they embrace whatever comes out during the writing process: speed/thrash, 80’s raunch, hard rock, punk, nu metal and more.

“Our debut single, CPR (Start Again), is basically about the madness happening in the world. We can either passively watch and do nothing, or actively do something to fix the mistakes of the past,” says Chris.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Metaract

Releases

There are no releases to display for Metaract.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem