20 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget

23 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.

I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott. Same era, similar genres so was this new song going to sound fresh or like it could have been created 15 years ago?

I needn’t have worried. The opening barrage of drums kick in with an urgency and energy that permeates the whole song. The production is awesome and the drums sound huge. The guitars emerge with the subtly of a jet engine taking off and then we have Chris’s vocal intro distorted and adding a growing sense of menace. There is no messing around, Meteract have come to play and are taking no prisoners. The song’s message about facing adversity and not backing down is clear and reflected in the music.

The pace never lets up. Chris’s vocals are both powerful and melodic as he moves through the full metal vocal arsenal, growls, grunts, screams and a soaring chorus. The song is instantly memorable and should be a huge favourite at the live shows.

The rest of the band are tight and Clayton Gould on drums gets a brutal workout. The past influences are still there as the base root of the music but there is a fresh energy and drive that could take this band in new exciting directions.

The accompanying video is polished and simple and whilst there is nothing wrong with it I would say it is not as memorable as the song itself. Maybe that’s a good thing? If you like your music, loud, fast, fun and in your face, this one is best played with the volume up full and your eyes shut. Lose yourself in the music.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Metaract

Metaract combines edge crushing riffs, stomping grooves and hook-laden melodies, paying tribute to all eras of metal – while carving out their own unique path in New Zealand metal. Coupled with a ferocious, super high energy live show, Metaract leaves the audience gasping for air while still wanting more.

Metaract’s sound pulls from various sources of inspiration as all of the members hail from different sections of the hard rock and metal spectrum. Not wanting to sound specific to any sub-genre of metal, they embrace whatever comes out during the writing process: speed/thrash, 80’s raunch, hard rock, punk, nu metal and more.

“Our debut single, CPR (Start Again), is basically about the madness happening in the world. We can either passively watch and do nothing, or actively do something to fix the mistakes of the past,” says Chris.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Metaract

Releases

There are no releases to display for Metaract.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem