18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget

23 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.

I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott. Same era, similar genres so was this new song going to sound fresh or like it could have been created 15 years ago?

I needn’t have worried. The opening barrage of drums kick in with an urgency and energy that permeates the whole song. The production is awesome and the drums sound huge. The guitars emerge with the subtly of a jet engine taking off and then we have Chris’s vocal intro distorted and adding a growing sense of menace. There is no messing around, Meteract have come to play and are taking no prisoners. The song’s message about facing adversity and not backing down is clear and reflected in the music.

The pace never lets up. Chris’s vocals are both powerful and melodic as he moves through the full metal vocal arsenal, growls, grunts, screams and a soaring chorus. The song is instantly memorable and should be a huge favourite at the live shows.

The rest of the band are tight and Clayton Gould on drums gets a brutal workout. The past influences are still there as the base root of the music but there is a fresh energy and drive that could take this band in new exciting directions.

The accompanying video is polished and simple and whilst there is nothing wrong with it I would say it is not as memorable as the song itself. Maybe that’s a good thing? If you like your music, loud, fast, fun and in your face, this one is best played with the volume up full and your eyes shut. Lose yourself in the music.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Metaract

Metaract combines edge crushing riffs, stomping grooves and hook-laden melodies, paying tribute to all eras of metal – while carving out their own unique path in New Zealand metal. Coupled with a ferocious, super high energy live show, Metaract leaves the audience gasping for air while still wanting more.

Metaract’s sound pulls from various sources of inspiration as all of the members hail from different sections of the hard rock and metal spectrum. Not wanting to sound specific to any sub-genre of metal, they embrace whatever comes out during the writing process: speed/thrash, 80’s raunch, hard rock, punk, nu metal and more.

“Our debut single, CPR (Start Again), is basically about the madness happening in the world. We can either passively watch and do nothing, or actively do something to fix the mistakes of the past,” says Chris.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Metaract

Releases

There are no releases to display for Metaract.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem