19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Ed Sheeran @ Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland - 24/03/2018

25 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Walking from the car to Mt Smart Stadium and the heavens open. People are literally flooding in with the standard dress code for outdoor gigs here this year being Ponchos and shorts. Thankfully the rain stops as Wellington's Lost Bird take the stage. To be honest they fill a gap for 30 mins, but their alt country-tinged set doesn't really get people moving. They don't do anything wrong and engage with the crowd, but it is largely background noise as people get busy in the food and drinks stalls.

As darkness falls another Wellington band, Drax Project emerge. I missed these guys at Auckland City Limits but had heard good things. They immediately take command of the stage and crowd and it's easy to see why they got this slot. Their Jazz influenced pop carries well and Shaan Singh has that star quality with an amazing voice and some serious Saxophone skills. They are really comfortable on the big stage. These guys are set to be one of New Zealand's most exciting new chart-bothering pop acts.

Ok, I had some pretty negative preconceptions about Ed Sheeran (a bit like Hayley Holt) and this happens with any act that has his level of success. All of his albums have debuted at Number 1, he had more top ten hits off his Divide album than any other act, the most Spotify streams and by the end of this tour apparently 1 out of 20 New Zealanders will have seen Ed Sheeran perform!

So, let's see what all the fuss is about. He takes to the stage, one man, a smile and a guitar. It takes some guts to entertain 50,000 people for 90 mins without any band to back you up so this should be interesting. It is worth noting that a lack of screens at the side of the stage is a real shame as from the back people really struggled to see what is going on. Apparently, there were some tech issues due to the weather, but I am sorry, Foo Fighters played here the other month in one of the heaviest downpours I have ever seen and had screens covering the whole area! What compounds this tonight is Ed has obviously put some real effort into a backdrop which has him superimposed over some very cool imagery.

He uses a loop pedal to create the backing music and explains to the crowd that he isn't lip syncing or miming as some people had criticised at his last Glastonbury slot. His talent and personality immediately shine through. The songs are interspersed with funny banter and stories. This is all about him being him. Him being human and connecting with people.

He once said that being humble, being a likeable person and being himself are three of his strongest traits. This is why so many people like Ed Sheeran and buy his music. He is like the Dave Grohl of the pop world. Of course, he has real talent and rips through songs like Castle on the Hill, The A Team, and 17 other hit singles but there is no bullshit about him, no pretentiousness, no visible ego. There are a few fillers and mid-set the energy does drop a little but a stunning cover of Nina Simone's Feeling Good is a highlight and after a huge crowd sing along to the aptly titled Sing he disappears briefly to emerge with an All Blacks shirt on. It has the name HOLT emblazoned on the back as a tongue in cheek reference to Hayley Holt who said on breakfast TV that she couldn't see why so many people like Ed Sheeran. He clearly has a sense of humour and after an explosive version of You Need Me, I Don't Need You it is all over.

I still can't see myself listening to Ed Sheeran or buying any of his music as it just isn't my taste, but tonight I got to experience why so many people do. He does what he does very well, he is an excellent songwriter and singer and entertained a crowd of 50,000 people with just an acoustic guitar. That deserves total respect.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem