24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: The Dillinger Escape Plan @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/10/2017

28 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
There is a real air of anticipation around this gig. The last time The Dillinger Escape Plan played the Kings Arms back in 2015 still has people sharing stories of what it was like to be there and tonight is the last time New Zealand gets to see one of the most innovative and progressive bands of the last 20 years.

It's a murky Wednesday night but the queue is stretching across the car park and people are keen to be here early. You can feel the buzz. Expectations are high.

Christchurch act Blindfolded and Led to the Woods take the stage and their sonic onslaught is the perfect appetiser to Dillinger's playful brutality. It takes a while for the band to find their feet and the initial reception is a little subdued. Singer Stace appears a little "rabbit in the headlights" almost looking awkward at being onstage but his stage presence is more about his voice than his actions and the vocals are spot on. The rest of the band are clearly enjoying themselves, flashing smiles and thrashing instruments in equal measure. By the end of the set the crowd are lapping it up.

This is the last Dillinger gig in New Zealand as they disband on 29th Dec with a final show in New York. To see one of the world's most innovative and inspiring acts play one of their last shows in at the Kings Arms, which as we all know will also have its last show soon, is adding to the emotion in the room tonight. You can feel the mix of excitement, anticipation and sadness. It's a heady mix and the crowd is fired up.

The room is hot and dark as Dillinger enter to a huge cheer. One of their more recent tracks Limerent Death starts the assault and the sound is amazing. Greg is an intimidating frontman and Dillinger gigs can be a violent explosion of energy but tonight is a celebration. This band have forged their path on their own terms and are going out as they started in total control.

We are so lucky in New Zealand to be able to see a band like Dillinger in a venue the size of the Kings Arms. Last time I saw them was supporting System of a Down surrounded by a few thousand people. Tonight is an intimate affair and one that people will remember forever. A couple of tracks in and the energy from the stage is reaching the back of the room this pulls me down to the front. I am getting lost in this cacophony of chaos and as bodies fly over-head Greg is crooning and screaming "happiness is a smile". It's a moment I will never forget.

As I watch them literally fly around the small stage swinging off the lighting rig, pulling people out of the mosh to throw them back in again I think about all the bands that Dillinger have influenced. They are truly innovative and by the smiles on their faces tonight it is clear this isn't a band just going through the motions and fulfilling their duties. Dillinger don't do compromise and they are going out on a high. The way the band switch between heavy and fast, light and dark, punk and metal is breathtaking. They are a sum of all parts, there is no focal point. Everyone on that stage is fully committed and that isn't something you see with most bands let alone a band who has been through the broken bones, traffic accidents, roller coaster ride that Dillinger have experienced. Sweat is dripping off the ceiling and the band head off stage to a drone of feedback. I head back to the rear of the room and we all know this special night will soon be over.

The encore is short but that doesn't matter. The band have given tonight 100% and as Greg crowd surfs to "see if the people at the back of the room are still here" cameras are capturing the memories. He gets pushed back towards the stage, hangs upside down off the lighting rig then it's all over. This was a special night. If you were here then you are lucky. Happiness is a smile and their were plenty of smiling faces as we filter out into the night.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem