22 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: The Dillinger Escape Plan @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/10/2017

28 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
There is a real air of anticipation around this gig. The last time The Dillinger Escape Plan played the Kings Arms back in 2015 still has people sharing stories of what it was like to be there and tonight is the last time New Zealand gets to see one of the most innovative and progressive bands of the last 20 years.

It's a murky Wednesday night but the queue is stretching across the car park and people are keen to be here early. You can feel the buzz. Expectations are high.

Christchurch act Blindfolded and Led to the Woods take the stage and their sonic onslaught is the perfect appetiser to Dillinger's playful brutality. It takes a while for the band to find their feet and the initial reception is a little subdued. Singer Stace appears a little "rabbit in the headlights" almost looking awkward at being onstage but his stage presence is more about his voice than his actions and the vocals are spot on. The rest of the band are clearly enjoying themselves, flashing smiles and thrashing instruments in equal measure. By the end of the set the crowd are lapping it up.

This is the last Dillinger gig in New Zealand as they disband on 29th Dec with a final show in New York. To see one of the world's most innovative and inspiring acts play one of their last shows in at the Kings Arms, which as we all know will also have its last show soon, is adding to the emotion in the room tonight. You can feel the mix of excitement, anticipation and sadness. It's a heady mix and the crowd is fired up.

The room is hot and dark as Dillinger enter to a huge cheer. One of their more recent tracks Limerent Death starts the assault and the sound is amazing. Greg is an intimidating frontman and Dillinger gigs can be a violent explosion of energy but tonight is a celebration. This band have forged their path on their own terms and are going out as they started in total control.

We are so lucky in New Zealand to be able to see a band like Dillinger in a venue the size of the Kings Arms. Last time I saw them was supporting System of a Down surrounded by a few thousand people. Tonight is an intimate affair and one that people will remember forever. A couple of tracks in and the energy from the stage is reaching the back of the room this pulls me down to the front. I am getting lost in this cacophony of chaos and as bodies fly over-head Greg is crooning and screaming "happiness is a smile". It's a moment I will never forget.

As I watch them literally fly around the small stage swinging off the lighting rig, pulling people out of the mosh to throw them back in again I think about all the bands that Dillinger have influenced. They are truly innovative and by the smiles on their faces tonight it is clear this isn't a band just going through the motions and fulfilling their duties. Dillinger don't do compromise and they are going out on a high. The way the band switch between heavy and fast, light and dark, punk and metal is breathtaking. They are a sum of all parts, there is no focal point. Everyone on that stage is fully committed and that isn't something you see with most bands let alone a band who has been through the broken bones, traffic accidents, roller coaster ride that Dillinger have experienced. Sweat is dripping off the ceiling and the band head off stage to a drone of feedback. I head back to the rear of the room and we all know this special night will soon be over.

The encore is short but that doesn't matter. The band have given tonight 100% and as Greg crowd surfs to "see if the people at the back of the room are still here" cameras are capturing the memories. He gets pushed back towards the stage, hangs upside down off the lighting rig then it's all over. This was a special night. If you were here then you are lucky. Happiness is a smile and their were plenty of smiling faces as we filter out into the night.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem