15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: The DMA's @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/10/2017

21 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
This is my first time at Tuning fork and the smallish room is filling up nicely as we arrive early to catch local band Yukon Era before Aussie headliners The DMA's.

I had heard good things about Yukon Era but wasn't sure what to expect. The band ambled on stage and the opening song shows some potential with some nice rhythms and a vocalist/guitarist with an interesting droney vocal style.

Then everything changed.

The energy increased and rather than being just another average "cool" Alt band, Yukon Era showed an eclectic schizophrenic mix of influences.

Usually, when you see or hear a band for the first time it can all sound a bit samey but each song here was a surprise. It's rare to see a band where you don't know what to expect next but that is what you get with Yukon Era. The music was tight, the drummer was insanely good especially as apparently, he was just standing in for these shows.

Check them out and prepare to be entertained and slightly blown away.

The first time I saw The DMA's was at Laneway Festival and I immediately went out and bought their album and EP so this was never going to be a negative review. They are from Sydney and formed originally as a side project to do some writing and recording. The result was the single Delete and then everything kind of exploded and they have been touring the world ever since. The success of debut album Hills End has seen them play festivals around the world and even Coachella in the USA. This is their first short headline tour of NZ and they are about to head back to the UK again for more dates then back home for some summer Aussie festivals.

So after a wait, we get the three main members of The DMA's onstage to an enthusiastic welcome. Immediately Tommy O'Dell's voice fills the room. It is amazing as he sings so effortlessly but there is a real soul and colour to his vocal. Originally a drummer, he hadn't heard himself sing until they recorded songs for the debut EP.

Much has been made of the Brit-pop look and sound of the band and yeah Tommy looks like a smaller less gobby version of Kasabian's Tom Meighan but to just say DMA's are a bunch of Oasis wannabes is missing the point.It could be argued that The DMA's are a band out of place but that they are from Australia has also influenced their sound and attitude.

The three are then joined by the rest of the touring band which includes NZ's Joel Flyger (Popstrangers) and the multiple guitars meld into a sound not too dissimilar to My Bloody Valentine.

There are no words spoken to the crowd in between songs (but plenty of beer is drunk) and that is fine because DMA's are a band who can let the songs do all the talking. There is so much melody that you simply can't ignore them. You will want to sing and you will want to dance. The main musical influences are clear, hence the Brit-Pop comparisons but listen closely, strip back the layers and there is a lot more going on. Visually, Tommy and guitarist Matt Mason are the focal point, the latter having perfected a thousand yard stare throughout most of the set. The way the guitars fit around Tommy's vocal and melody is seamless and that chemistry lifts DMA's above most of their contemporaries.

We are treated to virtually every track from Hills End plus a couple of new songs. Standouts are the obvious Delete and also the upbeat angst of Timeless. After a short encore, we are treated to a new song which is an indication that there is plenty more to come from DMA's so watch this space and let's hope it's not too long until they get back over to NZ again.


Review written by Paul Goddard.
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem