20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Cherry

19 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

I have always struggled with instrumental music, be it electronica or the rock soundscapes generated by Mogwai. I can listen and enjoy certain tracks but over an album, I tend to miss the dynamic of a vocal. There are people like Kody (aka Silicon) from The Mint Chicks who have morphed well into this sonic soundscape. 

So what’s interesting is the 13 mins or so of this 4 track Cherry EP from Hybrid Rose has been blasting in my headphones on repeat for over 2 hours now!

There is plenty going on here. If I were a keyboard warrior and suddenly my PC could talk, what I am hearing right now would be the sound it would make. Dark hits light. Upbeat slides into melancholy, while all around people are dancing or crying.

Hybrid Rose (Rose Gray) paints pictures with her music. If I had synesthesia, blue would be melting with black and there would be explosions of yellow and white but definitely no beige.

Each of the four tracks on the Cherry EP stands out on their own merit, my favourite being Rocket due to its pace and energy.

Hailing from Blenheim you can catch the small town vibe and isolation that contributes to all good music with soul. I feel escapism, optimism and defeat. Good music is meant to make you feel.

I never expected to be moved this way by music without words. The Cherry EP is being released today (Friday 20 October 2017). Do yourself a favour and buy it. Play it at ear crushing levels in your headphones or better still blast it through a noise control neighbour bothering PA until you get told to shut it down.

My eyes are open. They feel colour.


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

About Hybrid Rose

Citing a range of musical influences from Kevin Parker (Tame Impala) to Lady Gaga and Marina Diamandis, to Coldplay, Blenheim resident Rose Gray (aka Hybrid Rose) self-produces tunes that vary from chiptune ditty Video Games to the poppy, dance-y Pixel and distorted dubstep of Expectations.

Her influences go beyond music, however; the opening chords to Pixels came to her while watching an episode of Adventure Time for example. She also cites vintage design and graphics as an influence, especially in terms of the visuals she produces alongside her songs. While Gray doesn’t consider herself a political person, she says she’s very passionate about making change.

Her musical character is a little more involved however, and the music is occasionally politically inspired. Hybrid Rose, an electronic character. An infectious virus in your ears, an addiction you cannot quit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hybrid Rose

Releases

Warhol
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Cherry
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cosmic
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem