19 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Cherry

19 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

I have always struggled with instrumental music, be it electronica or the rock soundscapes generated by Mogwai. I can listen and enjoy certain tracks but over an album, I tend to miss the dynamic of a vocal. There are people like Kody (aka Silicon) from The Mint Chicks who have morphed well into this sonic soundscape. 

So what’s interesting is the 13 mins or so of this 4 track Cherry EP from Hybrid Rose has been blasting in my headphones on repeat for over 2 hours now!

There is plenty going on here. If I were a keyboard warrior and suddenly my PC could talk, what I am hearing right now would be the sound it would make. Dark hits light. Upbeat slides into melancholy, while all around people are dancing or crying.

Hybrid Rose (Rose Gray) paints pictures with her music. If I had synesthesia, blue would be melting with black and there would be explosions of yellow and white but definitely no beige.

Each of the four tracks on the Cherry EP stands out on their own merit, my favourite being Rocket due to its pace and energy.

Hailing from Blenheim you can catch the small town vibe and isolation that contributes to all good music with soul. I feel escapism, optimism and defeat. Good music is meant to make you feel.

I never expected to be moved this way by music without words. The Cherry EP is being released today (Friday 20 October 2017). Do yourself a favour and buy it. Play it at ear crushing levels in your headphones or better still blast it through a noise control neighbour bothering PA until you get told to shut it down.

My eyes are open. They feel colour.


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

About Hybrid Rose

Citing a range of musical influences from Kevin Parker (Tame Impala) to Lady Gaga and Marina Diamandis, to Coldplay, Blenheim resident Rose Gray (aka Hybrid Rose) self-produces tunes that vary from chiptune ditty Video Games to the poppy, dance-y Pixel and distorted dubstep of Expectations.

Her influences go beyond music, however; the opening chords to Pixels came to her while watching an episode of Adventure Time for example. She also cites vintage design and graphics as an influence, especially in terms of the visuals she produces alongside her songs. While Gray doesn’t consider herself a political person, she says she’s very passionate about making change.

Her musical character is a little more involved however, and the music is occasionally politically inspired. Hybrid Rose, an electronic character. An infectious virus in your ears, an addiction you cannot quit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hybrid Rose

Releases

Warhol
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Cherry
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cosmic
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • MY BAD
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem