24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julia Deans - Single Review: Walking in the Sun

18 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Julia Deans is one of those iconic Kiwi artists who just seems to effortlessly create a beautiful noise. This new release, her first as a solo artist since 2010 is taken from her forthcoming album We Light Fire.

It's upbeat, dancey and a little angsty. A short intro is quickly followed by that unforgettable voice which is sounding very Shirley Manson on this track. The Backbeat pulses and there is a message in the song reflecting on how we could all be so much better off if we weren't so busy holding each other down which I am sure most people can relate to even though it doesn't seem that way sometimes.

Walking in the Sun has a hook that penetrates your head very quickly. It makes you move. No sun is needed to let this song grow on you, the hit is instant. Julia is class A. This is going to be a crowd favourite when she performs it live.

Of course, the production is awesome, the artwork, the musicianship, the songwriting, that voice!

That Julia continues to evolve with every project she is involved in is a testament to her ability and creativity. Walking in the Sun feels fresh and if this is an indication of what we can expect from the rest of the album we are in for a real treat.

Welcome back Julia, even though you never really went away.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Julia Deans

From honey-sweet falsetto to menacing growl, the voice of Julia Deans has offered light and shade to a variety of musical endeavours over the years. From fronting Fur Patrol’s muscular pop-rock to her electro-pop stylings with Tiki Taane; from co-conspirator with renowned supergroup The Adults to sultry chanteuse with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra; Deans has never shied from adding new strings to her bow. After slipping off her shoes as the charismatic front woman for Fur Patrol, Julia has left her Melbourne home of ten years and returned to NZ to step effortlessly into the role of solo artist – delivering some of her most exquisite songs yet in the beautiful debut album Modern Fables.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julia Deans

Releases

We Light Fire
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Modern Fables
Year: 2010
Type: Album
A New Dialogue
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem